Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Impulse

by Docjekyll - Compo Entry

Impulse is a simple, atmospheric game. The mechanics are simple--just "shift" the shapes around until they are all in their appropriate location.

Use WASD and/or arrows to move. Spacebar can also swap between shapes, but you probably won't need that.

Background:
---------------
Part of the intent here was to create a very accessible game--so simple my 3-year-old daughter could enjoy it. I hope that older, more skilled players can also enjoy a relaxing game experience.

I also added a timer for players who are looking to challenge themselves.

Tech Info:
---------------
Phaser (HTML5/WebGL/JS engine)
Lodash (JS library; barely used)
FL Studio 12 (for music creation)
GIMP (for visual assets)

Levels/grids are procedurally generated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#39Audio3.90
#190Mood3.36
#454Overall3.23
#456Graphics3.03
#649Theme3.07
#655Fun2.85
#679Innovation2.77

Comments

szahn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:52am

Fun game, not very challenging though.

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:10am

Thanks for the atmospheric 171.6 seconds. :)
Really liked the music and the way the shapes 'blinked' to indicate their position/movement.
On screen text and menus could've received a bit more love.

Pent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:15am

266.3 seconds!
I thought it was more complicated at first where shapes could block pathways, maybe for a v.2?

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:28am

Finished in 177.7 seconds due to too much masking of the arrow buttons... That was really fun. That music made me kept on going by the way. Good work :D

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:59pm

the flashing shapes kept throwing me off, definitely an easy game. Really relaxing audio

Llucile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:09pm

I really like the mood of the game. The graphisms are neat, the music is sweet, and the idea is nice. But it is not really challenging and thus not really really fun.
I thought about some improvements that could have made this game great (it is already a nice work !), like giving the player the number of optimal moves he can do to achieve the goal, or turning the full shapes into obstacles so that the player has to move them in the right order for example.

garygreen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:06pm

I enjoyed the music and the visual effects you used with the shapes. I'd have liked more of a challenge, but I get & like your idea of making it accessible too.

zwrawr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:22am

Really like the concept , seem to be a little bit of glitching in the audio (probably just the web player).

tjxx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:36am

A lot of fun was had playing this game! It was fairly easy, but the mechanics were good and the background music really got me immersed into the game.

FatKarate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:41am

Not too hard but well crafted none the less

Wahooney says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:28am

The music is cool. While the game is functional and strangely moreish, it wasn't challenging enough to keep me going past the second level.

xclementx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:06am

Good game :)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:49pm

i think that this game would be A LOT more challenging and fun just if the shapes cannot pass eachother, because in the way this game is at the current state you don't even have the need to swap shapes, audio is good, graphics are ok.

guoboism says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Nice music. The game is not very challenging...

Gromek999 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:28pm

cool concept

RoboRob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Nice relaxing music. The game is quite fun.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:41pm

The music and the minimalist look are great; the pulsing animations are a nice touch. It's not challenging unless (unless you try to beat a certain time I guess), but it's relaxing. Well done!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Nicely polished game! I liked the shapes animation, the music and the atmosphere. I think it is great for young kids, so you coded to your audience well!

Udell Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:16pm

I didn't find the maze gameplay particularly new or exciting, but I did really enjoy the amount of polish in it. The background music worked well, and didn't feel grating or repetitive. I'm not sold on this fitting the theme of "shapeshifter" though.

ShadowTemplar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:36pm

The idea is very interesting, but it does not translate into a fun game for a wider audience as it is too easy.
I can definitely appreciate the idea of match shape into hole type game for kids.
Audio was good and relaxing and i like the blinking shapes.

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:47pm

284.1 seconds. I played it to the end just because of the phantasic music. :)

Gameplay itself seems a little boring. But I'm sure you could add some more mechanics and it could be a good game. The Graphics are minimalistic but nice too.

BitDare says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Wow I made it to 218.5 seconds and it was very fun. The music was great and the visuals went nicely with it. The shape shifting kind of felt distant as it was needed and I did not use it. Maybe if the shapes collided so you had to move them. But it was overall great.

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:06am

Great vibe.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:47am

Very cool maze game! My daughter was super impressed and had fun going through the mazes. Excellent job!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:46am

Great game, super simple but chill and straightforward. I enjoyed this more than I expected to, nice work!

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:57am

267secs, im a loser! the idea works and the music is relaxing! cheers

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:03am

I love this game, but is very easy and needs more work on levels. Anyway great experience and nice music.

wavertron says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:53am

Yeah its a little easy but as you said it was aimed for someone as young as 3 to play. I guess for older audiences some sort of skill element could be added. Perhaps just simply awarding an 1 to 5 stars rating based on how fast the puzzle is solved would help to give that reward feedback? Nice game overall though.

docteurSid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Nice visual effects and music, the game is functional.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Good game! Need more challenge.
I've made 265.5 seconds.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:42pm

nice music. someone else commented and I agree that if you prevented shapes from moving through each other, it would create a need to switch between shapes.

Arskiainen says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:14pm

The music is kickass for this. Very technozen feel. I would hope for more challenging levels.

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Fun game, but I missed the barriers :(

Odyssey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Great job!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:22pm

I found that not being able to hold the directional movement keys made the gameplay a little laborious, but I had fun and stayed to the end regardless.

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Fun game, but I missed the barriers :(

maartene says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:02pm

The first game I completed. Although it's not very challenging and indeed you don't really need to change shape, I did have fun.

Also it looks (the neon graphics and effects work very well) and sounds very well. And I might just steal your maze generation code... :)

Note: one way to make it more challenging/strategic could be to make it that you can't move with the wrong shape type over another shape. So you would need to look at the sequence in which you move the various shapes, to prevent blocking yourself in.

BTW, my first 5-star audio game.

syst3m_ERROR says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:27pm

It was fun to kill time on but wasn't all that challenging, It would have been cool to see procedurally generated levels, and a mechanic where you can't pass over objects you already have in place. Additionally, it felt to me less like you were shapeshifting, and more like you were switching between characters. The atmosphere was awesome

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:52pm

OMG IT IS SO GOOD GG

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Nice tunes :)

kleinzach says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:59pm

I like the mood and graphics quite a lot. The whole thing seemed light on mechanics though, and it never really evolved. Perhaps there should be a reason to switch shapes or to do them in a particular order.

endel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Pretty cool, but it lacks some challenge. It can be obvious after a while. I liked the atmosphere and graphics.

IvanFon says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:27am

Incredible amount of polish! The graphics are great, the music really sets the mood, and the core gameplay works very well. I'm still blown away by how polished it is! A post-compo version would be great.

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:31pm

My first impression was that it was difficult to locate the shape vs the target without a couple seconds delay. It became easier as I went on and eventually I sort of zoned out somewhat while playing. It still might be a good idea to change the shape or target indicators so that they can be differentiated more quickly. Perhaps the target's 'hay over here' display is slower, or a different shade lighter or darker of the color.

Anyway, I enjoyed the game I thought it looked very well polished visually. Music is great, and has a sense of progression. Good work!

Larzan says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Beautiful gfx + audio, well done. Not very challenging, but you could add some additional difficulty by making it impossible for the solid shapes to pass through each other. That way you can create some riddles where you have to move them in a certain pattern.

euske says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:12am

Soothing music and overall atmosphere, but the game is pretty repetitive. But I can understand your intention to make it playable for little kids. Good job.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:51am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

May 3, 2016 @ 9:24am

What a clever and moody compo entry ! The concept was really interesting and well executed and the game itself was engaging and really fun ro play. VFX and Audio really make the atmoshere spot on. Nice job on all categories.

Chaoslab says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:01am

Nice entry. Fun Puzzler with enjoyable the music.

May 5, 2016 @ 2:19am

I felt like the mechanics are a little bit wanting. Mismatched shapes block each other or something would have been interesting.

jordgubben says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:22am

Everyone has, at some point in his or her life, been someone's 3 year old daughter.

May 6, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Very simple, but I like it! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/bGsPoPIYpCs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]