Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape-Shift Dungeon

by laluis1 - Compo Entry

A game about being in a dungeon which curses who ever enters to shape shift into a monster to serve for it, try and escape the dungeon as it tries to kill you before you leave.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#158Graphics3.73
#537Fun3.00
#636Overall3.00
#2155Coolness14%

Comments

KBF123 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:10am

This game is so unforgiving.
I mean, it's fun but... one hit deaths, TWO invincible bosses, no checkpoints, frustrating jumps...
You must really enjoy seeing people in pain, don't you?

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:26am

nice, but too difficult.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:04pm

why did you comment out the menuSong.mp3?! it's _awesome_! I love the graphics as well. I played the game for 30min (didn't realize it took so long); still get killed few seconds after the hero turns dark, but there's something which makes me wanna try again. I'm a big fan of r-type though. anyway, it's VERY NICE!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:11pm

ps I also admire the simplicity of your code; this game is almost a trick! very, very nice.
and I like how smoothe the controls are. overall 5/5, even though there's no status box or anything -- who cares?
Fantastic.

Tharky says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:59am

Man I couldn't play properly :( Pressing space moved the page down so whenever I jump, I couldn't see what's going on :P But it looked really good.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Hi, nice game ! very few pixels :D We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:07am

i liked this game - would have been good to have a timer or distance counter - great game

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:24pm

I enjoyed the low-def graphics style and the sound effects to match. I do have quite a few issues with the actual game, however. Not to say it is bad, more as a few points of constructive criticism. I did not like the controls, or rather: I did not like the controls for this type of game. You see, to me at least, the character had way too much momentum and the delay on the jump did not help the unresponsive feel, either. These controls would have been okay as game mechanics, I guess, if it weren't for the fact that this is a really hard precision platformer type of game where control responsiveness and game feel are key. Just my two cents on the game. I did like the death message however~

Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:54pm

80 is maximum points to get Innovation: 8/10 Fun: 5/10
Theme: 5/10
Graphics: 6/10
Audio: 4/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 4/10
Overall: 32/80
Good Game

LeReveur says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Not a game for me, but seems to be challenging, well done ! :)

curtamyth says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:31am

The main problem I had is that it seemed impossible to dodge the fists sometimes. Otherwise I enjoyed the graphical style and the apparent random generation of the level.

APantaloni says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:41pm

The dungeon is very good at trying to kill me before I leave ;)

lanestp says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:10pm

I really like the pixel art and the whole thing is a nicely put together package but MAAAAAN that was difficult!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]