Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Muoto the Geometry Wizard

by Windmill Games - Jam Entry

You play as Muoto, a powerfuly wizard in short stature, who has made his way to a dungeon with no turning back. You're left to fend off creatures from the deepest geometrical nightmares while trying to make your way to the source of this new evil

Use a matching shape spell to attack respective enemy shapes to deal damage, if you shoot a non matching shape it will instead heal the foe.Example: square on square deals damage, while circle on triangle heals the enemy.


Controls:
*Menu*
FULLSCREEN - F
Arrow keys - navigate
Space - select


*Game*
Arrow keys - Move
Hold Spacebar to lock direction
1, 2, 3 - Cast different types of spells
[1] = Circle
[2] = Square
[3] = Triangle


Made by:
Simon Rahnasto - Programmer - @windmillGames(Twitter) - www.Windmill-Games.net
David Rahnasto - Graphics - @windmillGames(Twitter) - www.Windmill-Games.net
Emil Odelius - Programmer
Milan Kovarbašić - Sound design - milan.kovarbasic@gmail.com - @Naxalit (Twitter) - https://www.linkedin.com/in/milankovarbasic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Overall(Jam)4.31
#16Fun(Jam)4.14
#86Graphics(Jam)4.30
#123Mood(Jam)3.76
#133Audio(Jam)3.72
#186Theme(Jam)3.80
#339Humor(Jam)2.84
#392Innovation(Jam)3.24
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Pibeex says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23pm

I LÖVE this game! Cool art and gameplay!

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Pretty amazing, I have no idea how someone could manage to make this in 3 days, I didn't come close

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:07pm

That game is amazing. Great work. It was really smart creat a lock function. Also the spell animation and the music is nice. Really good work, congratulation.

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:15pm

This game is amazing, if it was made in 3 days, very nice graphics, good gameplay, and amazing music, one of the best games I played so far.

ConorOD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Whoa, that was extremely well made.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Looks very good, interesting mechanic, controls work smoothly, sounds are not irritating. A very good job!

RockNRedPanda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:31pm

This is soo cool! Reminds me of Biding of Isaac but the tone of this game is very well established and the main mechanic is a interesting interpretation f the theme.

Well Done!

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Pretty and fun :)

The game-play is harsh but solid and clever; works by it's own defined rules. Very cool!

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:57am

Very enjoyable game. Nice)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:07am

Beautiful, solid in all aspects and tied to the mechanic, good work. Hard that boss ;)

SengiG says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Love the art, cute combination of Isaac and Crawl, I like it a lot)
You did a nice job on a theme as well, wish you luck!

Cowa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Really nice!

Rey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:00pm

I really enjoyed playing this!

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Awesome game! Injoyed playing it.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Amazing game, nice arte and gameplay!! well done

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:09am

Very good. My one issue is that there is no progression, and no incentive to explore further. The entire game is dependent purely on skill.
Not to say that's necessarily a bad thing, but in a dungeon crawler it's nice to have some reason to explore further.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:15am

This was really well done and polished! The graphics were fantastic, and the use of shaders wasn't overdone! A great twist on binding if issac! Superb!

Idorrac says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:44pm

I really like the pixel art! Also the sounds and the music are quite good and the gameplay is engaging. Very nice job!

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Megalink says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:34pm

This is probably the best game I have played on ludum dare so far, my only complaint is the controls. Good job! :)

May 7, 2016 @ 5:17am

Such smooth controls and gameplay, felt great to play. Liked the way you used the theme. The dungeon layout and exploration kept me playing longer then I expected. Very polished entry.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Wooo ! great game, really nice pixel art , the music is cool too. The shapeshifting of the ennemies is really cool and its a nice dungeon. When you discover that you make a huge rainbow shoot, thats make the all stuuff more easy ^^ great game !

Aaranos says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Game is really well done. My only complaint is I spent 10-15 mins going room after room and gave up trying to find the door for the key. After a while you just get tired of looking.

Rscar says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Lovely art, and thank you for leaving the shapes on screen at all times, I feel like a lot of games have shapes assigned to certain controls but can never seem to remember what the mappings are when things get frantic

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]