Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeshift Puzzle

by fabys - Compo Entry

Move the required amount of shapes into their corresponding position.

How does it work?

- rightclick to choose the form of the shape
- leftclick on a shape to choose the direction
- click on an arrow to move the shape
- the shape slides over the floor until it hits another shape or a wall
- you have to pick the right form to fit into the target spots
- underneath the map you see the requirements to pass the map

Press the reload button to restart the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#331Overall3.36
#395Innovation3.21
#494Fun3.09
#550Theme3.24
#734Graphics2.52

Comments

arhpositive says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:43am

Puzzles were quite tough, but it's a good game overall. You get satisfaction out of solving the problem. Good entry.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:55am

Didn't manage to finish all maps yet but good challenge so far with simple and yet very effective game mechanics and clean/efficient presentation.

Nice one, will come back to it later on.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:13pm

I suck at it, but I like it!

Saymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Great puzzle game, quite challenging.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Challenging, but fun!

manabreak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Nice lil' puzzle game, great twist on the age-old game. :)

Pent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Tough game, I went through all the maps and only could solve a couple =)

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:08pm

The puzzles were very fun. It was a little frustrating until a realized that you could use the boxes to block each other, but once I did, I started to really like it. Great job!

reheated says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Tricky puzzles, nice work!

purrpurr says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:03am

Not too tough once you wrap your head around it. Still, a neat little game with some nice puzzles. Only really had a problem with the pace being a bit on the slow side.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]