Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Fennec Play

by Miko - Jam Entry

Fennec Play is a short visual novel centered around three magical girls who run into a strange girl who's on the run- from what, none of them know!

Woot, my 6th Ludum Dare visual novel! Obviously, if you don't like little game play and lots of reading, you might want to go to the next Jam entry. But, for those of you that do, I hope you enjoy this! No audio again, since I need better time management skills. But as always, all the art, scripting, and writing was done in the 72 hour limit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#392Graphics(Jam)3.60
#541Mood(Jam)3.11
#723Overall(Jam)3.04
#735Theme(Jam)3.07
#921Fun(Jam)2.62

Comments

arzi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Nice! Even though it wasn't very long (which is probably the best for LD), you managed to make a lot of art and story. Well done!

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Oh man, this was adorable, and really vibrant. It's surprisingly enjoyable to watch the mundane lives of these characters. I'm getting a strong Magical Diary influence?

I think to take this game further, some dialogue choices would be a great idea. They don't need to branch the story off, just offer some alternate lines of dialogue. Keep at it!

Jungle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Good story, I like to see visual novels on LD. Congrats!

AdamsMcCall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:05pm

I didn't expect to see a visual novel here. Nice work anyway ! :D

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Lovely character art and some nice little animation touches.

Pusty says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Really nice game! Enjoyed the story lol. Visuals are realy good as well (I only think that the faces look weird lol)

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:26am

It was a good story, but after playing all these games was a little surprised with this one.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Really nice kinetic novel, I think you did a good job on the design of the characters. The writing was simple but effective, and overall was an interesting story, and you mixed the theme well into it.

Ryan Kline says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Hey, We made a visual novel, too! We went a very different direction with it though, with more of a 90's cartoon style. You have really got the genre down, it seems. This was our first one, so ours was rough around the edges. I loved your art and animations, and you had loads of content. Very clean. Coming from just writing one myself, I am impressed. Good job!

fprawn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Loved it, totally kicked that guy's ass at the end. Very well done, especially considering the time limit.

Rey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Cool, never really played visual novels before, but I enjoyed playing this.

Darenn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Hey, first time I played this kind of game. I have to admit I like this kind of drawings. The story wasn't long enough but very pleasant, and that's what we need for LD !

Finally, great job for art ! really impressive
To my opinion, musics and voices are missing, but 72 hours, it's short after all ;)

MayMakeGame says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Very well done, though i was sort of hoping that the main character would be able to shape shift. The art was adorable, anyways! =3

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:19am

That was really fun! I've never played a visual novel before, I felt like this was well written, and just enough choice to feel like I was making a difference. I liked the characters and the art as well.

Very cool, thanks for sharing. :)

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:50am

I didnt know I was featured in a game. :D

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:20am

I've never played a visual novel like this before so it was actually really cool! I like the subtle humor and the characters were really personified in a way that each seemed unique! also. Apples.

luvShape says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:13pm

the design won me over :,D good job!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Amazing amount of work for such little time! Congrats!

celia14 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:46am

Yay, I love visual novels and I love magical girls! :D This was really cute. The characters felt like they had a lot of depth, even though the game had to be so short due to time - it definitely made me wish there were more to play and we could learn more about them. :)

May 6, 2016 @ 7:00am

I didn't expect a novel, but you have done a great job. To keep it more interesting, you could have added voice narrations.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]