Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Escape

by rjhelms - Jam Entry

Presenting my fifth Ludum Dare entry - Robot Escape!

Robot Escape is a roguelike-like where you play a self-aware robot seeking to escape from the laboratory.

Being a robot, many of your parts are interchangeable. Different challenges you face will need different abilities - can you find all the parts you'll need on your way to freedom?

This game was made for the Jam in about 58 hours.

UPDATE: 4/21/2016
---------------------

Linux and Mac builds now available! These aren't as well tested as the Windows build, so please let me know if there's any issues running them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#195Audio(Jam)3.56
#236Fun(Jam)3.48
#239Mood(Jam)3.53
#249Overall(Jam)3.57
#438Humor(Jam)2.64
#517Innovation(Jam)3.09
#544Theme(Jam)3.35
#696Graphics(Jam)3.07

Comments

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:49pm

That was so much fun! I played it all the way through. Great game. 5/5

testzero says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:43pm

I feel like the controls could be more streamlined. maybe WASD to move and the arrow keys to change the direction you're facing. I don't like that the movement is reoriented every time you turn around, but I understand why you did it.

Balance could be better and the graphics are fairly minimal, but with some more polish this could be a great little game.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Marjie62: thanks so much!

testzero: I agree that controls are a weak spo here. I had better/configurable controls on my todo list, but, naw, didn't get there in time. I was torn about having the controls reoriented, but during dev I tried it both ways and this one felt better to me - though one thing I'm learning in from doing Ludum Dare is that what feels good to me is often confusing to other people!

Idorrac says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Very interesting idea for the game! I like the possibility of configuring the robot as you like. :) I find the controls a bit confusing since the robot moves in the direction it is facing, and it is not always very clear what its facing is.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:49am

The only major thing i'd say is maybe consider a color for areas not seen separate from the empty room. Makes area traversal kinda awkward.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:52am

controls were a tad weird but other than that, good game!! =)

play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

IHateATMFees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:55am

I really enjoyed this! Gamepad input would have been welcome.

Odyssey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:18am

Interesting concept for a game

Brice says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:21am

I loved the music. The turning left and right at the beginning was brutal, it felt really complicated. Gotta be a better control scheme. Got better once I got the omni view though.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:36am

This was an interesting idea, but I couldn't really use the controls effectively (that's probably just me though). Modding the robot was cool, and I really liked the whole game's aesthetic.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:37am

The controls made sense for the robot as they are the tank-oriented configuration. A GPS upgrade would be neat, so the robot becomes aware of cardinal (d-pad) directions, so that pressing left (for example) faces the robot west first, before a second press moves west.

The only thing I would change is when hitting TAB/. to configure, place the Tools near the top, those are the items you switch the most often. Or a button to rotate tools.

I like the varied upgrades for sight, terrain, actions. The levels are not too maze-like which is nice. A solid game and a good entry!

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:39am

The controls were a bit hard to use, but I really like the idea and the game was fun. Great job!

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:17am

I love rogue-lites so I dig this. The fact you managed to also effortlessly combine it wit the theme was also great. Art is simple and effective, and music/sfx was very suitable.

Overall a very well-rounded entry.

Good luck!

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:09am

Interesting idea!

derr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:21am

This is an amazing little game! I had a lot of fun reaching the exit and playing around with the best mods for the situations.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Thumbs up. Well done. Good entry with unusual aesthetic ++

caelanrp says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:25am

Honestly one of my favorite entries. I love super esoteric games with weird controls during Ludum Dare. I liked the whole visual sensor mechanic as well. Super great job.

aegypticus says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:12pm

I really liked the retro feel of the game, and the line of sight mechanics were really quite awesome! The music was really great too. Great job.

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:52am

Lots of fun, I would have liked to see a little animation. Good base game.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:55am

This was fun. The movement being relative to the direction you were facing really messed me up though. It also seemed pretty easy. I don't even know if any of the enemies were fighting back before I lasered them to death

jcsirron says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:55pm

I had a great time playing this game. I agree that the controls were somewhat unintuitive at first, but after a level or so I got the hang of it. I spent quite a bit of time playing it, too! Good work!

guoboism says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:58am

Nice entry! Good to see a roque-like! But the control could be improved...

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Controls should really be relative to the player.

Tsevion says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:01am

Solid game. Really impressive for one weekend. The controls definitely could've used some tweaking, directional changing was confusing, and the tools could've been context sensitive, constantly switching them didn't really add to gameplay, as there was always a clear right choice.

Charming old-school graphics though, and an appropriate soundtrack, and a decent feeling power curve. It's a fine little game.

May 5, 2016 @ 3:40am

Really awesome throwback style game. I could really see myself having played this for hours as a kid on the old monochrome Toshiba satellite. The perfect blend of hard as hell, and forgiving.

May 7, 2016 @ 9:14pm

This was surprisingly fun, and I loved the music!

Jungle says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Very good game. Fits theme very well. Funny gameplay. Controls are bit difficult to use. Very nice entry!! Congratulations

May 8, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Really nice use of the theme! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/IgqbHpL7wxo

cabezotta says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Very good game! Great work! :D

curtamyth says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:00pm

I really liked this game, played it all the way through and would have played more. The simple graphics and audio worked well with this game and the gameplay itself had just the right level of depth and challenge to it. Well done!

May 9, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Amazing! So much nostalgia when I play this... Reminds me of some of the earliest pc games I played, haven't seen controls like this in ages.
It surprisingly long! I just got the off-road chassis. I have it minimized and I'll try to finish it after I do some more last-minute ratings.
Very enjoyable and fun to explore with the different line of sights. And actually takes some memory to remember the map. The customization was only frustrating for the first 2 minutes, and became easy after getting used to it.
Very glad I got to play it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]