Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Project G.R.I.L.L.

by vctr_seleucos - Jam Entry

G.R.I.L.L. is a experiment that can change forms when it gather enough energy, each form has different habilities and behaviour. Help G.R.I.L.L. escape from the labs, fighting security robots and finding the ID cards.

#LD35 entry. Theme: Shapeshift

Controls

WASD -> Movement
Mouse -> Aiming
Left Click -> Attacking/Selecting
Space -> Select Transformation

Credits

Daniel Moreno (@DazlogStudio)
Alex Aspa (@AlexAspa01)
Victor R. Rodríguez (@Vctr_Seleucos)
Claudia López (@Lo8its)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#51Fun(Jam)3.94
#90Audio(Jam)3.83
#122Graphics(Jam)4.17
#145Overall(Jam)3.73
#239Mood(Jam)3.53
#240Humor(Jam)3.12
#498Theme(Jam)3.40
#642Innovation(Jam)2.94

Comments

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12am

Frist Fatsr!

BigBrother says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

GOTTA GO FSTTTT

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

nice game!!
play and rate my game here:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:42am

Challenging and VERY nicely polished!

Peter1992t says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:46am

That was really fun and well made. I didn't feel like the shapeshifting was a major part of the game though, and the red monster felt very underpowered compared to the rest.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:38am

The art makes me think of Earthbound! Always a winner!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:52am

So funny! And I love the graphic style... Great job, congratulations!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18am

Nice gameplay, graphics and sound. And so funny! Loved <3

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:41pm

I canit find anything that I don't like. I love all so much (graphics, music, programming). Very mood. 5 stars!

PD) GOTTA GO FAST

allstar602 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Great art style. I love the camera effects. I had a lot of fun exploring the levels. The underpowered red guy ended my playthrough.

macronoid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Really solid gameplay and mechanics. Also loved the pixel art. It has framed pixel puppys: SOLD.

BTW, I don't think the red guy is underpowered. You just have to realize it has a weapon similar to a shotgun; once you get close to the foes it deals a lot of damage.

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Very fun game with very nice graphics. Good job!

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:21am

El arte es fantástico, me ha molado mucho el juego

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:24am

Nice control. Very addictive!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Super polished feeling, hard to stop playing, great graphics and sound! great job!!

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:44pm

I think the green montster need more range to be balance with the others, anyway great work !

Gravedrinker says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Very very cool. The retro look and music is fantastic and gameplay very enjoyable. If I would change something in the future, I would make the levels have more variety more quickly. Introduce something sufficiently different looking on floor 2 already, to avoid giving the impression that's going to be the same kind of floor over and over and to help the feeling of progression. It's great that you get a different character with a different ability to play when you die.

One bug I encountered was gamemaker throwing an error when selecting the left form after pressing space:

FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object objControl:

Unable to find any instance for object index '3' name 'objPlayer'
at gml_Object_objControl_Step_0


Anyway, keep it up guys and I'd love to see this as a more realized game down the line.

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:16pm

This is a really sweet game. Its really well polished and exciting.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Awesome presentation and execution! However, I felt some shapes were way better than others, the red in particular was guaranteed to take a hit if I got close enough to shoot. With a bit more balancing you can easily have a very fun game. Well done!

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Really fun game! It's a great arcade with a lot of feedback.

I give you 5 sanics!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:39pm

So funny!!!! I love it!! I'm going to play again :)

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:15pm

We unfortunately could not get very far but it looked very cool graphicswise and the audio was also very nice.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:20am

Awesome game! I like the way you shapeshift when you die on next levels. Nice one!

gillenew says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:47pm

nice game! I don't know why, but at the floor two when I transform to the 3rd shape I got stuck and can't move

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Nice and polished 48h game. Good old-shool shooter. Didn't really see the use of shapeshifting, other than changing up your attacks and movement, but I had fun playing it.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Very fun arcade style shooting game!

Falak says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Game realy funny but
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object objControl:

Unable to find any instance for object index '3' name 'objPlayer'
at gml_Object_objControl_Step_0
############################################################################################

bushmango says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Good start to the game. I'd like to see your main dude walk faster and maybe have a dodge roll? It's really hard to kill the robots without taking damage because their range is longer.

redwizard says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Very good job. Fun and challenger.

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Good game with good pixel art aesthetics.

Levels are random generated (but once i find the next lvl door and the key just one next to the other)

I didn't find the point to transform, the other two alternatives are slower and their shoots are weaker or with so much less range. Maybe playing with the defense or max health stats fixes the problem...

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:53am

Fun twister to the genre. Good attention to details when it comes to mechanics!

Tselmek says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:20am

Really polished entry, the Nuclear Throne kinda formula works really well. Amazing job, I don't have much to say.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]