Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Verdunfell

by unit684 - Jam Entry

***PLAY IN FULL SCREEN*** - Lives and mana bar get cropped out in embed mode

A young novice druid is sent off into the forest of Verdunfell to stop the hordes of encroaching Goblins chopping down the forest. Using his druid leaf magic and wolf form kill all the goblins and their monstorous machinery.

*************CONTROLS*************
Keyboard & Mouse:
- Movement: WASD
- Shapeshift: 1/2
- Attack: Left Click

Xbox 360 Controller:
- Movement: Left Analog Stick
- Shapeshift: Left/Up on D-Pad
- Attack: A

*************LEVELS*************
Level 1 - Simple goblin enemies
Level 2 - Goblins then mech boss
Boss Fight - Three mech bosses at once

Feel free to play through all the levels or use Level Select to skip to whichever you choose. Make sure you try the mech boss before rating :)

Art by Charlie Conway @Charlie_conway and Programming by Tom Marsland @KingSizeMarsBar. This is our first ever game jam, it's been fun and look forward to the next one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#315Graphics(Jam)3.74
#369Mood(Jam)3.32
#460Overall(Jam)3.32
#509Humor(Jam)2.50
#530Theme(Jam)3.37
#674Fun(Jam)2.96
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:54pm

kinda nice wish i could move faster tho

unit684 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:04am

Thanks! Did you shapeshift into the wolf? It moves twice as fast

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:35am

Beautiful art and the music fits it nicely. It feel a bit slow though, maybe increase movement speed? (at least for wolf)

Daukan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:06pm

I like the animation of the characters. They look really smooth and nice, It could be a great game for mobile. I think the enemies was a bit too easy to kill however.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Great game, I wish there was more contrast in the graphics, colorblind people have a hard time seeing close colors :)

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Haha very funny! The pixel art is beautiful (I wish I could make it, but I'm trapped with the cartoon style haha), the music and animation are really cool. Good luck and keep going!

blob says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Ahhhh why is movement so sluggish ( even as wolf)! That goblin walk cycle is the cutest.

Idorrac says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Beautiful pixel art and music! :) I think the gameplay is a bit bland tough, the game is very easy and there is no real motivation to switch between human and wolf form: with the human it is possible to destroy anything.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42pm

the game is pretty good, though i didnt understand the fireworks when you killed the big shredder guys.

Jordan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Specifically enjoyed the art! Fun game.

xandy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:44pm

the core mechanics with the graphics and sound make for a nice game but the details made me have less fun. the movement is very slow and vertical movement is way too fast. also the ranged aim/4 direction shot is hard and the enemy hit boxes felt very small. the boss fight is quite hard(but fun) but i got knocked back into the trees and got stuck several times.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Great art and music, i enjoy it.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Garris says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:05pm

I really love the graphics of your game! I was wishing the man moved as fast as the wolf, because I was more into his laser beam rather than the wolf's barky power. Good controls, though, and over all, I really liked it! Cool game!

lanestp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Fun concept. The bosses seemed tough then I got the timing of hitting them with my magic shape shifting and running away to recharge. It was actually a lot of fun!

3rdChance says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Graphics are awesome and cool game... There are missing some camera shakes and juice: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy0aCDmgnxg

SpringCabal says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:37pm

I really liked this.

Goods:
The music was a very nice and happy, seemed to fit with the cute animation you gave to the goblins
the druid/vs wolf form was fun. Switch between the 2 had real relevance.
the moment when I saw the goblin mech, my imediate reaction was, oh, my, this just got serious. super neat.

The bad
mana depletion slowed the game down, maybe powerups in future?
the goblin hit boxes were a bit small
not enough levels!

I really enjoyed it! keep up the good work, that was a lot of fun!

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:57am

Will become a great game when you finish it. Try to include more transformations that you can unlock when you level up and some puzzle elements. I think it would fit into the gameplay. Good job!

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Nice little Game:)

Louspirit says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Nice mood and different abilities of the forms. Could be more dynamic though. Nice mech ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]