Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Porknight

by Conk - Compo Entry

Porknight is a game about a very hungry knight. Eating pork will increase your size, meaning stronger attacks, more health but slow speed and stamina regeneration... Drink a goblet of wine and the weight will fall off, or maybe some exercise...

Get your King to the end in one piece to win, I ran out of time to properly balance, so it's likely impossible... I dunno man it's late.

Controls
- wasd or arrows to move
- space to attack
- hopefully I've removed the debug buttons
- I don't think I have.
- is that everything?
- oh yeah, delete will restart the game... just in case...

Done some more testing this morning and it is possible to win, the key to the game is to balance your weight, if your too fat, you very likely to lose, try a goblet of wine for every leg of ham, is my advice!

Oh and @connorwestrope on twitter.

EDIT: I added a web build, took a few hours to fix a html5 issue but it's all good now! Runs like ass on Chrome but perfectly fine on Internet Explorer... who would've thought.

(I didn't try firefox or safari)

I tried to optimise the game and inadvertently made it super easy by disabling everything out of the view, including enemies.... whoops! I'll try fix tonight (This is for the web only)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Graphics4.28
#66Humor3.57
#88Audio3.64
#112Overall3.74
#147Mood3.47
#252Fun3.43
#447Innovation3.13
#760Theme2.86
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

Scoff Studios says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:57am

The art is awesome, game play is straight forward and easy to grasp! Really enjoyed this gem.

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Boy did I get fat and slow after a while...
Love the art style and the original idea.

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Outrageously charming game, brilliantly made and that's the sort of download size I expect from something that was made in a weekend ;) Also your advice about ham and wine works in real life too! I'm so hungry now.

egos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:26pm

So fun and really a nice idea the shapeshift of the knight
Good job

brainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Great game! Love the detail of the voice!

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Completely charming art and animation. Loved it! Not sure how much strategy was involved other than wildly swinging and then waiting for my cart to regenerate at barricades. Great idea using the knight's obesity as a way to shapeshift. Overall, top notch entry.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Amazing graphics and nice idea for a game.
Extra points for the music.

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Nicee!! I loved the pixel art style, the mood and getting fat!!!
As you said, it does need balancing, but it was still so enjoyable.

ExSpecter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:33pm

I really like this game! Its a pity that its so short. I would have played it a long time i think because i thinks its a good idea of shapeshifting. Good job!!

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:47pm

I can't stop saying "barricade ahead". Much fun!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:56am

I LOOOVE THE SOUND

ccollider says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:46am

Great twist on the theme. Was the knight stopping to eat the pork at all costs intentional, because it was hilarious. Really enjoyed this one.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:02am

GAme play is simple to grasp and fun. The work on the HUD and the sound design ("Barricade ahead !") really allowed to understand without needing more words. Idea is pretty good and the graphics and sound work very wall.

A few things : i don't feel the stamina bar is useful for the gameplay. Also, maybe if our attacks knocked back the ennemies the hits would feel more satisfying and we would have more control over the fight.

The logs have a bit too much health too and the ennemies are too few.

Overall i had lots of fun, very nice entry !

Farelle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:02am

that was fun :D

xclementx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:14am

Top graphics ;)

Solocov says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Just Awesome, first I did not know where the "Shapeshifting" is happening, but then I just simply got out of shape :P...
Really hilarious :P

kronosfere says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Finds out that trees and rocks can be stabbed
Proceeds to stab a rock for a minute
Realises they can't be destroyed
Becomes sad

It's hilarious that eating ham is more important than saving the king

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Today I've learned that eating all my fallen enemies might be not an healthy habit ;)

goibon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Wow this was really a cool game :D Loved how I had to choose between fitness and health even though those two usually go hand in hand :P

ShadowTemplar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Loved the graphics and audio! Very charming simple game.

ekx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Awesome game. Was immediately drawn in by the graphics. Combat could have been a bit deeper... Maybe add a special move or something.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Amazing art! i really enjoy the game :D

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:15am

Super cool game! I almost got to the end lol!!!! I'm not sure I picked up on the shape shifting part... i might have missed something. Very fun game though. Nice work

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:23am

I enjoyed the game, I did not follow your advice and was victorious as a sack of pork.

BitDare says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:27am

Great game. The graphics were superb and the gameplay was very charming. I love the use of the theme.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:17am

Nice sound, great entry, a little bit simple but enjoyable ^^

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:37am

Cute little game, beautiful visuals. Really enjoyed it.

endel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Incredible animations and pixel art style. Congratulations!

joekinley says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:37pm

It worked on Chrome, but it was really buggy. At one point the king just went ahead over all the wood, and at another point I just died with still a lot of HP left. But it was a fun little experience

Arskiainen says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Awesome lil game. Get's a bit frustrating towards the end. All in good humour.

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Great musci and art man. Really enjoyed it. =]

themadknights says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Cool entry! I think it´s a bit repetitive but the idea is very cool. The Knight is supposed as strong as fat? :D

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:51pm

I liked the art, good game!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:19am

Fantastic art!

tanjent says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:47am

Really good art and audio. The knight gets a bit too slooow sometimes, so I think that needs a bit more balance.. Also I found out that I could let the king+cart skip barriers and run to the exit if I stayed put behind and waited for the green bar to fill up... :)

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:29am

Love the art and the use of theme.

gnerkus says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:02am

"Barricade ahead"

To stay fit, a knight must swing his sword - especially after a sumptuous meal of orc chops.

This was so much fun to play. I liked the concept of the knight becoming slower after eating a lot. It's quite original. The knight's increased weight wasn't so easy to notice though.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

ThaRemo says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Nice entry! Great graphics and music, but the gameplay could be a little more exciting.

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Not bad but after several tries it seems completely impossible to beat, maybe I just suck. Graphics were cool and sound fit nicely. Certainly a different take on the Theme

medidog says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Graphics, animations, story, all so good and so funny :) It was not that fun to explore the environment after some time, but overall, you did a great game!

mooncalf says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:21am

Great graphics, mood, audio. I thought the gameplay was promising but could have benefited from faster fights. Multiple hits and the stalling to eat had me waiting alot.

Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/1j0YT8wm6Kc

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:13pm

neat game about a fat knight

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:47pm

One of my favorite so far, really nice pixel art ! First time i play , the king get out of the screen and then dont stop on wood any more otherwise it is really cool

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:52pm

It's not impossible at all :D

I made it through on the first try. The idea of gaining weight is such a great take on the theme and it was presented perfectly!

It was a bit annoying that eating the pork was done automatically and took so much time, so I almost lost my king because the knight was busy eating instead of fighting. But I turned out victorious in the end.

Good game!

bentglasstube says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:10pm

I really liked the art and the music. The mechanic where you get fat was also great. However, I found that the forced delay when eating meat dropped by enemies was very frustrating since pretty much every time I killed an enemy I had to sit and wait.

TheCams says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Really fun game :)
Just one thing, the eating animation stopping the character from moving is a bit annoying.
Great job!

vini60 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:33am

Great concept of shapeshifting xD.
I really like the medieval style.
But it was very easy to lose weight, not like real life!

ermrk says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:26am

The graphic and animations are really well done. The music is also well fitting. The knight is sometimes too slow by my opinion.

Kuupu says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:16pm

hehehehe nice approach of shape shifting!
belly shape shifting of the most common form of shape shifting!


I think you can work better this relation between food and speed, for me it was really better not eating in the entire gameplay


Graphics are really cute! If you use a little more contrast between environment and characters it will be even better


You can put a little more feedback on the combat, one frame of white sprite for when the enemies are being hit will do the trick :)


Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]