Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Casual Shapeshifting

by M2tias - Compo Entry

This game tells a story about a lone shapeshifter trying to survive. It's controlled by mouse only.

How to play
--------------
Shapeshifting is handled one organ at a time. Organ starts to transform when it is clicked.
When organ is transforming, it does not work and the related bodily functions deteriorate.

Transformation can be stopped any time by clicking and the organ starts working. However, if it is in mid way, the organ only works to a certain degree!

Task is to balance the transformation so that the host doesn't die.

Tools etc. used
-----------------
Game was created using Unity with C#.
Music was composed with LMMS and plugins that came with it.
Graphics were drawn with Paint.net.
I used a free font called Inknut Antiqua that can be downloaded from here: https://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/inknut-antiqua

Edit: I dropped the embedded link, because URL was broken. Go to itch.io.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#98Innovation3.83
#141Theme3.86
#337Mood3.09
#378Overall3.31
#442Audio2.75
#464Humor2.20
#481Fun3.11
#641Graphics2.69

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:00pm

that's creepy =)

Guard13007 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:06pm

When I try to run it: "NoSuchKeyThe specified key does not exist."

M2tias says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:08pm

If you have problems with the embedded version, go to the itch.io page or download the binary. I don't know how much itch.io likes hotlinking the embedded game...

oal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:12am

What an eery experience. It works, for some reason, and it's challenging. Well done, and an interesting use of the theme.

Syldarion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:14am

Very solid design. The ramping difficulty was well done. I was a taken by surprise by the final level, I was so into it. I NEED MORE LEVELS. (Side note, maybe keep the percentage above at all times)

igrir says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:19am

It's creepy and fun at the same time :D

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18am

Very clever but very difficult. It took me forever to transform into the snake, and then I lost immediately after (which is apparently intentional).

Apparently it was addictive since I played it like an hour to beat it. :P

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:48pm

I got to the snake. :D It's bit hard to do and needs concentration! nice!

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:45pm

I really enjoyed this game, I just couldn't get the lung across. I'm probably going to go back after the review and figure it out, i can't let this one beat me lol. gj

ohmmus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Woof! fun design, I like "resource management" games, and the creepy twist on it with your game is awesome! Great work, and nice interpretation of the theme!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:40am

Really neat idea, I liked it

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:47am

I was confused for a minute but once I understood what was going on I had a pretty swell time. It was actually pretty challenging, I didn't beat it though because I spent a good 5 minutes trying. I think using the key board would better because sometimes I couldn't click the organ to stop it but maybe thats because I'm using the touch pad right now haha. But the game was really fun!

zoeinfp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:48am

I didn't success this despite giving it a few tries...but the game is very innovative!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Had to try a couple of times to manage the snake shift, the timing was extremely tight. And a lovely twist at the end :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Simple and efficient ! Very good game.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:26am

Interesting concept.
Funny and at the same time creepy )

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:42am

Great! Pretty challenging and fun, would make a good tablet game. It would have been nice to have the information from the start on screen at all time, like what each organ does.

Insality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:44am

oh, what the idea!
nice job, interesting to play ;)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:45pm

This is a very addictive puzzle game! It's a bit annoying that the organs move over each other making it difficult to click. The music added to the narrative and stress while playing. Graphics could have been easily enhanced though. I love it!

thedashdude says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Took me a while to figure everything out, but I loved it once I did.

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:17pm

The most addictive I played this LD.

AndreSilvs says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:58am

A ver unique concept. It was not clear to me at first, but the order in which you should transfer organs depends on the distance they have to "travel" and how they affect other stats. Well done!

lkr says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:06pm

That was a unique take on the theme :)
Pretty fun once I understood how to balance the different transformations. Couldn't figure out how to beat the snake level though, but had fun!
The music was creepy and stressful in a good way :)

ashdnazg says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Less casual than I thought!
It took me some time to figure where I'm wrong (which is good!) and even then there was more thinking to figure how to succeed (which is even better!).
My only beef with this game is how all organs kinda clump together in the middle, which causes some misclicks.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]