Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

⬛R⬤PPING ONTO SH▲PES

by Ovidios - Compo Entry

⬛R⬤PPING ONTO SH▲PES is a small puzzle game about a ball falling onto shapeshifting shapes.

In this game you try to get the falling ball to a green shape. How do you do that? By shifting, moving, toggling, bouncing on, and avoiding shapes of course!

---

FEATURES INCLUDE:

- 10 Levels! (kind of... at the time)
- Sounds! (created using a spoon and a glass)
- Background Music! (15-second loop)
- Simple Visuals!
- A breathtaking story! (Didn't notice it? It's all in the subtext!)
- Probably more...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#184Graphics3.67
#194Overall3.55
#212Innovation3.55
#286Theme3.64
#304Fun3.36
#337Mood3.09
#370Audio2.91
#457Humor2.22

Comments

CravingAura says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Download not working. Windows

Ovidios says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:47pm

@CravingAura: What exactly doesn't work? I just downloaded it from itch.io and it worked fine. You need to click on the "Download now"-button and follow the instructions to download it.

Ovidios says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:10pm

@CravingAura: Ugh... The game was set to private... I hate myself! It's available now though... ^^

Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Really neat game, though I got stuck very fast. I included it in my video compliation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/NUKW4hicpYU

Exolun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Good concept, and the game is pretty fun! Well done!

amras0000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:03pm

technical issues first, holding space on the title screen drops the framerate and does little else.

The game is absolutely beautiful.I'd want to decorate my house with this game. And the theme interpretation is pretty neat.
But this is a physics puzzle game. And physics puzzle games conventionally operate on the principle of 'set stage up, play, watch what goes wrong, alter slightly, play, repeat'. And the issue with this particular title is that when something goes wrong, the entire stage resets to its original position. Initially, this isn't a huge issue since you you're only clicking one or two shapes. But later, when you get to grids of dozens of little shapes, which you have to re-click every time you lose the level, it gets unbearably frustrating. You do want a button/key which resets the stage to default (maybe keep that as [R]) but keep another button([Space] might work) for 'keep everything as I set it but reset the physics'.

The music is a 4 second loop that drove me insane as well.

Level design-wise, the game seems to love (pun intended) to throw new concepts at the player with no introduction in the middle of levels which claim to be introducing something else. Like the stage that explained how lines work and then arbitrarily required you to change the shape of the goal. I realize there's limited time to make levels in a compo, but tutorials are important.

Still, those graphics are amazing.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Enjoyed. I would be better if blocks stayed still after a lose. Its boring to click them over and over. Nice music!

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Awesome physics puzzler. Cool concept and good execution!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Wish the restart was more instant, other than that neat game with effective graphics, could see this fit well on mobile(probably your intention)!

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Alright, who said level 8 was possible.

in all seriousness, this has a wonderful concept, and it's a shame I cant beat level 8 for the life of me.

Eshford says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Wow, it's so polished. Aesthetics looks gorgeous!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:46am

Fun game - love it. Great concept, simple, but very well executed!

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Nice unique take on the trangle-square-circle shape changing theme that we've seen so much during this competition. I got completely stuck on the one where there were circles as walls on either side and a big triangle in the middle that you can move. tried about 100 times and still no luck. I guess I liked it if I stuck around that much though ;)

Arnage says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Nice concept that is visually very polished, but the gameplay itself could use some more tweaking.

For example there's no hint at all that you can also change the shape of the end objects which you'll need to solve one of the early puzzles. Makes me wonder if something similar is not communicated for level 8 as I'm also stuck on that one.

Still, impressed by the amount of content and overall quality.

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:49pm

I got stumped at level 5 :| I guess I'm not really good at puzzle games. Other than that I pretty much agree with everybody else about how nice the style and sound effects are, and how bothersome it can be to reset the level each time you lose.

mf1214 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Fun game! Seemed to be very polished. Well done!

dvdagames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:02am

I really wish that the music loop was just a bit longer, maybe another 4-6 seconds so that it felt like it changed a bit.

As others have mentioned, having the physics reset without losing what I was clicking to solve the puzzle would be great because as the complexity increases, it starts to become tedious to reclick everything.

It was pretty fun overall.

SoulBound says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:32am

Fun game! The levels are interesting and fun!

Thepattybeast says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:51am

Nice game with two major annoyances: The long restart screen and the level getting reset every restart.

PixelRetro says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Simple concept with challenging levels. The music and sounds fit to the game, but the music loop is very short (and may get a bit annoying).
Some of the levels were very difficult to beat and I think the best way to ease things up is to remember the changes made to the initial state of the level, when the player fails and only revert to the initial state when the players presses R and no input should be accepted while the level resets.
The game looks so polished, because of all the nice animations.

Karl Schmidt says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:46am

Loved the music, thought all the audio fit with the visuals well. The 'dancing' theme was a nice touch throughout - tough to get that stuff in a compo :D
I got stuck pretty quickly - it's an interesting mechanic, but I think the difficulty curve could use be smoothed out a bit.

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:56am

You really need to speed up the restart screen. I lose, and then hit R because I thought it was telling be I had to hit it again. This frustrated me.
Beautiful game, and pretty clever.
Not level 8 though.
Level 8 is impossible.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]