Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Attached

by roban101 - Compo Entry

Follow Ping and Pongs journey to free themselves from each other. Their small adventure leads them vandering through dangerous forests, can they get to the end ?

Controlls:
A/D - Move Left and/or Right
Space - Jump
Q - Switch
E - Ground Pound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#16Graphics4.46
#237Mood3.27
#243Humor2.84
#352Overall3.34
#394Theme3.47
#435Fun3.18
#651Innovation2.82

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:59am

Very good art style. Seriously. A hell of a work to be done in 48 hours and a very good taste to make it all flow together. As a advice, i will make more accesible the double jump platforms, they are very close

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Graphics were really good for a 48 hour game! It was a bit hard to control though, had way too much acceleration. But that's just my opinion, I've had fun anyways :)

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Nicely done~

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Amazing graphics, really get the concept and the levels are fun :)

Marcellus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Awesome graphics, game is very laggy and made my graphic card overheat. It's not your fault but it feels weird for a 2d game

qikcik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Nice :D

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Looks gorgeous. Liked the characters, the spinning globe, everything. Missed sound though.

Zodalia says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:37pm

It looks stunning, given the time taken.

Gameplay-wise, I initially found the movement clunky, but grew to like it, as it requires precision to get onto platforms, etc.

I'm not as sold on the combat, as there didn't seem to be much threat and it didn't feel 'fun' to me.

Although it would discard the theme, I feel that the jumping section by itself would make a better game.

CasualCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Really good art, and I really like the "tiny planet" feel.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:19pm

The controls could be better, it's very hard to move, since there is some kind of force changing the way the character mover. But cute game, very good art.

egos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:20pm

wrell realized and nice graphics
the double jump on the tuto is hard to succes

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Very pretty and cute too, nice job!

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Cool graphics, seems a bit lagy at times in the web build

Gamescalation says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:11pm

I really love that art style! Also, Ping and Pong are exceptionally cute!
Only thing is that the controls feel a little unforgiving and too harsh - especially the double jump, which could be a bit higher (or maybe the gravity pull is just too high ;))

Overall - very good for 48 hours of development!

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Nice game. My only complaints were with the controls, they felt too responsive, causing unwanted acceleration. I did like the art style and the rotation that you put in with the spherical ground, awesome work.

Archimagus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Was quite fun, though the controls were a little loose. Love the art though.

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Really well done. the art was outstanding!

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:06am

I enjoyed what I played. The controls could have been a bit less clunky and more consistant(sometimes I fealt really slow, sometimes I felt really fast). Also for some reason pressing Q on my keyboard did nothing :/ I tried rebooting but it didn't seem to fix it. The graphics were really well made and overall I had fun with what I played so a job well done!

Lewwwer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19pm

The visuals are awesome. Yeah the controls are not the best in my opinion, it is really hard to do precise jumps. Maybe lowering the gravitational acceleration solves to problem.

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Amazing art, controls are quite clunky though.

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:43pm

I like the graphics, awesome job! Found it a little hard to control juggling Q, A, D and E at the same time.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Wow, not thats some awesome graphics; very cleverly done to make minimal assets look their very best.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:43pm

ganme mechanics and visuals are good, it just miss a little music ambiance. Good game anyway

FiSilva says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:25am

Beautiful art and I like the round world. Also I like that the levels are challenging but not too difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]