Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shift & Persist

by hazzahazzam - Jam Entry

Shift & Persist
Shapeshift through a variety of animals to acquire their traits.
Hop, dash and squeak to get to the final boss.

Controls:
Z, X, Arrow Keys.

- Harrison
- David

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#142Humor(Jam)3.44
#226Theme(Jam)3.74
#302Mood(Jam)3.41
#341Graphics(Jam)3.70
#370Innovation(Jam)3.26
#372Audio(Jam)3.19
#438Fun(Jam)3.26
#479Overall(Jam)3.30
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

Headmade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:51am

Haha, nice 4th wall breaking jokes in there :)

For me the jumping and dashing didn't work reliably. Sometime the sheep just would not jump or dash. Don't know if that's a bug or if I did something wrong.

Frozen Stick says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:25am

Okay the game is nice but the controls are a bit...buggy...

methylenblub says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:44am

really nice! maybe needs some bug fixing i think

Zeriver says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:20am

Really great game, every level was different and innovative. Graphics are nice and humor is also of high quality. Hmmm maybe with some more work it could be fun game for children?

AngerFork says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:46am

Well done! Loved the way you had the different animals set up. I found myself really wanting a way to control the camera, but can kind of understand why you didn't put that in. Also, the controls are a bit unreliable. Still though, well done!

abaines says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:35am

I had fun with it. Got to the last boss but didn't defeat it since I seemed to be facing sideways-on. Enjoyed the concept + humour though.

ragnta says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:11am

I think the collision detect is not perfect :( but nice game!

nicso says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:17am

Seems like you've put the jump input checking in the FixedUpdate, wich make unity skip some inputs ;)


beside that it's a pretty nice entry

phi says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:22am

Good job on the models and level design! The shapeshifting is pretty straight-forward, just a little tedious, and the specific skills for the different characters are introduced well. The game needs some polishing (buggy physics, weird perspective changes, sound volume, etc.) but it already has a lot of content and potential for a post-compo version!
Also, please think about your QWERTZ-players next time... ;)

Charzendat says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:37am

I found the controls really frustrating. The jumping and dashing in particular really made the game unnecessarily difficult. Some decent ideas though.

edve98 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:05am

Everything is great but the controls are really bugging me. This could use some polishing!

sftrabbit says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:58am

Nice! The idea has been done a lot, but the levels were interesting and the humour kept me in. Also, really cool that you had a final boss - I only wish each of the 6 weak spots had a different set of obstacles leading up to them (it got a bit repetitive). ALso, the movement on the sheep in particular was quite awkward. Still, really nice work!

Sean says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:06am

There's certainly a lot more content than I was expecting, but as a lot of people have said the controls felt pretty wonky. I also found that the sound effects and music weren't normalized.

It's a decent start though, good job!

t4u says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:12pm

Eveyrthing needs work: models, sounds, controls. Both lack of animation and fixed rotaton position is painfully visible. It took me a while to talk to first NPC(not obvious).

Sfx gt on my nerves. Try using this: http://jfxr.frozenfractal.com/#

I got to the last boss but got a bug which prevented me from facing it to the front; this resulted in rage/bug-quit. I could only swithc between right and left rotation.

Use of mouse to change between states is a big no. If you are making a game that is keyboard only you should stick to it (just add another control button to switch between forms)

Better lack next time. I think you failes the same way as I did - by going for too big scale project.

Ps. Love unimplemented mechanic joke.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]