Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Under and Above

by Xinelu - Jam Entry

In some far far planet a little alien form is ready to begi the adult life! Collect organic matte, fight other forms and survive !!



Mouse: Click and hold with left button to move, Click with right button to shoot

Mouse: Scroll the mouse buton to change form

Press R to restart!

Collect organic matter to grow and survive!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#869Theme(Jam)2.83
#875Mood(Jam)2.61
#956Innovation(Jam)2.47
#967Fun(Jam)2.54
#1017Overall(Jam)2.69

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:05am

Nice, but the fact that you can be killed by your own bullets is a little frustrating. :)

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:05am

The game glitched out on me, and all i could see was the numbers from my scroll wheel. :(

mf1214 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:09am

Nice game! Loved the background tune.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:09am

A bit more polishing would be useful. Nice entry though.

ORECROS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:15am

The different forms are very similar in function. would be cool if they behaved differently. would also be cool if the AI didn't keep disappearing from firing too many shots

murraya2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:15am

Interesting concept. I liked the aesthetic, but some of the sprites could use a little work. Doesn't appear to be much to do in this version, however.

Brice says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:19am

Took me a while to figure out that the number meant bullets + health

Would have loved to see some more gameplay around the different forms

Nice job!

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:22am

Player disappeared.

DieWithDustin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:23am

Love the tunes

talgautb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:23am

nice ;)

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:25am

Is there an end to this? After a few tries I found a 'stay at the borders, dodge, eat' strategy to be very easy ... went over 200 and then lost motivation to continue. ^_^

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:26am

Interesting. Dying is a bit too easy, and I think the game would've benefited from a bit more zoomed out view. Enemies often came as a complete surprise for me :)

torcado says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:31am

neat mechanic, was kinda lost on the goal of the game. and the mechanic were shooting makes you lose 'life' s interesting.
nice job though!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:32am

Fun to play! Cool concept and I like the design of the creatures. I also like the mouse-only controls, it makes moving and shooting very convenient.

Exploring the strengths and weaknesses of each form was fun! I only wish that when you defeat enemies you can eat them for energy or something. Right now they just disappear, along with all the energy you spent attacking them.

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:34am

Really enjoyed grinding up to nearly 100 (bullets? health/bullets?). Didn't take me long to figure out that you could have the advantage of going faster or slower and it's use by shifting.

Hyden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:40am

I really enjoy games like spore/agar.io, so I had a blast with this one. However, when I died the game just kinda stood there.. The player disappeared and that's it, not sure if I have to restart the game itself each time I want to play or if this is a bug.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:42am

i like the tune. it'd be need if there was just a little more polish/effect when you pick up item or something

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:43am

Nice game! I like that you combined shape-changing and evolving! Took me a while to realize that you die if you run out of bullets.

orukinawa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:20am

Interesting that your hp and ammo count are combined. Makes for very strategic decisions

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:59am

Wow this looks awesome. Working and the graphics and the controls a bit. I suggest the player turning not to be so instant but rather smooth. More visibility would also be good and perhaps a few mission objectives. Makes my think of Star Control II with the added shapeshift fun. Keep this going please.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:29am

You got killed by your own bullets.
The Ship Graphics are nice.

Drenghel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:09am

Liked the visuals and music.
Not that innovative ( Oh hi Spore :D) and you die way to quickly :O

Still a bit confused by the "slow tank form" ^^

But still, nice game congratz

Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:26pm

It was fun but I found it pretty frustrating that I could get killed by my own bullets. Good job though.

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:09pm

It's fun, and like others said, reminds me of spore's cell mode. I think with a bit more polish it could be a great game. Really liked the background music, surprised you didn't allow for audio votes!

Solocov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Cool idea but needs more polishing... (Dying by your own bullets is quite frustrating)

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Cool but feels unpolished :) Music was good.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Solid idea, but needs a bit of polish. Reminds me of Spore.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:08pm

hmmm. This is interesting, but I could never really tell a difference between the forms other than speed and firepower. Still, nice entry.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42am

great concept, i found the difficulty spike a bit hard for me but well done none the less. :)

psychonull says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:45am

Nice game, nice music. Pretty adictive also. Well done!

Auroratide says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47am

Cool game! I found the ultimate strategy: use form 2 to speed to foes, then swap to form 3 for an insta-kill ^.^ My favorite part is how the whole game can be played with just the mouse.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:47am

I can always appreciate growing mechanics.

AsixJin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:03am

Reminds me of an updated agar.io

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07am

Nice, but kind of hard to figure a goal and as people said it would benefit a lot with different gameplay between shapes

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:34am

I died so many times just from trying to fire my weapon. It took me a while to even realize what was happening. One of the forms will kill itself VERY quickly this way and so is almost useless. Didn't seem to recover enough energy to really use the weapons from organic matter.

Still, looks nice, sounds nice. Controls are very smooth, movement is smooth, animation is smooth. There's a lot of good stuff in here. Nice work.

Cerberus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:18am

the game was very slow. the controls where difficult to maneauver. i quit did not that much fun and it was hard to destroy or hit the bad guys. good work! keep it up!

Zgragselus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:32am

The music is great, you can be killed by your own bullets aarght!

sharrackor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:19am

Interesting concept, I really liked the graphics and the music is nice and relaxing. Could do with more variety with forms, but a solid entry overall. :)

madmarcel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:53am

Nice little game.

eymrich says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:32am

I like the concept! And the music was nice for the game!
It require polishing, and there are a few glitches, but good idea!

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:07am

Good entry, it was fun, music was nice, cool concept, interesting that bullets/hp was the same resource. Encouraged me to shapeshift!

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:41am

Pretty interesting concept indeed. Agar.io-esque gameplay with shooting. Multiplayer would be awesome on this.

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:45am

in general, I liked it, but the gameplay is outdated, it is necessary to modify.

goost says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:05pm

I especially like that life and bullets are the same ressource, cool!

Fumiko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03pm

You really have to beware that you dont spam bullets or you will starve to death; Liked the soundtrack and character designs

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Combining HP and ammo is a great idea that adds some depth.

meek says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Very cool! Especially like the music

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Interesting.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Nice to see a different type of game

seizeTheDia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Reminds me of the early stage in Spore, but I kept wanting to eat the enemies Agar.io style. Right now there's not enough there to hold my interest. Really liked the music.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:59pm

The game seems interesting.
I find the controls to be a bit hard to use, I think WASD would have been better for movement, and something else to replace the scroll.
And ya, it took me a while to figure out why I was losing (cuz of bullets).

Cheers
- Morco (Banana Hammers team)

aeai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01pm

I killed myself 3 times before i realized i use my health as bullets:) I liked the music:)

Muel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:13am

Nice approach on the theme.

Some explanation on the forms would be nice, but I kinda figured it all playing.

Good job =)

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:55am

I like the concept, and the graphics are ok, but the particle effects junkie in me wished there could be more FX involved in terms of when you ate something or shot at the enemies. Good experience overall though!

avinashd says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:00am

Could definitely use a bit more polish. The shapes didn't have much difference, so I found myself sticking with just one that moved fast. Generally plays well and accomplishes its goals :)

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:17am

Cool music :D

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:25am

Interesting game, took me a while to figure out why I die constantly when I'm shooting... :D I never figured out the reason to change forms however

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:57am

Nice "flow ps3" styled game!

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Nice game, but seems aimless(need main objective). Also not quite clear, how many bullets you need to kill enemy(healthbars would be useful). But overall, it's a good game. Also, after death, you need game over screen or something.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:46pm

A little rough. I think you definitely shouldn't be killed by your own bullets (it happens sometimes). I like the growing mechanic. A good starting point if developed more.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:08pm

After the splash screen, nothing happened in Chrome (both embedded player and external window). It worked in Firefox, though.

It is a fun game! The border of the level is a little hard to see.

PoV says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:14pm

When you see this, contact me. http://ludumdare.com/compo/contact/

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Not sure I get the idea right, but still interesting idea.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Nice game with a good mood going. Might need a bit more feedback on the bullets killing you, it took me some time to understand what's going on.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:41am

The concept is interesting. I liked the music and think the game fun.

Nice job!

CasualCat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:15am

Pretty good visuals, could use a little polish, good music.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:56am

Very agar.io stylish gameplay dunno what happened i collided with something with some form and my player disappeared didnt say restart or anything

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Nice music! The game is a bit confused in the begining, but it's ok.

ConorOD says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Cool music, and I liked the graphical style. Often found it hard to avoid shots from off-screen enemies though.

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Took me some time to understand the mechanics but after that it was fun.

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:37am

I've no idea how come i can be killed with a tiny shape enemy in 1 hit even i've scaled into a giant monster

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Spore meets SHMUP. Cool ambience thanks to the track!

muraisama says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Gotta agree with most of the other comments heh
I had fun playing it for a while :)

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:06am

Interesting game and take on theme. Love to music.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:03pm

It's well made but too difficult for me ^^'

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:23am

Interesting, the ai has no mercy on a poor growing organic.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Couldn't shapeshift for some reason. Just scrolled down on the page... :/
I would suggest that you don't use the mouse to look around AND move, it makes it a little hard to aim and avoid bullets at the same time. Mouse to look and WASD or arrow keys to move would've been better. It was pretty fun nonetheless

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:25am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

joemid says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:25am

I lost my battleship! Love the controls- the scroll was a little too sensitive on a trackpad, but moving and shooting was so smooth!

markusfisch says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Very nice! And good music! The mood's there!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Pretty fun concept. Has a very Agar.io feel to it.

derr says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:50am

I kept wondering what killed me... I think enemies might spawn directly underneath the player or something.

I think the game would feel and play much better if you gave the player a thrust and slow deceleration. :)

Fantasieleben says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Nice, but controls could feel a bit better.

neilcorre2k6 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:32am

Nice game! :D a little improvement in the graphics would be great :D

Aaranos says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Fun, I like how you can't just randomly shoot, you have to conserve.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:21am

Can't really play this due to the trackpad on my laptop's mouse scroll gesture being way too sensitive to control the shapeshifting. It's not at all clear what's going on in game, I seem to just float around, shooting until I run out of ammo, and then the game ends. If I crash into floating object I pick them up, but can't tell what they do. Enemies crash into me and disappear, or shoot at me until I run out of health... but what am I supposed to be doing? What's my goal?

Strike says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:52am

I'm a bit confused by the game mechanics. Not sure if I should actually shoot since it doesn't dot anything good : I lose HP and I cannot eat killed enemies. So it looks like the best I just to randomly roam around and eat stuff. But I see a lot of potential in this entry, the game is already fun and just needs a bit of extra work to be super good.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]