Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Maze Runner

by varuns - Jam Entry

It's a one-level-game involving first-person controls, a shapeshifting maze, and (not yet) shattered glasses.

FIND THE KEY, USE THE EXIT, AND LET THE GAME QUIT ITSELF AS AN INDICATION OF YOUR VICTORY.

Controls - W,A,S,D + Shift AND R to restart, the maze will trap you, you'll have to restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#406Theme(Jam)3.52
#544Fun(Jam)3.12
#555Innovation(Jam)3.04
#590Mood(Jam)3.04
#641Audio(Jam)2.43
#643Graphics(Jam)3.15
#720Humor(Jam)2.04
#791Overall(Jam)2.98

Comments

varuns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:50pm

If you can't solve this puzzle, your-a-nincompoop.

marshmello says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:49pm

very good game enjoyed it alot must have more levels

ohi12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Am I crazy to think this game has something to do with antichamber? It crashed when I was reaching the exit :P. Really creative about shapeshifting, hope to see where it goes from here!

divegato says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Cool concept

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:10pm

I must be a nincompoop then because it took me forever to find the key :) but the map shifting is a really cool concept. Great job!

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:10pm

I don't really see the theme, but It was nicely animated. Try to hide the mouse cursor

local minimum says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Cool concept, some parts took me a little while to figure out but really nicely done. It would have been nice with the cursor locked and not visible on screen, but that's just a minor detail. Simple and well executed.

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Interesting game, it really screws with your mind :P

varuns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:27pm

This was my first ludum dare. IT'S AWESOME!!!

I'll try to rate back your games ASAP :D

TP2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Reminds me of antichamber, nicely done.

spiffl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:51pm

How come you don't have a rating for humor? I'm not sure if it was supposed to be funny, but I laughed a lot at the end, when I went through the exit and there was glass everywhere! I accidentally broke some by backing away from another wall :p also breaking glass in general is a fun thing to do, and the sound effects were good. I can tell you weren't really able to do much with the game in the short amount of time you had for the jam, but it's a good concept and you should keep working on it! And definitely do the next jam as well :)

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Had some issues with the cursor. Game is fun and tricky, shifting maze is an interesting concept, but needs more feedback.

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Nothing happened when I got to the exit, but the maze changing depending on which way you are going is cool

kik0729 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Really cool
It really reminds me of Antichamber or Portal :)

varuns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:36pm

You must find the key to get past the exit.

Reyn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Well done on your first ludum dare! :) btw, delete the PDB files! They are massive, 125mb+

staircase27 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59am

Nice first level. Like the idea

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:29am

Really neat concept, the camera was a bit hard to control.

donvermo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:53am

Nice game, it reminded me a little of antichamber.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06am

Doesn't run on ubuntu 15.10 :(

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:26am

Nice idea! I would like more levels!

morrilet says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:34am

Hah. When I actually got to the exit I restarted because I thought I was trapped again... The colors mess with 'ya. Nicely done.

kostasvs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:43am

Not bad overall, just wished the maze was more dynamically changing; the pitfalls were only 2 or 3 places here and there, so it doesn't intrigue the player that much. I believe this will be a very nice game if you plan to expand on it.

crucknuk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:51am

Congratulation for your game, it really reminds me Antichamber, and thats mean it's good ^^

The theme of maze shapeshifting is really cool, you really feel like running into a trap.

Obviously need some polishing for menu and mouse, but overall pretty cool game :)

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:02am

Good idea, had a few glitches, but really liked the concept. I enjoyed breaking the glass, alot. Looking forward to see the finished game.

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:24am

Pretty interesting concept. Crashes a lot sadly.

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:00pm

cool little game!

Swynfel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:57pm

That feeling when you break the glass.

Antichamber-like shapeshifting.

Some portions load slightly too late, so you can see visually the change, and it breaks the immersion.
And you can't quit the game manually (I think) so you have to play until the game closes on it's own.
And finally, the cursor is displayed when you play... It's very disturbing.

Did I mention I like the sound of the breaking glass ?

Good luck for your latter projects.

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:15pm

The game looks REALLY, REALLY well, plays really well, feels well, and sounds well. The whole game is really good except that I got frustrated with the controls because they were challenging, but I think that's what you were going for and it worked. Overall good game.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Awesome man! u must develop it further :D make it the next antichamber success!

thephantom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:36pm

i tried the game on linux using wine .. but i think it was missing some stuff. since i couldn't solve it.

but overall nice job.

clementd says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Maze shifting is really interesting and well done in the game. Breaking glass was quit a satisfaction.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:22pm

A nice antichamber inspired game! I like these shapeshifting labyrinths. The game was implemented well and I found it enjoyable.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:10am

A good idea and a great little game. And a very good idea for the theme. Well done.

jofra says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:35am

GOT IT! xd Nice little maze puzzle, really enjoyd it.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:03am

Really fun game! I liked the spin that you put on it. A maze that changes shape on you is an interesting idea. It was satisfying to finally complete it! I'd play more if you continue in the future. Nice job! :)

Louspirit says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:46am

I really liked the graphics and sound. It was quite short to finish, you should continue your game :P

Molpe says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Ah, I wish there were more levels! This was great! It could use some music x)
I've made a short let's play if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRFE5GSMZBI

alyphen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:22am

Pretty simple idea, but nicely executed. Minimal graphics and a smart little maze.
Level progression and audio (other than the simple footstep and smashing sounds) could add a lot to this.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:29am

haha~!fun and everything smooth + neat(love this style so much) ,just process too short,may because I got the key so quickly? haha but the unique position you set was really good*(Converse thinking i mean)
these glasses have great viusal feeling also with nice sound effect(this game's sound effect good enough,every mix fitful and wonderful,also fit the totally well) and i must to say the feeling is soo good when i broken these glasses!(i have just think it could not be acheive,because read the doucement in this page before > < )
all in all,very potential game, and hope it could be more long.(oh by the way, Speaking of this reminds me of that only the angles/radian of each road(part) let me feel may a little bit Large.(but that is may what you want,and this is positively to let player lost in the maze,so i also like it as it is.)
well done, cheers!~

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]