Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Scrapmetalship

by Four Quarters - Jam Entry

Hi everyone, it's our sixth Ludum dare, and probably not the best, unfortunately. We are really confused up with choice idea for game, and spent 2 days to nowhere =\

Anyway, for one last day we try hard and make our game (as best we could).


- ScrapmetalshiP -

You are captain of a spaceship. After a heavy battle your spaceship is damaged. You must fight with enemy flagship for jump-engine.
Explore Map, upgrade your ship, finding new modules and destroy enemy ships.
Good luck!

_________________________
/LITTLE POST LAST UPDATE/
///////26.04.2016///////
- few bugfixes
- DOUBLE speed up for the ship
_________________________
//LAST UPDATE IS HERE!!//
///////22.04.2016///////
- LOTS of graphical improvements
- some NEW features, like ASTEROIDS
- An INFINITE number of bugs fixed
- now there IS the ENDING!!!
_________________________
//3rd UPDATE IS HERE!!///
///////21.04.2016///////
Post versions have been updated AGAIN!
- improved sound effects
- lots of graphical improvements
- flying and fighting SPEED increased
- An UNPRECEDENTED number of bugs fixed
- the ENDING will be added tomorrow...we promise...
Stay connected!
_________________________
//HOT UPDATE IS COME!!///
///////20.04.2016///////
Post versions have been updated!
- added INFORMATION button to the main menu
- the speed of the ship and all engines INCREASED
- fixed many (hopefully all) bugs
- we have strengthening the LAST BOSS (yeah, there IS the last boss)
but still no..."ending"...but we're working on it!
_________________________
//Good news, everyone!!//
///////19.04.2016///////
We add Post LudumDare version of the game.
It's available for Win and Web.

Add sounds, fix minor and MAJOR bugs, rebalanced gameplay and many other things.
Tomorrow we add appropriate "FINAL" and HELP button.
Hope you enjoyed.
_________________________

All code, art, animation, music and sounds was making during Ludum Dare #35

Four Quarters team

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#83Audio(Jam)3.86
#153Mood(Jam)3.69
#255Graphics(Jam)3.86
#356Innovation(Jam)3.27
#671Overall(Jam)3.10
#703Theme(Jam)3.12
#980Fun(Jam)2.52

Comments

Pontifex says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Nice idea, decent graphics and music, but the lengthy flight between finding anything makes it rather boring. If there is some boost, it's too well hidden.

SengiG says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Отличный музон и как обычно крутой арт на уровне. Вы многое успели сделать, местами непонятки что и как, но не буду относить это к минусам, дискавери должно быть для полного спектра ощущений.
Жду новых стримов ;)

A333 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:40pm

I really want to give this game some love because of the wondeful art and music and mood, but as for now, it's nigh unplayable. You are left alone in seemingly empty space after picking up the second part, and flights are very long. Can't really believe you haven't seen this in playtesting.

applejam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:47pm

I've played this for a while, killed a few enemies, got some modules, but flying is way too boring. Space is empty, parts are rare, some of them disappear when opened(this is pretty frustrating!). Other than that game is nice, I like it.

Four Quarters says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:06pm

2 applejam:
empty boxes it's a fuel :-\
in WEB version it's broken? that's why you fly so slow :(
fixed now!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:29am

Love the music and love the concept. With a few tweaks this would be really great. As others have said, there is too much down time while flying through space.

Kashank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:30am

I agree with Pontifex about the lengthy flight. Otherwise, the music fit really well and I liked the map feature.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:33am

Really cool game! Very slow though, and a way to escape from enemies would be nice since you can't tell how strong they are from the map.

dvdagames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:40am

The music and the atmosphere were great. The actual gameplay was a bit slow and the combat felt punishing after spending a bunch of time flying around collecting 6 or 7 parts, the first enemy I tried to fight basically destroyed everything I had picked up. Overall, there could be something interesting here if the pacing and combat were tweaked a bit.

DifferentName says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:54pm

I love the graphics and music, so I was really hoping to enjoy this one. But here's what happened when I played. There weren't any instructions, so I restarted to read the "What should we do?" section. Unfortunately, this section doesn't say what to do, just explains what items are in the game. Items that unfortunately I never got to encounter outside of that screen.

So starting the game, I tried WASD and Arrows, thinking maybe those would do something? I thought maybe I need to give my ship an engine, but there's none to be added. Then poking around the map, I was surprised to see something actually happened! The ship was moving because I clicked on the map! Then it took several minutes to fly towards the things I could see at the middle of the map. I managed to pick up a few items on the way, which were just 2 fuel and a piece of hull. Nothing actually useful. Then I got killed by the first enemy I saw. I'm disappointed that I didn't get to build a ship like you show in the screenshots, and I'm wondering if there's some basic part of playing the game that I completely missed since it was never explained.

LRP says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:56pm

One of the classiest game i saw :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Very slow paced, to the point where I got a bit bored :/ It seems like finding parts is very rare. the art look very cool and the scale of the map is really grand:) the music also really hit the nail on the head for me!

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:23pm

I really like the space theme and the music complemeted it well.Was difficult at the beginning to understand what was i supposed to do.

SeaDads says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:31pm

I really loved this, maybe lengthly flight time could be balanced with a fast thrust that burns more fuel? Once I upgraded a bit it wasn't so bad though. The art, music and play fit together so well, really awesome!

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:17pm

The idea is great, the pace is a little slow for me.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:28pm

I personally found the music to be the weakest part of this game, which it hasn't with FQ's other games. The contrast between the music in the two screens made for a jarring experience. The ship screen had music that didn't feel like what was going on, i.e. moving through space. The map screen's music was good, and really made me feel the immensity of the Solar System I was inhabiting. The contrast between the two was the main problem, because whenever I switched I felt like I was playing two different games. I also thought that this game was a little too ambitious. It is in desperate need of a save system, as it is much longer than any of FQ's other games, or most LD submission in general. Also, not having the description for what each part is was a real hassle the first few times I played. I still really enjoyed it, and I love how it feels like the culmination of their experience with making Last Chance to Green and Does It Shoot?. I will also probably grow fond of the music, but I do believe it is a little too ambitious, and could definitely use a reworking.

AwesomeVlad says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Игра просто превосходная, по крайней мере в моём вкусе. Залип как то в неё на 3 часа, не на падал на босса специально чтобы исследовать как можно больше, но в итоге мне отломили половину корабля, тогда то я и решил заканчивать с этим. Я бы в неё ещё дольше поиграл будь бы там больше простора, и не плохо было бы сделать рандомную генерацию и больше возможностей/деталей. Хотя кто я такой чтобы судить такой малобюджетный шедевр? :D

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:13am

The game looks and sounds really good, but I can't figure out how to play it. I just read some comments and I am supposed to fly to the middle of the screen for several minutes.

The audio/visual mood of this entry is really good but with a bit more stuff to do right of the bat this would have been super fun.

merzlot says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:29am

Получилось очень здорово и атмосферно! Прошел всю)

PinkIndian says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Amazing! I loved the atmosphere and the gameplay. Slowly search the vast space and hope to find new parts before taking out the enemy. Both the graphics and music were both top notch.

bushmango says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:20am

Really cool idea, the post LD was fun, wish there were more ships to destroy or that you could sell/rearrange parts. The original was too slow but you fixed that.

Larzan says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Very complete game, nice gfx, but as has been mentioned before, the travel time is too long, maybe you could implement some 'warp' speed which would accelerate the movement to target until there is an event or you reach the destination.
But really a nice and complete game this one :)

Yetikatt says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:50am

Really nice idea. I would suggest speeding the flying up though, it seems a bit too slow at the moment. Other than that I like the building mechanic and found the rest of the gameplay very fun! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]