Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Stay Frosty

by taviandir - Jam Entry

Stay Frosty
-----------
Created with COMPO RULES, i.e. all code, assets, audio etc were created by us during the span of the Game Jam.

HOW TO PLAY:
WASD to move, SPACE to jump.
Press S while in the air to do a bash attack downwards.

ABOUT:
You play as a water-based shape that can turn into ice and bash enemies and weak ground from above.
Game comes with a brief (and unfinished) tutorial, and a Time Trial main mode. The game is a kind of a arcade-ish time-based platformer.

CONCEPT:
Our idea suffered many losses and ended up being a mere fraction of what it was initially supposed to be.

Created by Taviandir and AndreDotJ.

I hope you enjoy it!

UPDATE 2016-04-23:
A bit late, but we updated the game due to some gameplay bugs - invulnerability working against ground spikes and a bug that didn't end the game when the time ran out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#338Fun(Jam)3.36
#396Audio(Jam)3.15
#448Overall(Jam)3.33
#457Graphics(Jam)3.48
#864Innovation(Jam)2.64
#908Theme(Jam)2.76

Comments

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:50am

Nice concept!

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:02am

Hi there! I like it. I love that the world stays the same after dying. I sacrificed myself sometimes just to get revenge on that enemy that brought me down the last try haha.

It was a bit hard for me (I died alot heh). Maybe in a game this fast paced a shorter death animation would be nice? To get right back in the action again.

kutan74 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:43am

Hard to learn the 's' key mechanic but love the gameplay.

Ildfuglen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:44am

Really really smooth controls, great sprite animations and nice dunking audio, this game is a lot of fun! Thanks for a great entry :)

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:47am

I like the feel of the butt stomp move, that was cool. fun little platformer.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:47am

This is pretty good. Too bad you couldn't make a proper finish. It really feels empty like this. Also I don't think there's any point in getting the coins? The included tutorial was nice.

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:50am

Great concept!
Nice and smooth controls.
I learned the double jump after some deaths.
Solid entry, good job!

Mieeh says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Cool conecpt! Good level design! A little more could've been done when you actually win. Great game!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Nice and smooth controls. It was a little bit too hard for me. A solid entry. Well done ++

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Really smooth controls, love the player animations. Nice entry!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Very challenging.

Reiv says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Smooth controls! I like the concept. Nice game

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Very nice! Managed to finish the time trial with 1 second left. I liked that there were different kinds of monsters and the movement felt good. Graphics and audio also very good. Only criticism would be that the theme connection was quite weak. Nonetheless, great entry!

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Kinda fun. Really hard though!

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:58pm

nice game, not to hard. smooth control and nice graphics.
try our game :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

Ironhead says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Well Done! Good smooth controls, mechanic and level design. I ran into a glitch. I died right when the timer was at 0:01 or 0:00, and the counter went to -1:59. and didnt change until i got a extra time powerup which changed it to 0:01 and it still didnt count down. Got another extra time powerup that changed it to 0:50 but still no countdown. Overall, great job.

theck says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:36pm

The gameplay is solid, but the Theme implementation is not very good.

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:54am

Smooth controls! It's been a while since I saw a butt stomp in a platformer (Jazz Jackrabbit 2 I think). Fun entry! :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:42am

The game is beautiful, but it's much too difficult.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Good implementation of a platformer. I also encountered no direct movement / collision bugs which is a rare thing. Well done.

runvs says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Very nice entry. The controls feel very intuitive and the graphics and sounds are nice. perfectly done! :)

geekguy100 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Nice levels, sprites, and animations. This game looks promising for the future. I could see this becoming a cool platformer!

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Nice little Game:)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]