Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShiftyBalls

by AAGH Games - Jam Entry

Sometimes shift happens. In ShiftyBalls, it has to, as shifting to various forms is the only way to survive the game. Change to rock, ice and fire to navigate the levels to the end flag. It's not a long game, but we think it's fun. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#270Humor(Jam)3.05
#346Fun(Jam)3.35
#477Mood(Jam)3.18
#479Overall(Jam)3.30
#544Theme(Jam)3.35
#632Audio(Jam)2.50
#662Innovation(Jam)2.91
#722Graphics(Jam)3.04
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

AnaGF says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Audio is a bit rare. Overall, the game is nice, funny level design. And yeah, lava is too hot :X

WizByte_Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47pm

The game crashed on me saying I got a "Too Many Threads" error.

other than the error. The game ran smooth and it was fun to play.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:58pm

I liked the level design and needing to shift my balls to fit the situation ;)

lanestp says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Hey! That was FUN! Not many 3D platformers this year and I enjoyed the heck out of that one. Great job!

mrStrings says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Hello! I was just starting to play the game and, right after I died for the first time, this error just popped up.
"""
n error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
abort() at jsStackTrace@blob:http://e-aagh.net/a6b2d778-83ec-432a-9a9a-909c3c06f472:1:22823
stackTrace@blob:http://e-aagh.net/a6b2d778-83ec-432a-9a9a-909c3c06f472:1:23009
....[and lot more lines more or less equal]
If this abort() is unexpected, build with -s ASSERTIONS=1 which can give more information.
"""
I was playing the WebGL version on Safari.

Interesting entry. I started playing videogames at the boom of 3D platformers, so I can't help but find this genre incredibly special.
Some suggestions I would give is to allow changes midway through, it's not good having to wait for the previous one to finish.
Also, it's important to keep in mind that platformers are all about fluidity of physics and responsiveness of controls, which is no easy task for us developers. So, keep improving! Would be really interesting to see more of this one.

And hey, just in case you are interested, our entry is in my teammate's account: you can play WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Interesting idea that seemed to work well. Nice job

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:27am

^mrStrings here just said it all :)

StaNov says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Love it. My favorite so far :) I liked the bubbles when in water, such lovely detail :)

May 2, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Neat game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/CILyMGd9ZnE

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]