Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Slime Quest

by QuexD - Compo Entry

You are a knight who just located an evil wizard. But when you confront him he turns you into a slime and now you must travel though his tower though the teleportation cauldrons he has scatted throughout to regain your original form.

(There is no ending, sorry)


-Controls:-
Left/Right - A/D
Jump - W
Action - S
Dash - Space
Restart - R

CHANGENOTES:
4/17 11:40 PM
Fixed upper bounds glitch
4/18 10:18 PM
Had to remove the level "The Long Haul" For being a poorly designed buggy impossible mess.
4/20 2:52 PM
Fixed the pipes being solid (I do not know how to use or statements apparently)

-----Post Compo-----
Changes:
More Levels
Climbing is not a broken mess
"Custom" climbing controls (see pause menu)

Controls (Post Compo):
Move - A/D
Jump - W
Restart - R
Interact - S
Climb - A/D or W/S (see pause menu)
Pause - Esc
Close - F4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#28Fun4.03
#54Overall3.93
#109Mood3.61
#159Theme3.83
#162Audio3.38
#164Humor3.08
#196Graphics3.63
#205Innovation3.57

Comments

nickavv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:29am

This is a cute little game, I really dig it. My biggest complaint is that the first level can be beaten by just jumping over the barrier, so I missed the mechanic of moving boxes. Then I was unable to figure out the third(?) level, "Climb". I restarted the game feeling like I had missed something, and I had, and after that it was all good. Great use of different mechanics for the shapeshifting theme, they were all straightforward and not overwhelming to remember.

Syldarion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:32am

You don't respawn if you fall off platforms or anything.

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:40am

Sorry about that I uploaded an outdated version. I named them all the same thing it gets confusing.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:40am

Nice little game, was pretty fun.

darksshades says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:01am

Very complete.

ougrouk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:07am

Very nice little game and fun. Good job on your entry

caelanrp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:14am

I liked this a lot. Moving the boxes was cute. The controls led to a lot of frustration later on, though. You die if you jump out of the top of the level, and this happened multiple times accidentally. Overall, a nice little game with inventive mechanics.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:17am

Bit of a stretch for the theme but I liked it quite a bit. I kept jumping into the ceiling and killing myself on a few of the levels.

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:28am

Really digging it. Nice work!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:33am

I really enjoyed this. A very cool platformer; I could definitely see this being expanded! Love the artwork on the slime. Controls and physics are a bit rough, especially when it comes to jumping and dashing off walls, but great work!

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Love it.
Lot's of mechanics, and some really nice pixel art made it very fun for me :3

Personaly i would've preffer a bigger camera, most of all, because of the rough physics. Still <3

batmanasb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Sadly this is one of those games that I can't play on linux because it doesn't work in WINE :( But from the stream it looked awesome!

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:06pm

I somehow managed to push the box through the floor in one of the levels, but generally physics are like that... Great game, thanks!

Syldarion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:05am

Hey, I just wanted to let you know that, on The Long Haul, you can break stuff by moving the box on top of the little speed tunnel and then trying to go through it

Quique says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:23pm

witty game ;)
nice

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:37am

You've got a great set of mechanics here, and I liked exploring the big levels. The camera being so zoomed is used to interesting effect in some areas, but other times it feels like being able to see more of the level would help avoid cheap deaths and also give a better sense of scale. A variable jump height could help platforming feel tighter. Nice work! I enjoyed playing this!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Very cute looking! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/KyB-5ZqWXwk

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:01am

Fun game, and good graphics.
My nitpicks:
You have to be exactly over the box in order to surround it which is quite annoying. Also, having to hold S while surrounding it was annoying too.

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:04am

I love the graphics and how the slime interacts with the environment. Great use of the theme :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Really fun

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Great artwork and mechanics! Really enjoyed the game! Only thing is that I didn't understand the first level at first xp Maybe sign in the button? Or maybe I'm just stupid xp

Anyways, great entry!

avinashd says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:22pm

A very simple and polished set of mechanics that work well! A bit on the short side, but polish > length in my opinion :)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:54am

That was a fun game!!!! The controls were super easy and it took me no time at all to figure out what to do! Excellent job guys!! (I found this game by watching one of the streams)

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:08am

Fun cute and short game. Really enjoyed the music as well. Only issue I have is I keep trying to press space to jump and I rocket off the map haha.

Brightstar says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:32am

Very cool game. I like the brevity of the little story scene at the start.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:38am

Had quite a lot of fun with this puzzle platformer. Dash in particular was really satisfying, and the levels were well-balanced. I would have liked the up arrow key to be the "climb-up-wall" controls, as the "move right to climb up" isn't nearly as intuitive. Checkpoint system would have been nice, too.

Overall, great job! Had a blast. A slimey blast.

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Nice! Quite fun.

curtamyth says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:41am

This is fantastic! The climbing controls took some getting used to but otherwise I loved this game from the music, the sound, the graphics, and the challenging yet fun gameplay. Would have played more if there was more to play which is a good indication you've made a good game! 5/5

runvs says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:08pm

This one is really good. I like the super cute animations and the nice soundtrack, as well as the story. very well executed, nothing more to say ;)

Xanjos says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Managed to finish all the levels. The slime abilities were well designed and I liked the music a lot.

Kuupu says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Climb... whyyyyyyyyyyy the A and D?
oauhahaouha

I saw the update, just wanted to be fair :)

Well, the game is awesome, really, good concept and gameplay, the controls gave me a hard time but overall it was fun! :)

oh, the music is so annoiyng! D:

If you work hard on the graphics and level design I think you'll have a prety solid game here! :)

dcRfj15 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Very fun. The levels for this game were very well made and the music was great. I loved the animations and the gameplay overall!
It was a little hard to tell which direction the player would rocket in, it would be nice if there was a visual indication of which direction the player is facing.
Well done!

t4u says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:07am

I feel like I hacked most of the levels - using game flaws in mechanic/design to solve levels using simpler approach than intended by creator.

Graphic could use some work. On the other hand I really liked the animation.

Controls are ok, no major bugs found.

My biggest complain is color pallete - too much intensity.

Overall: I enjoyed it. Amazed by number of levels.

May 2, 2016 @ 2:23am

Really love how cute this game is.And how crazy the game gets when you use all of the mechanics.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:28am

Super fun! OMG those platforming puzzles were fun and challenging yet not frustrating. The aesthetic and slime animations were really cute too. This was a very satisfying experience! Thank you so much!

PinkIndian says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Fun game! The graphics were great for a compo entry, but the music was even more amazing. I'd say you have talent.

Ironhead says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:33pm

awesome and well done. good mechanics and theme implementation. Cool art too! Great job!

pixelpotions says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Cute entry!
Totally enjoyable, mainly because the pixelart and sfx and the cool mechanic fits perfectly. Good job.

themadknights says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Good one! I really like the shift mechanics to solve the levels :)

themadknights says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Solid entry, the level design is the best part of the game, great work.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:28pm

I thought this was a great entry! The idea was solid, and each of the abilities had multiple implications. I came across a couple of technical issues (getting stuck in a box and not being able to get out, etc.) and the controls could be tightened up a little, but overall it was very good! I especially really liked the last level. That was a lot of fun. Nice work!! :)

May 9, 2016 @ 9:47pm

I love it.
The only complaints I have are the repetitive tiles and the length. Everything else is incredible. I love the music and some little details in the level design like forcing use of the chicken to escape from the hole you found it in are things I don't see much in Ludum Dare games. Great work.

Downloading the Post-Compo!

May 9, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Ignore that comment I commented on the wrong game.

I'll rate this one next.

May 9, 2016 @ 9:59pm

I love it. Only one thing kept it from being fives across the board: the climbing controls.

I keep trying to use up to climb up. If up did not drop down when climbing, the game would be pretty much as good as a Compo game can be.

Great work, and downloading the post-compo.

gurkenlabs says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:04pm

Adorable :) Clever puzzles made this very enjoyable.

brgarnet17 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:08pm

My favorite game of the competition so far! Awesome!!

haveric says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:22pm

This is a fantastic start to a game. Reminds me a lot of Super Meat Boy and Guacamelee. The slime animations were amazing and it left me wishing the rest of the game looked as good.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]