Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShifTris

by hippy dave - Compo Entry

First solid idea I had for the theme was a Tetris variant, where instead of being given a piece and being able to rotate it, you're given one with a particular rotation and are able to shapeshift it between the different tetrominoes. So not the most exciting/original idea, but I didn't have any others and it seemed feasible in scope - and I've never made a tetris game before.

I lost hours chasing bugs around in circles, so it doesn't have the intended menu, difficulty settings etc. But you can play it, so, you know, please play it :)

Arrow keys or WASD to move, Z and X or , and . (comma and full-stop/period) to shapeshift.

Made in Unity with the very handy usfxr plugin for sounds. The single box png was drawn in Photoshop, and the background tile was from some generator on the web. Music made with Terry Cavanagh's Bosca Ceoil.

Monday edit: fixed a couple of bugs as per comments, and added builds for Mac, Windows and Linux (the latter is untested).
e: I posted a post-mortem: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/18/post-mortem-80/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#271Audio3.13
#385Theme3.48
#420Innovation3.17
#636Overall3.00
#636Graphics2.70
#702Fun2.78
#723Mood2.44
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

hippy dave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:02am

Ah bugrit, I've just discovered that the web build doesn't detect game-over, or play sound effects. Annoying, but I'm not fixing it tonight tbh, mebbe tomorrow :)

hippy dave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Ok it's a bit fixed :) Detects lose state, and most of the sound effects work. There's still some awesome glitches for you to find!

gameXcore says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:40pm

A nice twist on the classic, however I didn't like that there were already bricks in place at the start of the game, that kind of ruined it (or was that a bug)

Reisen says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:46pm

A bit buggy, blocks can go through other blocks (and the game boundaries) while shifting.

hippy dave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Thanks for the votes & feedback! :)
Yes I decided to have bricks in place at the start to stop the player from just placing loads of squares to get lines. It was meant to be configurable tho, I ran out of time to do a menu.
And yes still some movement glitches, I didn't have time for the extra logic to fix that either.

I wish I could have got it finished up a bit more, but I thought I should upload it anyway rather than hide it away in shame :)

Interface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Great entry. I like your randomness in the shapeshifting animation; my tetris blocks always shift to the same position. Some bugs with shape shifting and colliding, but then again I have something weird in mine too :-)
This looks to be your first entry so don't be discouraged by running out of time. You'll get better with each LD.

edve98 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Pretty nice twist. I just don't get it, do I have a limited amount of time to get as much score as possible or something? The game restarted even though I didn't lose(Web version). Also, it's impossible to lose if you only use the O (or cube) shape :P

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59pm

I like the idea of the shapeshifting instead of rotation. but when I was playing I noticed it's initialy a lot harder to play than tetris. and I imagine it gets too easy once you get past that, but I'm not sure about that.

maybe something like a cycle where you could see which shape comes would help.

but congrats on getting so far! saw you quit earlier, so I imagine it was pretty tough. Hope you learned a good deal!

csanyk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Solid! I like the twist on the classic Tetris. I found it hard to play, not being able to rotate is a serious handicap!

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:18am

Interesting twist on Tetris, but seems much harder to me, not being able to rotate or know what shape is coming next.

Good fun.

ALobker says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:20pm

I enjoyed the part where I made things worse for myself.

hippy dave says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Thanks everyone!
ALobker, that's always the best bit :)
jeroenwimmers, showing the order of the shapes' cycle is a great suggestion, I'll put that in when I finish up a post-jam version.
edve98, you said it restarted when you didn't lose - did you clear all the blocks from the well? Because I put that in as a win condition. No feedback to tell you that is a bit useless I know, more things to be fixed in a finished version.

Fartenko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:42pm

I enjoyed playing it! Sound effects and music are nice as well! Good Job!

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:17am

Good idea, but I think there was a reason for rotation in Tetris :P The blue 4x1 piece for example should have either been oriented vertically in my opinion.
Good concept but needs more mechanics (unfortunately you didn't have time because of bugs :P)

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:18am

I tried to download the Windows version 2x and there is no Data directory included... just me? I'll check back and try again later.

hippy dave says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:56pm

schizoid2k you're right, sorry! Fixed Windows build uploaded to the same url, will hopefully work now.

PickledBrain says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:15am

Tough game but I enjoyed it. Nice work

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:54pm

This is a cool idea -- I could see something like this being a mode in Tetris. It could definitely benefit from having the speed increase over time, as in normal Tetris.

The lack of rotation really makes you think in a different way than you do in a typical game of Tetris. Always having access to square blocks and either a vertical or horizontal line block seems to take away from the variety and interesting decision making of Tetris. What if you only had 2 or 3 shapes to choose from each time? I think you've got a really interesting game here, and I'd love to see how you expand on and refine it. Nice work!

hippy dave says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:08am

Good thoughts, thanks!

Marc F. says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Needs some polishing but I like the interpretation of the theme. And who doesn't like a decent tetris version!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:42am

solid idea but lacked rotation - add that and it will make the first few levels easier - nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]