Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Moonlight

by Phaix - Jam Entry

Moonlight is a game about you captured somewhere. Try to find out what happend as also how you can get out there.

Controls: WASD
Interact: E or Left Mouse Button
Attack: Left Mouse Button
Run: Left Shift

The game was made by Skyane and Phaix.

Graphics: Skyane
Programming: Phaix

Engine: Unity & Visual Studio
GFX: Unity & Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#169Mood(Jam)3.65
#216Theme(Jam)3.76
#227Graphics(Jam)3.92
#269Overall(Jam)3.54
#519Innovation(Jam)3.08
#564Fun(Jam)3.10

Comments

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:15am

Neat game, I like the graphical style and the transformation to the werewolf by standing in the moonlight was interesting. It'd be great if the attacks had a bit more punch to them though. Nice work!

Jungle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:25am

Nice game. Attack animation need more polish. Good concept. Congrats

Gametery says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:22am

Artwork and atmosphere is great. Very well done!

Kifuga says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:50am

Nice one :) Good graphics and I like the idea of transforming in the moonlight.

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:27am

Nice pixelartish 3d graphics. Funny game mechanics. )

kwmx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:46am

Love the game and would love to more of the game. Good luck on it

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:55pm

the atmosphere is great in this little game!
with some music it could have been even more interesting...
i had some issues with the mouse-looking around thing, though i'm not sure if it was my browser's issue, or a scripting bug...

Farelle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:44am

i had a bit trouble understanding when I could attack and why i wasn't doing any damage to those vampires?O.o or it seemed so...did those balls turn me human? and what was this all about?I tried to flee and failed?XD

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Good idea, but the fighting doesb't really work in my opinion, though maybe I am just bad at it. With a bit more work it could be really awesome!

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:17pm

This was a neat project. I enjoyed the suitably dark atmosphere and the sound effects. The graphics were good and I didn't really mind the lack of music because in this case it added to the mood. I do wish the attacks were a bit punchier and more fun to pull off and also lowering the mouse sensitivity would have helped as well as I think it was a touch too easy to turn way more than I wished to.

avinashd says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Really cool concept, hope you'll work on it post-jam. The mouse sensitivity was *really* high, but the game was pretty forgiving.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:48pm

This was a fun game! Once I realized how the moonlight mechanics and the healing system worked, it made much more sense and the game was more fun! Nice job!

Vantaug says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:23am

The art was really cool, so why are the two buttons in the menu just plain white squares?
But seriously the art was so cool, maybe I'll try and use the same concept for the next LD.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:05pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Obvious_San says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Nice game, keep up the good work :)

That red screen, when you get hit badly gets pretty obnoxious though

Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Very nice game! Great visuals, and the gameplay was good. I thought it was a little hard to transform in the moonlight sometimes, and I had to keep adjusting my position until I actually transformed. I don't know if that was intentional or not. I got freaked out the first time I saw an enemy, the enemies were actually a moderately scary experience.

I've also uploaded a video of your game on YouTube!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0B6zKcfygQ4

TheCain says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:31am

Interesting start a game. I wasn't sure if I could even damage any of the enemy's, so I just ran past everyone. I hope you continue the game.

alyphen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:35am

Beautiful atmosphere created in this entry, really neat dodging mechanic. A pretty impressive amount of content for an LD game, too.
Really enjoyed playing this.

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:31am

it's 3D... and it has pixel graphics! nice :D

h2n0 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:39am

Great little game, I loved the 2d art in the 3d world. I wasn't sure if you could kill the vampires so I ended up running past a lot of them.

Alphish says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:21am

The mechanics are rather solid here, but they don't make for a particularly interesting gameplay - I've found the fights to drag on and on (especially with more enemies); I'd rather have a bit higher damage, or at least some indication of how much opponent's health is remaining, to have some feeling of progress.

The touch with standing in the moonlight to transform was nice, and it was good that human and wolf forms had different abilities; though in the end, in combats it was pretty much "be werewolf as much as possible", anyway. Also, maybe the transformation itself could have some indicator, e.g. the screen gradually becoming a bit brighter until it's complete?

The graphics weren't great, but they set the mood alright, especially with those bloody-boney props. The narrative worked well, with the game, too.

Overall, the game is solid, but kinda dull gameplay-wise at the moment. Maybe try to add a bit more variety there? ^^'

sftrabbit says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:39am

Really nice. Took a while to understand the mechanics with the moonlight, but once I did, I started again to do it properly and I think that mechanic is pretty interesting! I think a couple of things would really have helped: better representation of shapeshifting (I didn't really realise when or why I was changing at first); and make it clearer that attacking is doing anything.

Great work!

Prudiiarca says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:41am

This game is awesome! I mean I love this pixel-look and the mood it creates. Some sound effects and creepy music would have made this game perfect though...

RealityCheck says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:24pm

I like the whole werewolf vs. vampire theme you got going here. I couldn't quite understand the game, though. Is it even possible to hurt the vampires? I ran up to them and swung my claws like mad, but did no harm to them. Nor could I find where the silver key went. Either way - good effort.

rburema says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:18pm

'Seeing' the transformation the first time is a nice, especially since you've avoided spoilers to it in the screenshots...

I had to replay the first rooms a couple of times, since I somehow got it in my head that the metal grate door wouldn't open without the golden key. (D'oh.) But otherwise I probably wouldn't have noticed that the enemy models differ from each other, so there's that.

Combat feels a bit repetetive, since all you've got is a melee attack... although it does make for a few tense moments when you're suddenly a very vulnerable human again.

Aaranos says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:26pm

The game looks beautiful, but it is not very responsive gameplay wise. I couldn't tell if my attacks were doing anything.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]