Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeshifter X - Ressurection - Return of Zyglox 4K

by homeworld - Jam Entry

Beat Turbine Torquing Gargantuan Shapeshifter at his own game in this thrilling race of death, betrayal and deception!

DOWNLOAD VERSION HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Bram Eisenhardt - Code
Mart Rimm - Code
Dan Filimon - Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#15Graphics(Jam)4.61
#269Mood(Jam)3.46
#290Overall(Jam)3.52
#389Fun(Jam)3.31
#486Humor(Jam)2.55
#575Innovation(Jam)3.00
#711Theme(Jam)3.11

Comments

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:54am

stunning graphics!
Impressive it runs in browser! (after a loooong loading time)
But somehow the controls and physics do not respond very good, i feels slow somehow. The shifting armor is great idea for shapeshift!

urfbound says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

Cool game! Impressive 3D art for such a short period of time. Good controls and I liked the addition of all the different items to let you change the play style up. One thing about them though is that some of them have some minor graphical issues. For example, when using the machine gun, the tracers seemed to come out of the ground, for a while I thought that was the enemy shooting at me.

One thing I really liked was the ability to use the terrain as a ramp. I tried to land on top of the enemy, that kind of Shadow Of The Colossus combat might be fun in a later iteration. I did find there were some physics glitches here though - whenever the car landed it would spin around and get stuck until it stopped. Pretty minor but wanted to let you know in case you want to iterate the game sometime.

I love that it's one big boss fight, I had a lot of fun playing against the boss and it has a bunch of different phases that look really good and work well. Feels like a classic boss rush stage and gets right into the action. To make a recommendation about the theme, maybe to fit with it a little better you could transform your car to have different power ups on the fly.

Overall a really impressive entry for such a short time and I had a lot of fun playing! Thanks for your entry, hope you had fun making it! :D

treegemmer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:10am

First 5-star for "Graphics!" Nice work Dan! Runs really slow on my 2010 macbook pro though.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:12am

5/5 on graphics!

olkeencole says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:20am

Graphics, great. Gameplay, great! Sound, great!! It's guys like you that we love for great game ideas, but can't stand, because "why didn't I think of that?" Great job you guys! This was fantastic!

mitkus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:18am

Wow! The gameplay is quite good, really has this action-movie feel and puts you in "flow" zone. Also, good job on the graphics and sound.

AceyT says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Loved it

Phaix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Great just Great!

Fumiko says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Wow really cool game, nice implementation of the theme and cool special effects. Like it.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Overall a great entry! the environment art is amazing, the only thing i dislike on the graphic is that the difference in styles between the environment and the game models, they seems like 2 different people did that, more consistence would have made this at aaa level, good job.

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Woow! Unreal?

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:43pm

the thing that irritates me the most, and keeps me from continuing to play this is that the camera should face the way the car is facing. when i get turned around, its so frustrating to get turned back around because of the way the camera is.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Nice entry! Found the driving controls a little difficult at times when it span out - sometimes ended in spinning out a few more times before I had it pointing in the right direction. The design of the shapeshifter was fantastic!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Was cool, but i thimk i miss some subtility..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]