Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Mimic

by ponywolf - Jam Entry

After crash landing on the planet of Asmeuria, our hero finds himself among the race of the Ilari. He will have to use shapeshifting Mimic powers and a gun, to take back a sacred cave, from a gang of machine gun wielding space crocodiles, to help an alien race return you to the stars. This sci-fi/fantasy/action arena shooter will test all your quick reflex skills.

Can you help our hero achieve his goal or will you fail in the sacred cave?

* Short story and tutorial
* Procedurally generated levels
* 3 Enemy types
* 3 Hero "Mimic" Forms
* xbox controller support
* Keyboard controls
* Funny-ish... At least it was funny on no sleep

If you like the gameplay, but are looking for more (like better Mouse + Joypad controls, more polish, better storyline) consider "greenlighting" Skipchaser on Steam at the link below.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Graphics(Jam)4.63
#182Overall(Jam)3.66
#196Mood(Jam)3.61
#246Humor(Jam)3.11
#269Audio(Jam)3.39
#406Theme(Jam)3.52
#438Fun(Jam)3.26
#671Innovation(Jam)2.90
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

joemid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:45am

YAY! First Mac game that works! A little to difficult to be enjoyable with the keyboard. I bet it's better with a controller! I'll try again on PC. Great job!

Pontifex says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Keyboard controls are just bad, also subtitles don't seem to work for me, so I wasn't able to enjoy the story. Other than that, good job!

ponywolf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:34pm

We didn't do a good job explaining all the keyboard controls, mainly because there was a bug with our dialog system on the PC that kept the tutorial from throwing any text. Oops :(

The dialog text is now fixed AND we just updated the first screenshot here to mention the key setup where you can use arrows and A/S/Z/X for shapeshifting/firing/jumping. Much easier this way on the keyboard, but still a controller is best.

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Graphiscs are awesome and really genuine, was a bit confused by the controls though, mouse pointer for shooting would have been great ! :) good job anyway

ponywolf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Thanks @tentacode... We ran out of time to do WASD + mouse and twin stick shooting.... Next LD honest :)

bigmangames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:12pm

FYI on the ponywolf.com host, text display has not been fixed yet.

Reiv says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Love the graphics! Control the direction of shooting is tricky thought. Using the mouse would've been more confortable.

ponywolf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Hopefully we have all the text display issues fixed. Kick a screenshot to @ponywolf if you see any visual issues.

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:16am

Nice graphics and humour. I also enjoyed the animations!
Good job!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Nice and polished game. I liked the humor. The hero somehow reminded me of Orko from the old He Man cartoons. Well done!

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Nice visual style that's consistent throughout the game, menus etc., good animation, multiple levels, bit of humour - combined together to give overall feel of high quality. As others have already mentioned, main downside was the controls while trying to aim, which detracted from the combat gameplay.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:42am

I love procedural [seamless] textures... and gaming bits

fullmontis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Wow, the polish in the game is incredible! You did a really good job on the graphics and gameplay. My only complaint is that keyboard controls are a little hard, but I guess it was not designed for it.

I had one bug: I could not see any text, only empty textboxes. You may want to check that. I downloaded the itch.io version.

medidog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:11pm

The game was a bit laggy when I first opened it, but it got better somehow. The art style is stunning. Some of the enemies were walking backwards which was funny :) Good game overall.

Manou says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Saul Bass ftw. 5*

SoulBound says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Really interesting game with amazing art!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:29pm

I think it could have used a few more sound effects and sound. Graphics were nice, theme straightforward. Controls seemed a bit off to me. @bytedesigning / Ashley

Aaranos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:09pm

I like the UI and gameplay. The controls for keyboard could use some work but they are completely manageable once you figure it out. The constant self promotion was a bit much.

m3games says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:54am

Great art style and animation and particle effects!

Obvious_San says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Solid entry, however the controls are pretty tough on a keyboard. I kept shooting backwards :/

But overall good job :)

avinashd says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Oh. My. God. I absolutely love the art-style. Not sure how I feel about the shapeshifting, because I was fine with sticking with the default character.

CaptainPilot says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Why oh why isn't there mouse controls? Or even good keyboard controls? Sometimes the character fires in the opposite direction that you were facing. Other than that, really well polished, great music and mechanics.

DRGY says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:23pm

It's really good game, but sometimes it's a little bit buggy for me like shooting in opposite direction i am walking...

ponywolf says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:40am

@CaptianPilot Oh, we wish we had put them in. Just ran out of time... Our post Jam version will have WASD + Mouse.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:59am

Very polished shooting game.

Gamepopper says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:41pm

I voted on your Steam Greenlight page before realising this was a Ludum Dare entry.

I really like the concept, although I think you need to change up your keyboard controls. I'm used to WASD being used to move, so it might be good to have some other keys for transforming/jumping or shooting. Maybe even allow the mouse to shoot/aim as well would be good.

Good luck with the campaign!

ponywolf says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:21pm

@Gamepopper Yep. We have all new controls that we will release post-jam in our greenlight alpha version. Thanks for the vote!

Riftpoint says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Very cool game, I hope your steam greenlight campaign goes well!

tomlum says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Absolutely gorgeous game. The music, art style and narrative all go really well together.

smbe19 says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Very polished game, although the keyboard controls were a little annoying. The soundtrack and graphics were especially awesome. I did not really understand how to win the game, though. I just kept jumping through holes until I arrived back at the start. Is that supposed to happen?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]