Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SHAPE☆SHIFT

by KaiClavier - Jam Entry

Jump and puzzle your way through SHAPE☆SHIFT!!

Game - Kai Clavier (@KaiClavier)
Art - Rev (@IMPLODINGORACLE)
Audio - bfxr.net, freesound.org, incompetech.com.
Full credits are beyond the "Thanks for Playing" message, btw!

(Apparently some flickering might happen in the later areas on the Windows build... This was developed on Mac, so I wasn't aware until after submitting. I'm currently looking into a way to fix the windows build, so, sorry about that!)

CONTROLS:
Move - arrow keys/ wasd / gamepad axis 1 + 2
Jump - z / left click / gamepad button 1
Shift - x / right click / gamepad button 2
Reset to Checkpoint - r / gamepad button 6

KEYWORDS:
HTML5, Unity, Mac OSX

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#147Innovation(Jam)3.67
#207Overall(Jam)3.63
#227Graphics(Jam)3.92
#246Audio(Jam)3.42
#388Mood(Jam)3.29
#403Fun(Jam)3.29
#438Humor(Jam)2.64
#498Theme(Jam)3.40

Comments

Wefiends says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:41am

Really really interesting idea, and some really cool puzzles that result from it. The art is really nice, there's a lot of polish there for sure. The controls and handling of the character could definitely use some tuning, it's a bit floaty. I'd love to be able to press a button to switch back to the main character, since aiming the little floaty thing got annoying when I was constantly switching back to the cat. Overall, a really cool idea with a lot of potential.

swinestudios says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:51am

VERY NEAT GAME if you were rolling with the adorable Mario aesthetic to cause bigger shock when the main mechanic was introduced, it worked! A lot of potential for puzzles. Although some aspects of animistic possession may have not been completely demonstrated, it is easy to imagine how the fully completed game might play. The puzzle with the lever + lift was by far the trickiest, and borderline annoying because the solution itself was obvious. I was sad when the game ended.

iendsl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:34am

Really great style and the concept is really cool. Switching into the flags was my favorite part. Sometimes I would figure out the solution to a puzzle but pulling it off would feel like the controls were the real puzzle and i got a little bummed. I got to the puzzle where you have to bump the blue guy up to the switch and then come back down again and I couldn't do it. But really awesome game and i'll come back one day and beat it.

Strike says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31am

It just need a bit of tuning on the controls and the game is great. I enjoyed the "ghost trick"-like concept in a platform game to solve puzzles. Even if I just got stuck after the huge brick wall with a enemy beside (the one on the second screenshot).

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Interesting idea! I got stuck early on, but there's a lot of potential there!

No idea why, but I had major framerate issues on the web build.

bigmangames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:30pm

A cool game about a soul-shifting cat. Agree with others that the control is a little floaty, and the graphics are very generic for what the game ends up being. But I think this is worth continuing to work on.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Behind this cute and fluffy game hides an ingenious and challenging game mechanic! While the graphics and the music are a bit too childish for my taste, they are of high quality. The puzzles are really cool and well though out, as they border on "Did the developer make a mistake here or am I just not smart enough?". Controls could be a bit less mushy, but that's a minor point. Very well done!

KaiClavier says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:58pm

@swinestudios yeah, the whole "Mario aesthetic for shock w/ the mechanics" twist was exactly what I was going for! There's so many puzzles I could make with the concept, but I had to cut lots of ideas I had for possess-able objects due to time. The puzzle with the lever & lift should have been the final one cause it's so hard.

KaiClavier says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:08pm

@Wefiends At one point I was considering mouse controls for moving the floaty thing with more precision, which is why you can jump with left click. but to be honest I completely forgot about it until now, oops. Also, I couldn't add an option to return to the cat, since you're not the cat, you're actually the floaty thing controlling the cat!

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:43am

I thought the floaty thing mechanic was great. Especially how the music slows down when you use it.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:19am

Great idea! I was shocked to see that mechanic, awesome puzzles in this.

gilead says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Hitboxes seemed quite off. Also when I first took control of the lever, I was unable to switch control back to the character.

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:48am

At first I thought "well this is a pretty neat platformer, it certainly looks great, especially for a jam game. Once you figure out how it fits the theme, it becomes very clever! Some of the puzzles were very well thought out. The timing-based puzzles can be challenging, but in a good way, and the art/sound is very charming. Great job!

jdmazz says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:26am

Jumping is very floaty. Graphics are beautiful.

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:02pm

what a great little game! the first thing that drew me in was the graphics, they're really lovely and so cute... they did look kind of familiar, and then i saw your description, and i follow rev on twitter/tumblr and stuff and i love his art. what a neat coincidence i stumbled upon this game :O

the mechanic in this was really cool, though i feel like the controls could use a little more work. i really liked the puzzle solving aspect of this, all in all, great job!!

rubna says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:31am

cool mechanic!

LeReveur says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:59pm

I ended stucked just after the treadmill/button/box puzzle, not founding how to pass a fat wall with just this (cute) blue rabbit, but I saw enough to say that it is an interesting use of the theme, and a good game (oh, and I like the way the music slow down when in possessing mode). Well done !

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:21pm

nice graph and idea. It could have a been faster and easier to come back to control player, but its good

Ithildin says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Clever twist on the theme and gameplay, and really cute graphics. As others have said, jumps and movement feel a bit floaty, and I got stuck on the fat wall, but the idea already demonstrates a huge potential. Well done!! :D

Krammetje says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Got a bit confused by the shift ability the first time and got stuck instantly. But after I understood the mechanic, it was a really fun game.
Love the graphics, and the music gives this game a very friendly feeling.

Klaas says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Nice! I like the theme interpretation a lot. I love the cute/dark thing going on. It's very easy to break the game by shifting when jumping, perhaps not being able to shift whilst jumping would fix it... but I'm sure there are puzzles later on where you need to do both simultaneously. Alternatively, always having a block or something within range of certain points so you can work your way back to the cat? I would love to see a post-mortem of the puzzle in the second screenshot. It seems like a common sticking point for many people, and it would be interesting to see why it's causing issues from a level design point of view.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Great game and really liked the graphics. Nice entry.

ciaodavinci says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:33am

Hey cool game, I liked the mood and the switching bodies mechanic was neat. The platforming felt a bit slow and floaty to me but maybe that was just the web version.

GibTreaty says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:30am

Wow that was genius. At times it seemed like some of the puzzles were impossible but then I figured it out. Very satisfying.

KaiClavier says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:41pm

@Klass - Part of the game's design is making sure you have a path to return to the player. The first puzzle that uses the shapeshifting mechanic should have made this concept more obvious - I try to make it so you have to be near the wall in order to activate the switch AND be able to return to the player, but still give you the option to close the gate and return to the player if you opened it from too far away. If you jumped and opened the gate, and land out of range of the lever, the player should still be within range from the closed gate.
Yea, at the time of submission, pausing midair had this problem where it wouldn't remember the player's velocity, so you can only solve the "wall" puzzle when falling, not rising... So that might have made it so some players who figured it out couldn't solve it! It's fixed in the new patch, but I won't be uploading that til after judging is over! Design-wise, I figured it was the best way to introduce players to the concept - There's nothing else you can do there besides jump on the slime, possess it, and reset, so I figured the answer should come eventually?
Check the links above for my complete postmortem, btw!

wumpus says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:52am

This took some perseverance to figure out what was going on but it was worth it in the end. I gave up on the 'revive the enemy' jumping puzzle which was a really nice idea but I was finding it frustrating to execute it.

Loved the jazzy music too.

managore says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:43pm

I love this game, and I can't wait to see the post-compo version you end up with!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]