Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShapeshiftTris

by acidave - Compo Entry

Shapeshifttris - the classic video game with a twist: instead of rotating tiles you are only allowed to switch between three random shapes.

Level up to unlock different perks to reach the ultimate score.

Controls:

Arrow keys left/right/down to move a tile
Arrow up to shift the shape

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#85Audio3.65
#171Theme3.81
#294Graphics3.43
#300Overall3.40
#321Mood3.12
#357Fun3.29
#527Innovation3.00
#1712Coolness35%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Awesome! A surprisingly fun take on the theme!

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Great spin on tetris and a lot of fun. Good job!

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:26pm

This is way better than I expected, the mechanic makes it significantly different from regular tetris and just when you're starting to feel like you're getting into your tetris groove, you remember you can't rotate things. Definitely makes the challenge different, possibly harder. The only gripe I have is that the perspective occasionally makes lining up the blocks a little bit tricky. The music is a great 48 hour accomplishment all by itself.

cgriff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Brilliant little twist on an existing game - really nicely done. I played this for quite a while!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:28pm

A fun twist on the old classic. I found it really hard to retrain my brain to not attempt to rotate the shapes, but once I got into the swing of things I had a lot of fun.

The only minor criticism is that the perspective often made it a little difficult to line things up early in the game. A grid background might solve this, or do away with the perspective entirely.

All in all an excellent entry. Well done! :)

Zayron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:29pm

I keep trying to turn the blocks haha. Nice job on an old classic. I liked the music too!

makiki99 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:41pm

In my opinion, levels ups like this in tetris based game are a huge mistake. The game should promote skill, not mindless grind. The controls are a bit wonky, it is hard to explain though without making a great wall of text.
The idea, except this horrendous leveling system is perfect. The graphics are clear, and the color palette is good too.

lanestp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:01pm

I really liked this game. At first it seems impossible but it's fairly doable. Music is really nice as well!

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53am

Played longer than I expected, pretty good

OU GDA says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53am

A challenging take on a classic game. Love it.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Hi, nice game ! ... do you like tetris ? XD We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

May 3, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Wow, it was quite hard to retrain my brain. Sometimes even frustrating. ;) I often wished I could see the next set of stones, to be able to plan ahead. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]