Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

BattleMath

by tmpxyz - Jam Entry

You're asked to make some elementary math formula, the twist here is:

The numbers are resisting you with all forces.


Control: (Controller recommended)

1. Keyboard/Mouse:
Move: WSAD;
RotateCam: Mouse
Attack: LMB
Switch Symbol: Q
Evade: Left Alt

2. Controller
Move: Left stick
Cam: Right stick
Attack: A
Evade: B
Switch Symbol: X

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#51Innovation(Jam)4.00
#77Humor(Jam)3.74
#108Audio(Jam)3.78
#113Fun(Jam)3.72
#139Overall(Jam)3.74
#196Mood(Jam)3.61
#226Theme(Jam)3.74
#356Graphics(Jam)3.67

Comments

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Really enjoyed playing this, nice concept and well executed.

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:16pm

This is silly! I love it.

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Solid game. I really like what you did with the theme, and the graphics and audio were great.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:53am

Great game overall, I like how detailed the levels are.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:28am

The idea is very original and creative. I love math and this game was just perfect. Also, the music was great!

FerraWare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:39am

Reaaaaaaaally nice use of the theme, great levels and art style and well, everything :P

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:36am

Great idea! combat could be a bit cleaner but it works

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:41am

This is all round really good work

shohs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:47am

I really liked this. The gameplay was good, the music was excellent (it reminded me of Crash Bandicoot a little), and the idea was good.

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:49am

I would like to learn math from this game))

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:14am

Great concept! Those shields were quite frustrating, but I couldn't stop playing until i beat it.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:24am

Very well done! Fun, with good controls, a nice clean look and very good music. Educational, too :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Great Job! This was super interesting and unique. Playing was very smooth as well. I always love making math fun.

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Really creative game mechanic and it was a lot of fun to play.

humble_ray says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Very good idea, I love this concept!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:07am

Marverlous Concept and gameplay, i love it!

marmpa says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:12am

Nice concept.I thing it is very original.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:14am

We had much fun playing it in the office :)
Good job!

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:51pm

I love the idea, and the concept. The mood is very good too. Reminds me old classics plataforms of psx :))

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:28pm

A really great game. Well done.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Really great! love this implementation of the theme, educational! The music and sfx were great too. Well done!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Interesting concept, it could be a nice start for an educational game. This has potential to be expanded.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:20am

Great concept, well executed! It did crash on me but I'm not letting that effect my score.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:56am

There's a saying in Spanish about learning lessons with blood ("la letra con sangre entra"). Well, you've just applied that to Maths. Great entry! :D

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:48am

lol battle math!!! that is too cool! My mom is a school teacher (i think she could use this game) but... i did feel bad about whacking the villagers. hahahaha... excellent job

Knowledge says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:32am

Quite innovative game! But really annoying (and not in a good sense) because of too strong bounce force and too big collision area.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:05am

This was outstanding. Very creative and fun! Loved the music.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:40am

Saw this game around reddit, gotta hand it to ya', this one takes the cake for innovation your crazy fool! :)

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:44am

nerdingly fun! nice concept.. and great take on paper low poly artstyle :)

Rock Eaters says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Cool game , but the gameplay make it a bit borring.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]