Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tesselate

by kitcar2000 - Compo Entry

‚ÄčThe aim of the game on each level is to shift the shapes around the grid to fill the shaded area. The controls are just drag-and-drop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#264Fun3.41
#313Overall3.38
#520Theme3.28
#548Innovation2.97
#714Graphics2.54

Comments

CrazY says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:33am

Wow this was surprisingly fun !

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:33am

Nice! ;)

BoltKey says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 12:53pm

It was fun. I like how in the last level, it was not just about finding a pattern of the pieces, but you also had to carefully move all the other pieces around just so you can put that one piece to place. I would love to see more levels like that. I think the theme is not very well implemented (yet). Also, there is not too much innovation in this.

If you are going to further work on it, make the target area clearer.

TeamKuru says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:17pm

This one was pretty fun:

plko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Screenshot spoiler LOL

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Very cool puzzle -- it would help to make the gray squares darker so they pop more from the background. Nice work!

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Nice idea! I would like to see the future of this game :)

Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Very fun and very hard puzzle game. I like it! :D

kleinzach says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:40pm

I quite enjoyed that. I like how the simple mechanic built up in interesting ways, like how disjoint pieces can exist and how you have to work with all of the space in the last puzzle. well done!

Madsj says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Nice game, Nice confetti!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Good take on the theme, fun game.

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Neat little puzzle game with some nice icing on the cake with that fanfare at the end!

Mr.Chippy says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:30pm

It was fun. :) My main complaint is the screen gets a bit cluttered on some level and it makes it hard to see.

Hempuli says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:56am

Despite the simplicity of the idea, the game was really tough! The darkened squares were a bit too hard to differentiate from the normal ones on my screen but the game was fun to play. Good work!

May 7, 2016 @ 12:02pm

my favorite puzzle game this ludum dare, I agree with the other poster make the dark grey squares need to stand out more.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]