Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifters

by Beard - Compo Entry

Shifters is a RPG / text based game about working to keep enemies from entering our dimension. You play the role of a Shifter (people responsible for clearing enemies caught within the Shift Matrix. Clear the shift matrix to maintain order, or die trying.

**I did not have time to implement features beyond the basic playable concept. Art is not refined, no sound is included, and additional game functionality such as leveling up, equipment, and items were not implemented.

** DUE TO CONFUSION OF HAVING SOURCE AND GAME HOSTED ON THE SAME ITCH.IO SITE, I HAVE PROVIDED A DIRECT LINK TO THE SOURCE. I also added a web playable build, and enforced resolution on download version to prevent game breaking UI issues.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#792Mood1.94
#873Innovation2.26
#899Theme2.26
#917Fun2.05
#947Overall2.14
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:32am

if you could provide with a actual compiled game in your windows version that would be great thanx!!!

toastedgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:41am

Sorry, I had to rate this one low. I can see a cool concept, but the game just isn't done. If you update it, however, keep me posted!

Beard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:21pm

jcMonkey There are two files to download. One is source, the other is the compiled game. Just unzip and run it.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Sadly not much of a game yet. Somehow I managed to get into combat, and when combat was done, nothing else happened.
You should make a post compo version though.

duskpn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Both links you provided are actually linking to the source code...

arhpositive says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:13pm

There were lots of red zones and I felt like there wasn't an obvious strategy to clear them in the right order to always have enough money for the next potion. I randomly wandered around clearing red zones as long as my hp and my gold allowed me to do so.

The game needs a lot more work, but the basic concept is not bad. The player should have some meaningful choices in the fleshed out version if he/she is to have any fun.

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20pm

I keep getting stuck after every battle. :( Nice try though, RPGs are very hard to make. Keep on the good work!

SpareWizard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12pm

On high resolutions, the move left/right buttons, and the leave battle buttons are missing, for some reason.

Beard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:21am

I adjusted the file links so it is more obvious what is source and what is game. Mekuri, Crimson713 I am being told, that the button to exit each room is being shifted off screen at some resolutions.
There is certainly room for improvement. Enemy balance, and UI are right at the top of that list.
Thank you everyone who took a minute to check it out.

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:21pm

I think it's a very good idea and innovative. But this very badly balanced gameplay. I always end up dying no matter what I do, and I can not take decisions just click enemies, then it is a bit frustrating because I can not go forward. I think you should work on a postcompo version, the basic game is fun.

Beard says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:57am

Thank you Josemwarrior. I really didn't have very much time to spend on balancing. Working at this speed REALLY tests your programming and debugging skills for sure. I think I will attempt to expand this idea post compo. I was really hoping for some cool effects on the attacks and such to kind of modernize the text based game.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:46am

I feel like this gameplay would work really well on mobile.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]