Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Cursed Forest

by Gametery - Jam Entry

Hello folks,

this is our third LD entry as husband and wife duo, you might think that after joining the third time
there should be some kinda "routine". Well nope xD
we are still learning along.

We are exhausted and happy to be done in time.

So much more was planned for this game, it might lack some depth but
hopefully you guys enjoy it nevertheless.


Gameinfo

The Cursed Forest

Help the druid to cleanse the forest.Use the map to travel to different regions.
Find all animal shapeshifts so you can reach every dark soul which lingers
around and destroy the evil source stone.

Controls

Character movement: Arrowkeys left & right
Jump: Up Arrow
Attack: A


Shapeshift:
1 -> Druid
2 -> Swimming Spoiler
3 -> Flying Spoiler
4 -> Tiny Spoiler :P


Thanks for playing!


Programming: Erdem Sen Twitter : @aGametery
Art: Jennifer Sen Twitter : @Jerinabel


Music: Multifaros- The Boss
http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Multifaros/The_Factory/The_Boss
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/us/
https://soundcloud.com/multifaros

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#34Theme(Jam)4.23
#97Graphics(Jam)4.27
#104Overall(Jam)3.83
#122Fun(Jam)3.70
#137Mood(Jam)3.73
#461Humor(Jam)2.60
#465Innovation(Jam)3.16

Comments

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35am

This was a very beautiful designed game! We liked the way how you can change the different characters.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:15am

This was a really good game. it was well developed. i love how you have to go find your shifts and then use them as kind of puzzles in the game. very well done.

blob says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:23am

Very cute game. Great smoke animation :D

sharrackor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:31am

Fantastic graphics in this game; I'm in love with the animations and the music is very pleasant! Controls can be a bit fidgety though, and would like to see control tutorials in game to teach the player as they play, but this isn't too detracting really.

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:38am

It is hard to ubderstand where should i go after the owl thing, but the game is good.

Averlion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:12am

Really good game. I love the art and the idea. And yes the smoke animation was cool made. :-)

Danoli3 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Awesome! Enjoy this playing with some friends :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:56pm

This has a lot of very nice little touches, good job!

AuthorX says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:39am

Great job, the graphics were great and the design and gameplay were solid, this is one of the few games I kept playing after I felt like I got the jist of it because it was just fun to play. The only complaint I have is the restrictions on where to change into different animals were a little confusing, I think it would be less confusing if you could change at any time and there were another barrier or obstacle for the mouse to pass through that the frog couldn't, like digging a tunnel.

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:34am

I really liked the graphics and animations for death, they were very well animated! I also like the use of the house as a hub for the levels. Platforming was pretty good too, only had a few issues were the jump felt a little to far to make, but overall a nice game!

seitnerk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Great little Game. I like the animations and the pixelart a lot!!
Maybe it would be better if you could jump and fly with the same buttons but all in all i enjoyed your game :)

samlo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Really impressive amount of content in here! Wish the character movement was a bit tighter

Divitos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:44am

I loved the art!
The game was made a bit hard at times because of the controls, but overall it was still fun.

ployer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:22pm

very well done. art, sound, design. bravo

KappaIX says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Good interpretation of the theme and quite a lot of game made for the jam, with good progression. I particularly liked the art for the walking enemies.

Well done!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Looks great, cool concept. I love how you have the open level order philosophy of an older game like mega man or the original legend of zelda

A333 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Very well done! I liked the music, and graphics/controls were pretty good for a jam.
Found one bug: when you turn to human while being on the water bottom, it's possible to go through the tile, and it's essentially game over because there's no reset button :(

ConorOD says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:13pm

This was awesome! Great graphics, tight controls, nice feeling of progression - excellent stuff!

A333 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Very well done! I liked the music, and graphics/controls were pretty good for a jam.
Found one bug: when you turn to human while being on the water bottom, it's possible to go through the tile, and it's essentially game over because there's no reset button :(

Saiodin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:25pm

That is some beatiful art, I especially love the smoke animations. Great ideas for transformations and interactions, a very polished entry. Good job!

dvdagames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:42pm

The background music was nice, the graphics were decent, and the basic premise of the game was good. There were a few points that made it somewhat frustrating, though. Also, being able to switch between forms instead of having to go back to the human form every time would be a nice addition.

On level IX, the little enemy on the top right had so little space for you to transform that if the input lagged even a little bit, you were killed. Being able to transform in the air would have made this much less frustrating.

On level IV, if you go up first, you can stuck at the top because you can't jump back up, and then you have to restart the game.

Overall it was fun and as someone else mentioned, the smoke was nice.

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Aside from some poor design choices, it was a pretty good game. Great graphics.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:47am

Wow! This is like a full-fledged game. Played it all the way through. I loved how you sort of jump around between different levels as you unlock new transformations, to get past a part you thought was impossible before. Lots of levels, a hub world, and a even cool little ending cut-scene too. Bravo!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:52am

I had a really hard time playing it as I use a 60% keyboard. But that's not a problem that you guys made. That's my problem =)

So as I actually did get to play the game as intended, I'm at least scoring you in the categories that I fully got, like 'Graphics' and 'Mood'. Spoiler, I scored you pretty high ;)

Gametery says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:46am

Thanks for the reports ! I did fix those bugs on Web version!

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Nice Graphics!

scorched says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Good game overall, especially graphics, completed it all, have some tips to improve:
The transform for example from frog to owl is impossible, it's a bit inconvenient;
The jump key of druid (UP) is not the same as jumping owl and frog (S), it's VERY inconvenient;
The graphics perspective is inconsistent;
Music is annoying;
Frog could get in holes too;
The directory of the web version has to have public access to work

batmanasb says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Pretty but somewhat confusing...

Sabina Lis says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:55am

I liked the graphics, and it is quite a complete game. I have to say it might have been more comfortable to shoot with space, and not having to change back to druid each time. Except for that, it was good fun, thanks!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Very well designed game, i love the smoke/ghost animations, there are plenty of level and the transformation are fun (strange to dont have one at the begining), its a great work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]