Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Transmogrifier

by Hjalte500 - Jam Entry

You play as a wizard with a newly obtained transmorphing power. You have to use this power to get through a dungeon filled with only the most wretched and evil of monsters. You will face slimy blobs dragging their gross entrails across a dirty, cold stone floor. You will meet skeletons with no other purpose than to guard their home and kill any invader on sight. Stay out of their sight at any cost if you want to survive! Only the wizards who possess the utmost speed and/or wit will be able to get through these rooms of horror! So what will you do?

Beware! The skeletons are half-ghosts so they may walk through a wall or two if they feel like it. Not a bug, not lazy AI programming.. nonono Ghost Skeletons!

Controls:
WASD or arrow keys to move
LMB to shoot
Scroll Wheel to select object (bottom right)
R to restart level
ALT + F4 to quit

Made by people you dont know:
Hjalte Tagmose
Thomas Frank
Michael Riggelsen
Mattias Hansen (ermahgerd I'm so sorry I botched the credits..)

Tools:
Unity
Visual Studio
PhotoShop CC
Skype

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#171Theme(Jam)3.84
#171Humor(Jam)3.35
#329Fun(Jam)3.37
#357Audio(Jam)3.22
#388Mood(Jam)3.29
#415Overall(Jam)3.37
#464Graphics(Jam)3.47
#465Innovation(Jam)3.16
#1712Coolness35%

Comments

Raphi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36am

It's sad that there is some bugs like ennemies who can see you through the walls, the concept is really funny! Good job for the audio, the differents themes are great :)

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:44am

I had a lot of fun playing this!

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Love the graphical style. Couldn't figure out a use for the less offensive spells. Really wanted to eat the chicken too. :) If you pursue beyond LD, having some defence against the arrows, or hitpoints would be cool. It became frustrating after a while having to do-over the same level after an arrow from a recently vanquished skeleton gets you from beyond the grave. :(

jdmazz says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:23am

It has potential for sale at some point. Needs more polish, but good start.

Skaz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Way too hard, arrows are to fast. You have to pretty much spam your attack from off-screen :(
I had to kill some skeletons exploiting a bug and shooting through a wall :p
Nice art though!

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Collision detection was broken sometimes and the enemies could walk through walls. Other than that, the idea would be pretty great if this mechanic was used for anything else. Rn it's only used for stopping enemies and every object has basically the same effect.

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:20pm

awesome also it is neat that all the roof lamps change them selve into instruments. neat

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Nice game, cool humour and gameplay as well. Good job.

Jungle says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:46am

Very nice entry! This can be a great game with some polish. Keep the project on!

legavroche says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:24am

Great art and sounds, but like many said, the game is too difficult. The arrows fly too fast imo

bradur says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:07am

The graphics and sound & music were really great! The game was kinda fun as well, although I couldn't figure out why you would need the different transformations (after trying out some of the others I just spammed the shoot key without ever changing the object). There were lots of collision bugs as well. All in all, an enjoyable game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]