Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Biscuit Switch

by retrogradeorbit - Compo Entry

Biscuit Switch
---------------

You have started work in the biscuit factory as a shape shifter. Lucky you!

You must keep the production line running. The TV screen barks instructions on what shapes need to be cut to fulfil orders.

You can switch each machine on and off. But you must make sure the right cutter blade shape is loaded into the stamper. Before you can load or unload the stamper, make sure the stamper is off. Then unload the old cutter, if there is one, and place it back on it's table. Take the new cutter stamp from the relevant table and load it into the stamper. Then switch the stamper back on.

If you do well and succeed, then management will deem you worthy of faster work. Keep working! Faster! Faster!

If you lose more than $100, you're fired!

There is no end to the work... just like the real world!



Controls
---------

Use cursor keys to move your little worker around the floor. Press space bar to perform actions.

Runs best in google chrome.

Sounds by jsfxr. Graphics done in aseprite. Code done in clojurescript.

I've done the Jam a few times before, but this is my first attempt at the Compo.

Hope you enjoy!

search terms: html5 webgl canvas

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#309Humor2.66
#367Graphics3.27
#557Audio2.33
#596Innovation2.90
#662Mood2.60
#683Theme3.00
#762Overall2.83
#856Fun2.42

Comments

danbolt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:27am

On the first try, I stumbled around like a blind baker, totally unaware of how to fulfill my television master's orders. On my second try, I became hard and systematic, counting every last sheet of dough that came out of the roller. Success and profit was not frantic at all for me, just like the real world?

Cynicism aside, I loved the presentation of this game! The colours were fun and had a cute flair. I'd love to hear about how you made the inky pixel art. I haven't ever seen a game in Clojure too, which is awesome to see as well.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:41am

You made a fun little game. I love the walk animation. It could be a bit more challenging and follow a purpose more to keep the player entertained, like i.e. machine parts getting broken or the boss changing the order mid-production, but overall it is promising.

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:18am

Good start. I think it's missing something in terms of fun. I think Cerno_b has a good idea. I'd probably enjoy it if it had that modification.

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:24am

That was... interesting... it took me a while to figure out what to do, but I did it in the end. The walking animation was cute.

rubna says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:59am

really nice style!!

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:00pm

nice shapeshifting

Sanguine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:00pm

nice graphics - the movement could use some work tho

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:28pm

It's a neat little idea, but it requires development to be fun for more than one set of cutouts of a shape.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:04am

oh heck yea - I just kept making those triangle biscuits, 'cause management isn't going to tell me what to do.

psyxose says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Interesting game, cool graphics, I liked it.

Husky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50pm

I like the graphics and style!

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:52pm

This was a lovely litte game! It left me wanting more. Maybe using that money to get upgrades, or more tools being introduced to make more kinds of biscuits!
You should defenitely grow this!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:30am

Neat little design, read your directions before hand and could pick it up right away. good job!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Cute game! The graphics and sfx fit the game perfectly! Also, I like how you made your guy move slower when he was holding the stamp. Excellent job!!!!

hadesfury says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:30am

Good game keep on !

You probably need some upgrade or repesentation on level up by the way

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Brilliant. One of the most unique takes on the theme I've seen, lovely pixel graphics and it's about biscuits ... what more could you want

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Really nice game.I loved the artwork and the sounds tho a bit loud.I also liked the concept here and thought it was really cool.

wboqm says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:05am

Interesting take on shapeshifter. Getting the game to recognize when the character had come up to the machine was difficult, it needed to be just the right spot, which could be frustrating.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Iteresting concept. I'd love to see this developed further, as is I think it lacks a little challenge. Nice entry overall anyway :)

ExSpecter says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:25pm

First i didnt know what to do. Some instructions would have been nice. But i really like the graphics. especially the player. The animation is nice!
I think a little bit faster would make the game greater but it like it anyway.
Goob job

medidog says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Hard to close the game once you get the hang of it. It is very fun, well done!

Lucario12k says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:12am

In my opinion, great game idea! The execution is a bit boring, but I can definitively see this being even better game if you work on it more!

Venneque says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:18pm

nice graphic and animation, the idea is cool :)

syst3m_ERROR says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Very fun to play as well as a good execution of the theme. The audio i felt was a little lacking, as the movement sounds got grating without some music in the background, but the the effects were very nice overall.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:15pm

I felt as if it lacked in difficulty and the shapes all had the same texture but I liked the original idea of it.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:58pm

i like the machine

rockybdubs says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:36am

I like the graphics. Fun story.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]