Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Cutting Hedge

by Headmade - Compo Entry

Cutting Hedge is the most advanced hedge cutting simulator ever created*. The technology is finally here so cut'em down!

Download and run Cutting-Hedge_headmadegames.jar (Java required). Instructions on how to play are ingame.

Feedback is very much appreciated :)

* Fact checking required

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#17Innovation4.25
#28Fun4.03
#31Humor3.81
#54Overall3.93
#76Theme4.00
#141Audio3.45
#155Mood3.43
#210Graphics3.60

Comments

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:16am

This is a pretty cool concept, I just wish there was a way for me to throw away the excess so i can see the shapes entirely

Headmade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:24am

Thanks for the feedback! There is always the option of cutting the excess into shreds :) I was experimenting with the excess falling through but it had to many downsides.

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:14pm

This is amusing. The physic make it really fun and sometimes tricky, with parts falling over where you wouldn't necessarily expect it.

Got a few good laughs from my poor attempts! :)

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:11pm

This is brilliant.

Its one of those games that I wouldn't even know where to begin coding it and you made it in two days!

I wish there was a way you could poke out those annoying bits that want to stick around.

That's about the only criticism I have, great job!

Zgragselus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Great concept, works cool and I love how the leaves behave!

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Wow that game mechanic is on the cutting hedge.

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Great name, *very* satisfying sounds and mechanic! Physics! Definitely the best game I've played so far. Thanks for making it!

Mordokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Amazing game, addictive and fun. One of those games I might come back to play later.
The physics are very well made and the soundtrack isn't distracting the player but contributing for the overall experience and feeling.
Definitely one of the top games in this LD35!

Gyfis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Nice job! The game is really fun to play. Thank you!

ThaRemo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Neat! One of the most complete games I've seen this LD.
It could work good as an app, and maybe a level editor would be fun.

Drusilla says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:51pm

I only got 100% on the sad face :(

Saiodin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:21pm

This is brilliant! Very fun to play. A neat idea executed very well.

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:28am

Great game, very creative. I never knew I wanted a hedge cutting game!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:09am

Great game! Creative and very fun to play. Good job!

ekx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Reminded me of some of the mario party minigames. Really fun!

M.Raven says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Though it looks really cool, when I tried to open it on my mac it immediately shut down. I do have Java though... don't really get it so that's too bad, since I really wanted to play this.

Headmade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Hi M.Raven,

I can't find a way to contact you so I will post it here.

I tried it on a Mac and it worked so there should not be a general problem.
To find out what the problem on your machine is you could try starting the game like so:

Open Terminal and enter:
cd /your/path/to/jar
java -jar Cutting-Hedge_headmadegames.jar > cutting-hedge.log

Then send upload the log somewhere and send me a link (@HeadmadeGames) to it and I will have a look.

quill18 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:01pm

What a great concept! Just the right amount of physics "jiggle" to make it look fun and add a bit of challenge.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:04pm

What a great idea and fun interpretation of the theme.
I was very entertained, and the game felt very very polished. The responsiveness to your cuts was just perfect!
I found the satisfaction rating to be too easy to please though- Or the customers simply liked my style!

I am genuinely impressed with this game! Great work!

hijomo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:08pm

this is really unique. I love the idea.

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Great fun and satisfying too. Found the satisfaction meter to be a little broken but still had a blast.

ijona says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:07pm

It was fun! And I appreciate the humor)))) And the music!

Naca says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Really funny idea :D Very good take on the theme. The cut physics are so cool! But I think the satisfaction scoring is not very well implemented. I've done a couple of them pretty good, and got less than 40%. Then got 100% with just a few random cuts :D

Lullaby says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:11am

Pretty original concept, totally fitting the theme.
You could maybe improve the cohesion between your different assets :)
Otherwise, well played!

Togimaro says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Lovely :) really good interpretation of the theme!
It made me think about Bonsai Barber on Wii
Good job :)

ciaodavinci says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:36am

fun little game. There is something quite satisfying about snipping bushes

Szabin says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Neat little game!
Maybe it's just me, but the tree's "sloppyness" made it quite difficult to shape for example Black Moustache.
But I still love the concept and execution! :D

PinkIndian says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:12pm

Fun!! Amazing game for compo entry. Loved the "baroque" music. It fitted perfectly to the cutting theme. Also nice humour in the descriptions.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]