Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeless Escape!

by A333 - Compo Entry

UPD: Post-LD version released. Fixed drop in lvl3, added experimental ability to drag the boxes (press towards box and hold c to stick)

Controls: Left/Right - move, Space/z/up - jump, x - shapeshift (must be touching object to work)

Help the little doppelganger to escape the containment lab with his trusty box friends and jumpy attitude.

Chrome recommended for the best performance.

Notes:
- It's possible to stuck. R key will reset the level.
- 3rd level is known to be rage inducing. It was intended.
- To morph into the box, you must be touching it quite actively. Try moving towards box + x, or jump on top of the box for stable result.
- If you really need to, you can skip to the next level by pressing 1.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#74Theme4.03
#120Graphics3.87
#173Overall3.60
#217Fun3.49
#225Mood3.29
#240Humor2.85
#364Innovation3.26

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:47pm

The web link is incorrect, had to remove the http// in front.

Lovely aesthetics, and a nice use of theme. Good job!

Mieeh says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Fun game, cool idea, good graphics. Maybe you could expand on this copy-transform mechanic. I think this could make a really fun game! Other than that great ludum dare game!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:51pm

That is a really nice one. I like that kind of art, and what better than a slimy undefined object? xD Nice art, nice concept, nice behaviour. I guess that the enemies will atack or something like that? But probably you run out of time, in this case i'll understand you. Good work.

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:53pm

I like the graphics alot.

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:54pm

I liked it, the gameplay is solid, the level design correct, the art great, the controls a little hard to get used to.

jdeuce says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Works pretty nice, fast on web.

The weblink is wrong though as Elemental Zeal pointed out.

I couldn't get past level 3, as you mention :( Might be nice to have a checkpoint system so you don't have to restart the whole level. Or a "pull box" mechanic :P

Still, overall very well done

treegemmer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Love it!

A333 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Weblink is fixed. Thanks Elemental Zeal and jdeuce!

Regarding features and more stuff, yes, as you can see in the initial concept:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/16/gamedesigh/
there were many features planned, like morphing to barrels and enemies, water, fire and electricity traps.. but I was able to stop myself in time =)

lanestp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Nice concept, well executed. The jump controls could use some work but as a package it comes together really well. Great job!

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:22pm

I fucking loved it dude great work !

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Liked it a lot! The puzzles are very well designed and the controls were quite satisfying! Some music would've made it nicer tough ;)

Keep up the good work!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:30pm

So simple and cool. Love it.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:32pm

A wonderful entry to play. The third level made me want to commit genocide but I made it through. I can't wait to play more.

Jungle says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:39pm

I like the idea. Graphs are very great, congrats! 3rd level is really rage inducting. Continue the project!

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Fun game and lovely artwork :)

thunderklaus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Nice Game! I like the GFX.
Controls feel a bit squishy though.
And it can be frustrating - I was about to quit when that box got stuck in the corner at the end of the level 2 the second time. Level 3 I could beat on the first trial - well designed since you can see hints in the beginning how it's meant to be solved and executing that is satisfying. Maybe I was lucky that the boxes didn't fall over. In which case I would have quit since that mistake is not on the player.
Having only 1 morph option feels limited but I guess that's why we see nice GFX.

A333 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:11am

Thank you everyone, it's very nice to know the game came out good.

@thunderklaus:
Hey, thank you. Yes, box pulling mechanic is something that's missing, however it should have been a problem only for the level 3 due to the badly designed 1st hole. On the level 2 you aren't supposed to move any of the boxes to beat the level 0_o

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:57am

Interesting concept and could have been fun but the controls sadly killed it for me. Jumping's too lose, moving too slippery and platforms sides got too much friction on them.

Could all be intended for "difficulty" purposes but just didn't do the trick for me.

Sad, the graphic are cute and everything else was there.

hildegarbage says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:49pm

I won by just pressing "1" three or four times.

blob says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Phew, that got difficult fast. Very cool design mechanic and yay for blobs! Jumps/inertia and crates getting stuck against wall were a bit frustrating but very nice entry overall! I wanted to be able to transform into more things!

WojtaW says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Nice game. I love platformer.

CasualCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Great animation and art! The audio kinda got annoying but it wasn't a problem ^ . ^

The main issue was the lack of variety in what you could shape shift, but I'm sure time had something to do with that because the game looks really well made other wise. Some of the platforming could be fixed like getting stuck on walls and being able to stay on one. But the puzzling was good and you did a good job of pacing and keeping the puzzle innovative! Great game!

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Hey cool, complete game! That last level threw me for a loop a couple of times ^_^ Loved the hiding as a box idea. If you fleshed this out to hide from more things and if you could change into a few different things it could be a full game!

Louspirit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:06pm

The level design is well done so that it oblige you to think. Miss a little music but good job!

medidog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Quality pixel art and great aesthetics! I was stuck at the end of the level where the box with heart drawn on it, because I forgot to drop it. :D

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Ugh that 3rd level indeed ! I liked it anyway :)

magzh says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:04am

I really liked the art and the game felt good overall.

The only issue, I had is the distance required to transform into a box, which was especially a problem in the last level, coz you had to come up to a box and sometimes you could push the box out of transform range before you could transform.

davalcordub says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:13pm

It is a pretty nice game, but the level 3 was hard, so much that I ended closing the game :(

LeReveur says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Cute little puzzle platformer. I like the way the sensors don't detects you, even if you are a *moving* crate ha ha :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]