Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Paranormal Pastries

by Pixelaborate - Compo Entry

Paranormal Pastries is a game staring a lovable ghostly icon. You control your "character" using the buttons [A], [S], [D], and [F] to transform. If you get stuck on a level you can reset with [R], and finally at some point you'll probably want to mute the background music (and I use that term loosely) with [M]. Other than that, I think the game is fairly self explanatory, so enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#74Humor3.52
#92Fun3.76
#99Overall3.76
#140Innovation3.72
#141Mood3.48
#205Theme3.76
#413Graphics3.14
#531Audio2.45

Comments

zondarg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Nice little game, takes a moment to get along with the mechanics, but fun afterwards. I especially liked the cinnamon rolls (I got stuck there - pun intended :D )

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:58am

Outstanding! I loved everything in it except for the audio which was a bit bare! I think you should extend this concept and make a full game out of it. I'd buy it! :)

KappaIX says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Really good application of the theme, with a lot of character!

Well done!

cmayhem says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Very good! It gets really tricky with all 4 transformations. Well done!

M2tias says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Nice physics platformer with actually challenging levels. Music was ok at first, but later not so much. It looked nice and was fun. Mission accomplished!

tsedate says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:38am

This was awesome! Some tough levels that really utilized the different transformations well. Great job!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:00am

I really enjoyed that! That last level kicked my ass, but I got through it and it didn't feel unfair. Two comments:
Make the guy shut up when I'm restarting a level!
Going from doughnut to sticky bun was a mde more difficult than I would have liked because of the time delay between changes. I don't know if that delay is really required for balance.

Very nicely polished and complete game with a good difficulty curve and novel mechanics.

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:10am

This was incredibly innovative! I loved it! It was very rewarding when I finished a level. LOVED chaining pastries together. Honestly this would be a full game! great job

aucguy says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:19am

Great game. It was fun to get through the game and keep on pressing the wrong buttons. I liked how there was a lot of levels. However, how the ghost was eternally at the side of the screen was annoying.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:15am

It's okay, the audio could have used a bit more work. Graphics was a tad simple for my taste. Physics worked well and switching between objects went with the theme. -@bytedesigning / Ashley

smbe19 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:37am

Nice game and definitely something different form the usual ones. I do have to admit that I got frustrated with it during the level where I was a good sport about forced labor (loved the humor btw).

The graphics were good, the sound on the other hand got pretty stale pretty quick. Anyway, nice little game. The exact mechanics could use some tweaking (sometimes you lose speed while transforming etc) and maybe the level progression could be a little bit easier, but you've done a very good job. You were quite innovative with both shapeshifting and controls.

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:38pm

That was a really cool game.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Its remind me of old 16 bit games :D. Nice and tricky game around so many characters.I wish it could me more to play.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Game of the year! That's what game industry should produce... jumping donuts.

Shael says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Awesome. Loved how accidentally shifting into the wrong thing works in your favor sometime.
Solid Entry, Well done.

EighthNote says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:26pm

This was fun! I got stuck pretty early on though - I couldn't quite nail the spring pad bit.

thedashdude says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:15pm

A fun game, I wish the conveyor belts were faster and you could switch forms faster, but still one of the better games I've played.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:30am

Purple disembodied spirits and pastries, two great flavors in one. Nice entry :)

adam says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:19am

Definitely my favourite of the physics-body-switching games I've played this competition - you've done a lot more to build a theme around it. The timing of some of the changes is quite difficult, and the delay before being allowed to change again made some bits frustrating. The parallax background and relative lack of detail on some of the scenery can also make it quite difficult to judge how far or fast the pastry is moving.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]