Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Absorber

by FaeDine - Compo Entry

Controls:

WASD (or Arrows) to move
Q/E (or Control / Num 0) to change form
Mouse to Aim
Left Click (or Space) to shoot

Goal:

Absorb smaller enemies of the same shape/colour as you to grow. Shift into a new form to absorb your enemies. Shoot enemies (at some expense to your size) to lower their size. Don't shoot enemies who are the same colour as you.

There's no end, so just see how big you can get.

The game does implement some basic AI: enemies will change their form to absorb you if they think they can, or run away if they notice you and you're larger than them.




Disclosure: Life got in the way so I only had about 6 hours to pump a game out. The game didn't get to a point where it got very polished. I'm not expecting the ratings to be that high but that's okay, I had fun making it and that's the point, right? :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#470Theme3.35
#580Graphics2.79
#636Overall3.00
#675Fun2.82
#695Innovation2.74
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

batmanasb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:43am

Aww, making a game in 6 hours is rough :(

merrak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:51am

6 hours is pretty tough, but this was a fun game :)

stephenhaney says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:09am

Pretty darn good for 6 hours! I like the concept a lot. I enjoyed flying around the cool star field. Great start!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Cool concept, at first I thought it was similar to mine, but when you notice the focus on the absorption mechanic then it feels really different.

I really dig the parallax effect on the starfield and the shape transition (but it's a bit slow, sometimes it was a bit hard to find a vict...a shape and change before it escaped).

You accomplished a lot in just 6 hours, great job!

Firephoenix says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:11pm

This is amazing for just 6 hours of work. Game looks very nice, but some minor bugs exist. The AI's sometimes go off the screen, so that makes catching them that much harder. As @Ithildin pointed out, the shapeshift animation is a bit slow, but the idea of it is very cool. There are also some bugs where an AI would randomly keep shapeshifting for around 10 seconds before calming down. Somehow reminds me of agar.io, but at the same time is pretty different. Great game overall!

hunttis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Interesting mechanics. I think the game would've benefited from "non-rotating" shapeshifting. I mean, dedicated keys for each color. Almost every time I changed into the wrong color that I intended to. it's a 33% chance, that almost every time, right? :D

For 6 hours, nice work. At that point, I had boxes on screen that didn't do much of anything :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:43am

Like everyone else is saying: nice for 6 hours!

I guess the obvious criticism is that I didn't like how enemies can spawn right on you, but the game wouldn't really have any challenge without that. Zooming out as you get bigger would be nice too, if you're gonna make a post-LD version.

6 hours, though? Good job!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:53am

Super fun for only 6 hours work! I liked how the larger you got the bigger of a target you became, so it had a naturally scaling difficulty curve based on how well you were doing. I managed to get up to size 250, before a huge shape totally enveloped me and took me down to 0.

I did feel the slowdown trade-off for large size was a bit too exaggerated. By the time I was 150 I was barely moving at all. Oh, and the parallax looked great :D

Mixer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:58am

Hey this is pretty darn good for 6 hours. Gameplay was good, and I liked the transition between shapes, that was nice and polished.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:52am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

curtamyth says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:26pm

For a 6 hour game this is quite nice. The parallax background was an especially nice touch. I found myself wishing it was faster paced however, and I quit when a larger shape spawned on top of me and absorbed most of my progress almost immediately :( Like I said though, in 6 hours it's hard to get much better than this. Good job!

qikcik says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:26am

Nice :D

linseyray says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:26am

Good job! Glad you got to make something after all :)

h2n0 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:21am

Fun little time waster, I filled the screen and got put in my place my a pesky triangle I couldn't see. Good job.

madk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:10pm

So basically agar.io

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]