Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Pets

by uheartbeast - Compo Entry

PIXEL PETS

In Pixel Pets you get to feed vegetables to your cut pet monster and watch it grow and change shape. As it gets stronger you can explore the randomly generated caves, collect coins, and defeat evil monsters.

You play the game using only the mouse. HTML5 version on itch.io or gamejolt.

Thanks so much for the support!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#40Graphics4.24
#61Fun3.88
#67Overall3.87
#119Mood3.58
#191Theme3.78
#226Innovation3.52
#248Humor2.83

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:10am

The creatures are adorable. And there is something quite satisfying about flinging my creature into the enemies.

Controls couldn't be simpler, and I grinned like an idiot when I realized I could just hold down the mouse to move quickly instead of clicking for every movement.

The indicator for floor transitions is a very nice feature in light of the random level generations. Though I got a little overexcited and engaged a boss toooooo sooooon. ;) Kept going and beat that boss. My creature ate like a king!

My own entry wouldn't exist without you and ShaunJS. Thank you :)

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:15am

Glad you enjoyed it. I'll have to check out your entry :)

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:33am

Would love to see this expanded upon. A way to tell how far down you are would be nice.

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:37am

Wow really fun game and love the graphics and overall mood. The controls and UI were intuitive. A cross between tomodachi and pokemon? A complaint: I would have liked the sprite to rotate and change when moving around in the cave. Also no sound. Bummer

virgate says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:42am

Nice and interesting concept here. Wish there was a better way to tell what each of the foods did.
Nice battle system as well.

vini60 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46am

Nice idea. I loved the combat system. Lacks audio though ;/.
Impressive for a 2 days work, the dungeon feeling is great.

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:49am

Thanks guys :) Yeah, I started sounds but I ran out of time :/

Virgate: I tried to make the experience short enough that people could play around with the different vegetables to find the combinations :)

Noah says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:54am

This is great!

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:02am

This is really impressive. I'm willing to bet you'll hit the leaderboards. :D The art for the creatures was quite impressive I must say.

ThePaperPilot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:04am

Very fun game, but I'd like a better way to make purchases (and of course more levels would be great)

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:23am

Liked the graphs, and overall gaming experience was good. Moving was bit too slow for my taste.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:52am

Can't stop playing. Its like a tamagotchi.
How many Level 3 can a Cave have ;)

ChaosShark says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:01am

I really like it, it's well designed for a 48 hour game. It's like an alchemical sort of pokemon. It's a good idea, and if expanded on, could be a pretty good full game as well.

Eshford says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:24am

This game is so cute! Well executed idea and very good entry! <3

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:12pm

really like your pixelart!
without your great videos i would not be here :)

cubegames13 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:38pm

This was fun! The craphics are good and the controls take litesally seconds to learn, i love it!

Juin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Great Combination of Combat and progressing your Character. You probably ran out of time, but some audio would have come a long way.

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Yeah, :) I ran out of time. I even have a few audio files included in the source but just didn't have time to add them.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Nice little roguelike game, great job of getting to work with only the mouse! I felt like the whole shapeshifting part of the theme felt more like evolving since you change shape when you gain levels, but it's still a very well polished game, so I cannot argue that.

doombrowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Fun game overall. I didn't fully understand the significance of the multiple different foods. I'm guessing that maybe they cause different transformations. I also wish there was audio. This game is sweet still. Nice work Ben. :)

DifferentName says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:33pm

I really liked changing my creature to do better in the caves, but I wish I could have seen more transformations and variety in their abilities. I couldn't really tell if there were differences between the foods, how the transformation was determined, or if the different forms had a difference aside from doing more damage.

TinyHugger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Pretty good. The best I've seen so far.

TinyHugger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Pretty good.

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Looks great and had a lot of fun!

imepp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45am

Nice simple game. I really like these kind of casual RPG-like games. Got the same first transformation multiple times and lost my money multiple times too. Needs some balancing (sometimes I went full HP deeper and died easily), but for 48h that's extremely good.
Nice job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:47am

cute graphics and a simple mechanic. would be nice to shapeshift even more to see more of those cool creatures. nice job.

Cerberus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:39am

I thought your concept was so awesome, the graphics look so cool, the smoothnes of the controls and i could figure out everything. the only thing is thats a little slow of action for my taste but it was still a superb work. congrats.

okoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

i really enjoyed.

CoRcHoX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Nice game, the battle arena is simple and confortable, it remind me Undertale style, making this things differents. BTW 2 time my creature start on walls and have to restart the game

ragnta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:28pm

It's amazing! Good job! But I don't understand, that how many kind of monster are in your game? Because in the first play I ate my monster and he turned into a dragon(?) and the second play he turned into a snake.

coborax says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Nice Job

Rafos Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Cute mini game, I like it =D

Divitos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Nice and simple concept for a game. It seems like the kind of thing you could get a big playerbase for if it was a mobile game. I enjoyed watching my pet grow and adventuring with them.

My mind was blown when I realized that there was different evolution lines you could go down.

Great entry. :)

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:15pm

I enjoyed literally flinging my pet at the enemies to destroy them. The controls were intuitive. The levels (I assume proecedural generated) were really fun to play.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Wow, that's really quite complex with the eating screen, the shop, the dungeon and the fighting screen! And you even had the time for that cute graphics. Impressive stuff!

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Vegetarian propaganda! My bloodthristy monster can't possibly live on apples and the blood of his enemies alone! :D Nice game.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:29am

I like how many different elements are packed in there, even if each is fairly simple. Like, there is a shop, feeding your pet, exploring a generated dungeon, even the combat enters it's own little thing.

glitchu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:28am

When I evolved my pixel pet into a red gyarados I was ready and armed to battle against groudon. Then I fed my gyarados like a king and came back to pound groudon again so I could give him a feast he deserves and love. The game reminded me of monster rancher.

Great work, this was a really fun game even without the sound. The sprites were really well done and it made grinding fun :D

Geti says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:36am

Cute. Pretty easy to finish but satisfying enough. Would have loved slightly smarter movement code :)

mrnannings says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:02am

Cute and fun. This is a nice little game. Graphics are every nice. Add keyboard support and it wil be even better

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:05pm

I want this game on my phone, I love it!

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Hi @uheartbeast, this is a great piece. Is a good mix between Diablo 1 and Pokemon, and it feel like a full rpg game. I completed the game, even the final monster. I love the pixel art and the colors. I missed music, and more difficult at the end of the game. I would be great if you try my game and you give me your opinion.

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:35am

Love it :)

Garr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Love this. It was a great game. It makes me want to make my own for the next Jam/Compo. Thanks for doing this. I've enjoyed looking over the source. You should totally turn this game into one of your tutorials/classes. I would pay to see how this was made from scratch.

LostViking says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:16pm

I had fun playing it and the art style was really good. If it had a little more depth in the combat and items system then it would have been my favorite game this Ludum dare.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:33am

Something tells me you've been playing alot of stardew valley and feeding your still living tamagotchi from 4th grade up to LD35.

All jokes aside this is pretty damn good and very intuitive. I'm wondering how many different forms the pet can take? I played thru twice so I'm just curious.

legavroche says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:08am

Your pixel art is amazing. Really enjoyed the game. And just wanted to say thank you for all the great tutorials you've provided

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:06pm

The combat mechanic in this game is really clever and really fun. Pixel art vibes awesome with the modd of the game, and the rpg element makes it pretty addictive.

Heartbeast, my team are all huge fans of your work and your tutorials. We got started in Game Maker Studio using your RPG Tutorial, and have not looked back! Thanks for all your work :) P.S. Can't wait for

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:09pm

^^ Grain War

bytegrove says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Nice work on all the different gameplay parts! Cool you managed to get the battles in there!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Nice game! Concept and graphics are really cool! I just wished I could tell the difference between foods xp and took some time to understand all the mechanics (like I figured out I could dodge waay later in the game) Anyways congrats on your entry!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:22pm

The art is absolutely amazing, along with the effects. The gameplay feels nice as well, very well done!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:01am

5 STARS FOR FUN!!!! Excellent job! I have not tried this on my phone yet but i'm thinking that it will work since you have the mouse only controls!!! Feeding my pixel pet simply ROCKS!!! but I get to go fight with it too!!! Bonus!! Good job

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:07am

It turns out you can play the game on your phone and without any downloading!! I waited until like level seven to go to the boss and get never touched me!! It was awesome!!! Fantastic game!!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Fun gameplay! I liked the battle system, must have been really difficult to put together in 48 hours. Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:29am

i loved this game - i want to keep playing it - awesome job

Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:19am

One of my favorite entries so far. It looks like a huge amount of work which is truely impressive for a 2 days solo work. The pixel art is eye-candy and I especially loved the adorable creatures. The game is also lot of fun, the battle system works well and everything is well put together. Love your past entries too, you are a skilled jammer.

ExSpecter says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Its a nice and complex game!

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Wow really nice entry.It had that digimon feel to i really liked it.Nice

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:46pm

For the love of God I'M IN LOVE WITH THIS GAME!
I'm suspect to talk about it, pixel art is my life (and definitely you've done a great art work here with the Pico 8 palette), and I love this tamagotchi like games + RPG with all my heart!
You're definitely on my top five! I didn't know how come I didn't thought about that for my entry, but you did it perfectly! Well done again!

paragonpawns says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:27am

Awesome entry, uheartbeast! Feeding the monster to see how it'll change and agonizing over how many battles to take on before escaping is good fun. Mouse controls for dungeon crawling actually works pretty well, too. It's nice to just aim and go rather than click around!

Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Very cute game, awesome entry! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/1j0YT8wm6Kc

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Oh nice, I didn't think about tamagotchis for a theme! This is pretty cool!
Awesome work, love the art.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:12pm

nice graphisms

csanyk says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:06am

You are REALLY strong with the pixel art, heartbeast! I have been a fan of your tutorial videos for a long time, and your art here is very good, especially for ultra low res pixels, which is probably my favorite style.

This game plays very well for such a simple mechanic, and with some pleasant chiptune music and sound effects, could be really special. Very well done overall, but feels a bit incomplete due to the complete lack of audio.

CaptainPilot says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Neat little game but why *all* the clicking. Would have preferred something a little gentler on the mouse.

Omiya Games says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:18am

Wow, the grinding wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. Would have liked to purchase multiple times while visiting the shop. Did like the fact that the game is controlled entirely through mouse.

Honestly, the game didn't pose much of a challenge. That combined with the simplistic gameplay left a short and kind-of-OK experience. Would have liked to see some more customization options or higher difficulty than what I experienced.

Brightstar says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:24am

Reminds me of Digimon. Cool.

uheartbeast says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Hey Captain Pilot, you can actually hold down the mouse button for movement.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:26am

This game is adorable! I loved the little monster that I was raising. The art was so charming. I loved the concept and would even like to see it expanded upon more! Great work. :)

bentglasstube says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:44pm

Great artwork but the game gets boring pretty quickly. Would be interesting if you spent some more time expanding the combat and food I'm sure.

GGam says ...
May 27, 2016 @ 11:09am

Cool) Thanks for idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]