Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Polyblob Bob

by unnamed1334 - Compo Entry

Bob, a small triangle, somehow ended up stuck.

Use Bob's ability to change shape to navigate a small map looking for upgrades and a way to escape.


Controls:
Left click and drag on the corners of Bob to change shape.
Right click to slide around.
Hold left shift to slow down time.
Press R to load the last checkpoint.
Press space to stop moving or changing shape.

Tips:
Bob's eyes track his center of mass.
If you get Bob's center of mass up onto a ledge, it becomes easy to get the rest of Bob up.
If Bob leans against a wall he can “stand” on one point instead of two.


Apologies for any bugs. The script used to change Bob's shape didn't end up the most stable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.47
#30Innovation4.11
#397Overall3.29
#505Fun3.06
#691Mood2.53
#725Graphics2.53
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Very cool mechanic! I'd love to see this explored more

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:50pm

I love the idea, it's definitely one of the best implementations of the theme I've seen so far! :) Found Bob quite hard to control, though.

vootele says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:50pm

How to play that?

starpixie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:07am

It was a good idea, but so hard to control. He kept changing shape by himself as soon as he collided with walls.

Spotline says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:49am

So nice ! Great idea, well realized, well done ! I would have liked to have more polish & feedbacks on my controls but it's already wonderful for a jam game :)

Theseus101 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:55am

Awesome Concept, but the physics could use work. Also some music and visual representation of when your dragging a point would make the game more engaging. However it's one of the most fun LD35 games I've played so far! Keep up the good work!

Megalink says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:38am

Pretty decent concept, although the characters movement was rather frustrating at times. Good job :)

caelanrp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:56am

One of the coolest implementations of the theme I've seen yet, but the non-responsive controls made it too frustrating for me to get very far. Still a super cool entry.

unnamed1334 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:09am

Thanks for the comments so far. Glad to see that people like the idea even with the controls not being the best.

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Totally awesome idea! Implementation was so-so but if I were to suggest a few things, make it so that right clicking doesn't even do anything because to be honest it just made me confused. If the movement of his corners was a bit more responsive I'm sure the game would have been a blast! Sadly I couldn't get past the quad stage :(

Odyssey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:19am

Great mechanic! Seems like it would have been hard to get done in the time limit

runvs says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:18pm

nice mechanic. The idea is good. I managed to get over the first wall just by bugusing (accumulating much speed with rightlick)
Well implemented!

Jungle says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:53am

Brilliant mechanics! Very good entry at all. Congratulations!

Kuupu says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Hey, you can remove the .pdb from the download folder, they are for debug purposes only :)

Nice mechanics, I really want to see a full version of this game!

One thing, don't know if it is a bug or what but I was not able to see the transformation of the shape until I release the left mouse button :(

You can make a lot of improvements on graphics too, just look on how awesome Tomas Was Alone is just by using simple shapes

Tip: you can add controller support for this game, take a look on how "Mount Your Friends" controls 4 points at the same time on a really confortable way
I think it will improve a lot os the experience


Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]