Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

AviaMorph

by The Pelranthean - Compo Entry

You are the birdman AviaMorph!

Your quest? Find the golden berries of destiny.

Before you stretches a bottomless world of island pillars. Find your way between these havens by shapeshifting into your bird form.

But be careful, when in your bird form you use power from the bird berries you find on the islands. If you run out of berries you will fall forever to the bottomless depths.

Notes (added after watching people play this):
* The tutorial forgets to mention that you change direction while flying using the mouse. That's important.

* Also you can use your controller. Left stick moves, right stick looks around, A button transforms, start button restarts the level, and select button exits the game. This was added last minute, so it might not work too well.

* The web version doesn't do too well at resizing or capturing your mouse. I recommend using Firefox and setting the game to full screen.

* Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#538Graphics2.87
#611Theme3.13
#691Mood2.53
#762Innovation2.60
#840Overall2.67
#2028Coolness22%

Comments

doombrowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:17pm

The controls are very loose. I wanted to play more of the game, but was overcome with frustration with the controls.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:05am

The controls were a little challenging, especially trying to gauge the velocity while flying. I will say however that the swooping and climbing while flying felt REALLY good, it kept me playing through the difficult controls. Nice job overall, I think this could be really cool if you kept working on it!

I'd love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:31am

controls are definitely challenging. also, in fullscreen mode at least, became impossible to actually turn all the way around.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:44pm

controls where ultra hard to handle, but nice entry anyway

LeftRight92 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:27am

Controls clearly weren't implemented properly. Couldn't turn around...

May 4, 2016 @ 4:58am

I want to point out that this took very, very long to load. For game compo's this is not an ideal delivery.

Hectigo says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:28am

The game looks nice, but the controls are unwieldy. The indicator for when berries are running out is also not very noticeable.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]