Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Altered Beard

by gillenew - Jam Entry

Altered Beard is a game made to honor an icon, and a friend of mine.
Here you control Beardanu, a peaceful citizen who decided now distribute the blow to see how it is. and precisely at the time he decided to do this, the city is invaded by aliens. Thanks to the power of the majority vote, Beardanu can become president to kick the ass of aliens. #LDJAM


Controls ||

Arrows - movement and jump
X - beat
Z + Down Arrow - drop off the platforms
F - reset the game


Credits ||

Code and Art - gillenew (http://gillenew.com/)
Music - Saulo (https://twitter.com/saulocal)


Programs used ||

Photoshop
Construct2
Audacity
Bfxr


|| Reports

- Only has level 1, and it is incomplete
- Collisions need to be improved and the overall weight of the gameplay should also be adjusted
- Progression and challenge of the game should be better balanced

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#339Humor(Jam)2.84
#385Audio(Jam)3.17
#427Graphics(Jam)3.54
#749Fun(Jam)2.86
#827Mood(Jam)2.70
#827Overall(Jam)2.94
#1055Innovation(Jam)2.22
#1071Theme(Jam)2.24

Comments

4B says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:36am

Fabiano curtiu

swamppenguins says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:27pm

I couldn't die, tried very hard haha.

BigBrother says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:35am

hmm... I really like the game, but I can't say the theme was incorporated that well. It was a really hard theme tho, so you get 4 stars! I liked everything else about it!

AngerFork says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:36am

Fun little sidescrolling game, well done. Took me a bit to figure out the controls, but was fun once I did.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:36am

Music and visuals are good.

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:41am

lol, love the animation and the music

Muel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50am

RISE FROM YOUR FACE!!!1

Hahaha, this game is gold!
I played it with the song of the original one playing on my head.

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:57am

Awesome music and fun to play. I feel like it needs a bit more polishing on the collisions though

jdmazz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58am

I enjoyed it. Old school style. Also, the player reminds me of a physics professor I had, which is a plus. I think it has some humor to it, too.

Dawdawdo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59am

The controls are mis-stated on the site. A tutorial would be good. Overall, really fun. thanks.

andyman404 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:03am

I like how the buildings and background parallax. It was pretty challenging though. That barrel always gets me. :)

Trickman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:04am

ALTERED BEAST!!! HAHAHA!

Needs a little bit more friction. It's kinda slippery. Well done, nonetheless.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:04am

Was there a level 2? -- The game just kind of glitched out and killed me at the end of the level.

gillenew says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:12am

@BrainSlugs83 - only had time for me to do the level 1 half-full, cause it lacked the end of the level :(

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:08am

The graphics, sounds, and animations are really fun, but the jumping feels a little too floaty. It's too easy to get stuck on the rolling trash cans and die from one mistake.

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14pm

I like it! If I had one suggestion it might be from a level design standpoint you might have introduced the duck mechanic in a non-threatining situation before testing it with the first enemy. I died a few times before realizing I could duck under the shots.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Wise fwom your gwabe! How could I not enjoy an Altered Beast homage! Perhaps the most classic example of shape shifting, revisited here in an up to date environment and a funny premise. Great job on the game, if has a really consistent art style (loved the parallax) and catchy music. Well done!

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59pm

First off, these graphics are lovely. I especially enjoy the color choices particularly on the buildings for some reason lol. The music is nice and gets you pumped up. It also sounds suitably alien-asque with a techno vibe. The gameplay looks a bit like an usual beat-em-up, but it takes a bit more smarts than that mostly due to how fast the enemies attack once they have spotted you. I enjoyed the entry overall, I only feel it could have benefitted from a bit more player feedback when taking damage(such as some screen shake or a sound effect) and some similar juice for the attacks.

Thirsty says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:11am

Cool game.. damn barrels are dangerous

adamprack says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:33am

Hah pretty neat. It's got some obvious rough parts, but it's a neat a humorous theme, has some positive gameplay ideas, and a fair challenge. The sound was pretty decent too!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Really nice graphics and sound :D I didn't get very far though, I suck at this type of game ^^' Anyway, great job!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Really cool, but I truly suck at it..
Well done!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Graphics and audio are really cool !

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Cool game! But i did take damage from nothing. Anyways a great game!

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Audio and graphics were top notch, well done.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Hey man! Funny name. Good game for a gamejam and sounds good :)

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:07pm

I really liked the graphics and the audio.

However, I feel like the game needs some serious balancing:
- Punching takes too long and is too short given the animation
- Also I think the collision gets weird if you turn around mid-punch (the projectile seems tied to the sprite).
- Everything explodes on touch (knockback is way too high)
- You can get thrown into another hazard and die because of a single hit
- Enemies are affected by knockback and might get thrown into you because your punch had thrown him into something else (e.g., an enemy hits a cylinder and is thrown back at you)
- Although there are 3 slots for health, you seem to die after only 2 hits

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:22am

Classic style

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:14pm

The graphics and music is very cool, but the gameplay need to be polished, the game is very hard!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:31pm

The graphics and music are pretty cool, hard to control and play but still a enjoyable game. Nicely done!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Wait, I thought gif's can't be displayed on this site? :D

Manou says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:37am

4.5*

+ lovely sprites
+ good music
+ reference to the genesis

- keys mapping (maybe because I'm AZERTY), jump and drop off key could be the same?

Good entry as usual!

pjimmy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:00am

Nice, very cool, but hard. Needs some recovery time after you get hit by the aliens. Also, when you get hit, you go back too far. Neat visuals.

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:20am

damn that was hard!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Sweet old-school entry, aesthetics were especially really cool and I had fun playing it, it keep me playing more than 10 minutes, which is super good for a LD game ! I remember some of your earlier entries, nice pixel art as always. you did great with Construct 2 :)

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Odd controls, but nice game.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:01am

The game looks really nice, though it's a bit fiddly to play. I notice there isn't any mercy invincibility if you get hit, so I found that if I ever took any damage, I would generally get hit again or fall into something else and die.

joemid says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:18am

Great animations. Wish there was more. Love that you can knock dues into those pesky garbage cans!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Cool animations transitions and graphics

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Couldn't find any shape-shifting (well at least couldn't get to it even if there were some, since I kept on dying). The game is not easy but not particularly hard either. Crouch, walk forward, crouch, walk forward, punch. The idea is there but needs wayyyy more in combat abilities and even controls. The graphics are good, though.

drazil100 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:01am

Your barrels are harder than your aliens.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Great art and audio, decent gameplay as well. I think the player should be invisible for a second or two after getting hit.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:19am

I cannot count the number of times I've screamed, "why?" at the game. The lack of invincibility frames makes this game absolutely brutal. Additionally, with the barrels glitching and appearing on wrong platforms, it made it very easy to die in the game. While I do appreciate the well-drawn artworks, I think the difficulty of the game is the first thing that needs to be polished. I don't like it when the barrels can literally hit me twice, and enemies 3 times. It makes every hazard in the game one-touch kill, and given how unpredictable certain parts of the levels are, this only added to the frustration.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Music and sound were great. Enjoyed the gameplay too.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:48pm

I know I keep saying this, but THIS IS THE BEST GAME. Everything that does not work/ make sense doesn't even matter because get an energy drink that turns you from a guy with a beard in shorts into a guy with a beard in a top hat and a suit. And you shoot hand bullets. Also, I assume that is play on Altered Beast, super awesome. I want this to be a full game.

KairosXIII says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:20am

Love the style and audio. It really sets an old school 8 bit feel. Wish I could punch while crouching.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:38pm

i like the reference to altred beast, specialy the transformatiom cutseen

Chaoslab says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:11am

Nice game.

TheCain says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:45am

I liked it.
It needs some checkpoints though, I couldn't get through the first level.
And it would be nice if Z also jumped.

MrMordem says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:26am

Awesome tribute that fits with the theme, even the shapeshifting animation is tha same as the original game, it just has a bit of a weird hit detection and no recovery time, but with these added it could be a fun game, graphics and music are awesome as well.

good job here :)

radmars says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:08am

Awesome!! (damn somebody already made the "rise from your face" joke!) I love this style. It's pretty difficult and the controls could use some polish (a separate jump button would be nice, and your movespeed seems to be a bit fast for how big you are relative to the screen) but the gameplay is solid. Would love to see more of this. Nice work!

adam says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Solid platforming, satisfying to kill enemies. The three hitpoints seem a bit of a joke since whenever I made a mistake the hitstun usually meant I was dead before I could do anything else. Don't understand the theme or what's the deal with the powerup that gives you a hat.

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Great game!

May 8, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Nice graphics! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/sLxVMaXEMmg

fin_nolimit says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:28pm

I love the graphics!!! He had some rocking goatee game! lol

Aaranos says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Artwork is perfect. The difficulty is a bit much. The trash cans mainly since they turn at set points so if you don't know those points it is easy to die.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]