Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

play

by pjimmy - Compo Entry

A breakout game that uses waveforms from soundfiles for the paddle and bricks.
Click "Play", to play the default song, or select another one within the following formats: MP3, OGG, WAV or AAC.
Left and right arrow keys controls the paddle.
Destroy the wave and gets as many points as possible.

I've used phaser.js, dancer.js and the default song "In a Heartbeat" by Kevin MacLeod.

WARNING: In case you have sound issues, or no sound at all, please use Firefox instead. It's also a better browser anyways...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#68Innovation3.92
#358Theme3.52
#397Overall3.29
#499Fun3.08
#549Graphics2.84

Comments

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:34am

Very cool idea, I want more twisted forms for the bricks.
The velocity of the ball seems a bit fast to me.
Is the game last the lenght of the song (be shorter if I upload a short sound) ?

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:24am

@Nomys_Tempar thanks for playing. Yes, it is the lenght of the song. So the shorter the song, the shorter the game.

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55am

That's a clever idea

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Cool game !

rupazero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Oh neat! Great concept, with intrinsic appeal as you can upload any song you want.

z3 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Great transformation of the breakout game!

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Really cool concept! Beutiful take on the theme.

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:20pm

This is a clever game, I really like the concept. It’s a shame you cant do it live from a microphone because that would make it loads more interactive. Great idea!

mrnannings says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Tis was really fun! Didn't expect the distortion effect. It is a arkanoid like game but with a nice twist:P. Good work.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Nice concept, though I had unplayable key-to-game lag, it took like 5 seconds until the bat moved. I'm going to send that off as a local issue though and won't show it in your rating ;)

I really like the concept and the whole graphics 'theme' you wrapped around the music, though I do wonder if you're adhering to the compo rules, which state that you should've made (or generated) everything yourself, within certain limitations. I won't be mean and report you, but maybe it's better if you re-apply this game in the 'Jam' category.

I did find the gameplay itself to be a bit boring, but I understand you focused on the effects rather than the gameplay.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Hi @Gemberkoekje, and thanks for playing.
No, the game is not centered around the music. Infact, you don't need the music at all to play the game, just use any other of your own list, by clicking the select button. THe music is just used for default, an example, nothing more. Also, it's public domain, so it's legal.
If there's anymore complaints, I'll remove the music, but you'll be required to choose your own.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:05pm

There were some neat effects going on here!

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Hi @MrDave, and thanks for playing.
I did thought about a mic capture feature also, but I was short on time, so I've decided to keep it simple, and make only for audio files.

Cyberlight says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:21am

Honestly, I would add an epilepsy warning for safety's sake

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:46am

Neat idea, but I'm not rating either because it has unplayable paddle lag in the latest Firefox version for me. :(

pjimmy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:43am

Hi @GAFBlizzard. Yes, the game is memory intensive. You can try cleaning the cache and allocate more memory to see if it increases performance.
Hi @Cyberlight, thanks for the safety tip.

psyxose says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Innovative concept, I liked it.

ragnta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Good Idea, but the graphics would be better.

YepNix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:13am

Really enjoyed the application of the theme to the mechanics, as well as the low pressure of the environment (i.e., can't lose the ball) to explore the music's effect on the breakout formula. Very cool :)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:53am

Pretty cool music interaction. The game just keeps going after all bricks are gone lol. Good concept!

Larzan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Haha, epileptic seizures, no shit ;p
Great idea, very mesmerizing :)
But maybe it would have been better with the paddle itself not moving so much, the way it is now the hitting the ball is just random.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Neat game, sometimes I felt like it doesn't matter whether I'm playing or not as the ball was changing direction "randomly" :D. Anyway cool idea of "shape-shifting"

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:05am

Interesting idea. Would be neat to see a deeper game that takes more info from the song to create the board, and perhaps has less erratic movement.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:00am

SICK! This is totally insane! I love it! My favorite entry so far! I even shared some screens https://twitter.com/MarukiHurakami/status/723420970912870400

Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Haha cool idea !

Wevel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Really like how you can upload your own songs, though I played Mz Hyde by Halestorm and it went absolutely insane, I felt that the flashing was a but to fast but still a really good entry.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Cool innovative idea. Nice one! If the game were more related to music, it would be awesome. By the way, the wave-generator amazed me.

Kep says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Neat idea. Innovation 5/5!

drazil100 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:02am

Good choice of music. I enjoyed the distortion. Id say try try randomizing your particles effects a bit more. They are a bit square. I had fun though.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:43am

Interesting way to listen to music. Also, firefox sucks.

curtamyth says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:54am

Unique entry but ultimately it's just a trippier looking breakout. Would have been cool to see more unique mechanics but this is a solid entry nonetheless.

Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:48am

Very cool, innovative spin on a classic! There were a few collision issues, and the speed of the ball seemed odd sometimes, but overall I liked it a lot.

Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:06am

Looking amazing, great work. I can handle the colours moving about but the flashing is intense for me to play for long.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Very cool music visualisation, it looks very nice even with custom music. Wish there was a bit more to the gameplay though, there's no punishment for missing, no power ups or even a huge benefit for actually destroying all the blocks.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:21pm

Super innovative concept and idea.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:36pm

I had an epileptic attack!! Hahaha... but I liked the game. Curious shapeshift concept :)

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Great idea and awesome coding behind it!. Did you use the middle to guide that waving effect? That game could alow the player to upload a music and play with it, if that's the case. I guess the blocks could be bigger and the player object changing shapes makes it feel like you have no control over the ball. Stil fun to play though!

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:40pm

That was clever & a nice twist on breakout.

ocarson says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:36pm

I like the idea, it's cool that you use audio files too, I did however find it quite hard on the eyes from all the flashing, but good concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]