Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Wall Buster

by Interface - Compo Entry

If you like tetris, this puzzle game is for you!

Bust your big shape through the wall. Shape shift to fit through the hole. However, you have limited supply of shapes! Switch control to the wall and make lines to grab more shapes for your inventory, or clear more space to bust a different shape through the wall!

***********
QUICK NOTES
***********
You switch (TAB) between controlling the BIG brick to bust through the walls, and the small bricks to make lines in the wall.
The SMALL bricks are randomly generated and you have to use one (SPACE) to get the next (next ones are listed on the left).
The BIG brick you can freely shift between shape (SPACE), but you have to have to inventory (listed on the right).
Make lines with small bricks to clear lines, which opens more holes, gives you more inventory, and scores you points!
The BIG brick automatically busts through the wall, no action required.


** QUICK CONTROLS **:
- TAB to switch between wall bustin' shape shift or blocks on the wall.
- Use mouse cursor to move (wasd or arrow keys to move for a classic feel are currently bugging unfortunately)
- Big shape shifting blocks will automatically bust through when they can
- SPACE to shape shift, or to place a block in wall
- Rotate with q/e or left/right mouse
- If you wanted to see the initial hole again, press H (for hint)
- P to toggle pause
- All controls are bindable using Unity input. Should work fine with a gamepad or joystick!


** DETAILS **
Every 5 walls you go up a level. You will get less time (30s less every level, but you never go below 30) and you will get less shape-powerups in the wall to collect (never less than 5).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#358Innovation3.27
#503Fun3.07
#550Overall3.12
#561Graphics2.81
#601Theme3.15
#711Mood2.47
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:24pm

I got the point of the game but not how to actually play it. So i didn't put in an 'Overall' score.
It's the clearing of lines that I don't understand.. It just seems random to me.

But it was very innovative! And it's fun just placing out shapes in the holes.
The graphics and sounds does its job!

Hope you had a fun LD experience =)

Interface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:12pm

On the right is your "inventory" of shapes you can shift into. Every time you break through a wall you use that shape. To prevent running out of possible shapes to shift into you need to clear lines with a shape.
You can also clear lines to make room for a different shape than the intended one - if you're out of that particular shape for example.

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:34pm

I found a bug where sometimes you can place shapes even if they don't fit. ._.

Interface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Yes, I noticed that last night. Just looked at it again - was a stupid logic error. I fixed it and re-uploaded all builds and source.
For the record: for original build & code downloads strip -V2 from the filename. The only code change was two lines in ShadowShape.cs

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:10am

I actually really like this idea. It really fits with the theme. It might just be me, but the controls seemed a bit off; I could only move the blocks two spaces at a time, and the rotation is also always two directions at a time (so a L shaped would just go 180 everytime I clicked, and a Z zhape just goes bacck to normal...). This got to the point where in the second round that I played I could not put the first block anywhere...
I really liked the idea. You did a fantastic job in making this! The controls need a bit more tweeking (unless that was on purpose haha) but I still had a lot of fun playing it! Great work :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:10am

This was a fun game~

In the beginning, it was hard to get a hang of and I felt that I had no idea what was going on but at about wall 4 I started to get how the game worked.

If the game was better explained or there was some sort of a difficulty curve where you are slowly introduced to features as the game goes this would have been far more enjoyable but either way, I think that this forms a great basis for an interesting puzzle game.

So basically the only real criticism I can think of was the lack of explanation but it's a fun game once you get the hang of it.

tomlum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:13am

Very interesting having to think in terms of big and small shapes. It's also pretty well balanced for such a unique concept.

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:20am

Okay, it took me two tries to figure out the gameplay and the controls but once I did, I really enjoyed it. Placing the bricks in the holes is really satisfying for some reason. Interesting take on a Tetris-like game!

Interface says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:24am

@JJJANEE - if you're playing on PC I encourage you to use the mouse and not the wasd keys, but both should work and I haven't run into the issue you're describing... Are you using keyboard or game controller? I meant for this to work on a controller but haven't had a chance to try it myself...

@kiesenversiest - I agree it would be good to explain a bit better. I wanted to keep the number of buttons to a minimum which I think worked ok, but I didn't get around to creating a progression or a tutorial of some kind (which is what I've done on my recent LD entries). Feedback taken.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:55am

Really interesting take on Tetris. It took me a little bit to figure out strategy on banking blocks but ensuring you have enough time to clear the wall, but once I did, it was pretty addicting.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Maybe I'm thick, but I can't actually start the game. How are you supposed to select "new game"?

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Ah, got it working. Iq ute like this idea. It isn't totally obvious how it works until you fiddle with it for a bit, but I got it in the end. The instructions could be a tad clearer.

Graphically very clean. Definitely needs music. Good work!

ogre says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:20am

I like the idea in general. The small piece vs. large piece thing is weird. I sort of get it now, but I think you need to be very explicit that the goal is to place the large pieces to clear walls. Small pieces are only there to try to make space to place the large pieces. Is that correct? I'm still not quite sure.

And I got to a point where I couldn't clear any lines or place any shapes and just had to sit there and let the timer run out. Frustrating! Should be able to discard a small piece for a time penalty, maybe, or clear the wall for a large penalty?

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:40am

I really, really like the idea of this game. As someone who was addicted to 'Tetris', this feels like it could have been an alternative mode on a compilation version, or that one good attempted rip-off on a bootleg 'all-in-one' console that could have stood on its own.

Definitely needs a graphical overhaul however as it's not exactly pretty to look at, plus some sound overall. It might translate quite nicely over to mobile if it had that too; I mean, I know I'd like to play it on the go!

I played it on my stream @ 1:08:30 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Very unique Tetris game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/_jtEhCyw5p8

Brightstar says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:38am

I found the rules confusing in the short time I spent with the game. Cool, though.

May 4, 2016 @ 10:33pm

It was fun once I got the hang of it, but the controls aren't very intuitive.

euske says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:44am

Nice concept. It took a while for me to figure out the rules, but once I figured it out, I could see it's fitting the theme.

dollarone says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:37am

Took me a while to understand what to do - thought I was clearing up space first. But : now that I get it, it's a lot of fun! Although many times all I need to do is to shift the big tetrimino a bit to win the level. Cool idea and nice to see an original puzzler!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]