Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Family Sim

by Pierce_Z - Jam Entry

Instructions:

The purpose of the game is to mate with as many people as you can through the generations. You take on a child of the next generation and try to live for as many generations as possible. Walk up to other people to mate with them, just spend a few seconds near them without leaving their side. Avoid people with infections (white light is good, anything else is bad) and people of the same gender, also don't take too long to mate or you'll slow down and die as well.

Controls:

Normal WASD controls, you can also press 'K' to quit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#472Innovation(Jam)3.14
#536Humor(Jam)2.45
#989Mood(Jam)2.23
#1044Overall(Jam)2.64
#1062Fun(Jam)2.32
#1088Theme(Jam)2.14
#1448Coolness42%

Comments

pathus22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:26pm

Strange game jaja, it was different to all i have seen so far. good work

divegato says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:35am

I died from infection.

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09pm

"white light is good, anything else is bad"... I don't see any ways that sentence could be taken out of context....

meownsk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14pm

I`m love UE4! Infection, heh

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:32am

Different. A touch hard for a colour-blind person such as myself, but I can figure it out if I pay really close attention. Nice smooth character models and tech.

humble_ray says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Have a lot of fun!lol

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:39am

I died pretty quickly lol

MementoGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:10pm

I don't se the connection with the theme.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:43pm

The idea is good, but it's really hard to tell the difference between the infected and uninfected.

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Really weird game. I died from infection several generations after starting. A restart option would have been nice.
I don't see how it relates to the theme tough.
Good job!

Pierce_Z says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:20pm

It may not have come across well, but the Shapeshifting aspect was meant to be you becoming a new person each generation. Didn't have time to make the visuals more obviously changing.

Anti says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:55pm

This was.. eh.. interesting? In all seriousness it was a pretty weird entry but I still enjoyed so great work!

Louspirit says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:27am

Good choice of tools :) You could have added some textures on the floor :) Nice idea, good work. You didnt use the html5 export as it is made for (in my opinion it has to be host not downloadable. I couldnt retry without doing F5.

Check our entry made with Unreal http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=55260

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]