Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapes Outdoor

by leffe108 - Compo Entry

1. Get the Android APK for your android phone or open the web-link in the browser of your phone or tablet

2. The game is about catching shapes outdoor. All shapes are within 600m from your start position. There are more shapes than you need as some may be unreachable in your environment. Of course obey normal IRL rules and don't go where you're not allowed to.

3. When you catch a shape, the other shapes will shift shape.


When you rate audio, only rate the music. Voice messages are from text-to-speech API and rendered by your browser. So how it sounds depends on what voices you have available. Since we are allowed to use fonts and textures as well as content generators, I believe text-to-speech is allowed too as long as I opt out to be rated on it.


Update (2016-04-24): Based on feedback from friends who tried my game, I've added an optional easy difficulty. When you create a new game you now can choose between original difficulty as this game was submitted or easy difficulty. The aim is to allow people to try the actual game mechanics without walking too far.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Innovation4.16
#534Humor2.00
#749Mood2.32
#828Overall2.72
#840Fun2.48
#875Theme2.42
#886Graphics1.75
#1201Coolness48%

Comments

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:43pm

That's a cool idea, unfortunately, I doubt anyone will actually do it though. I didn't because I'm too lazy and I live in a desert and I live 40 floors up. Props to anyone who did though!

ketura says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Nope, not getting out of my chair to walk a third of a mile for a jam entry. Nice try. The voiceover on the menu options was kind of weird.

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Five star for innovation! I hope Jupiter plays this...

leffe108 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Main purpose of the voice messages is so that you can put the phone in your pocket while you walking and still get notified when you are in range of a shape. The one on the about menu is mostly a gimmick, but appears to help getting text-to-speech work on iPhone/safari by going to about menu and then back to the game.

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:46am

really interesting concept! getting games outside of our dingy rooms is definitely the way to go.

Kalm004 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:08am

Really interesting idea. It would be a good idea to a future version of this project to let the user put this points and maybe only see the points when you are near, it would be interesting for some kind or exploration game.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Innovative, but I suspect you'll have trouble getting people to try it here. I'd love to see the concept become more fleshed out.

leffe108 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Indeed, I don't expect people to rush to the game. But I already got more reviews of it than I would ever hope to get given it asks you to leave your comfortable chair.

hpearson2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:10pm

text-to-speech was a great idea! but music was a bit rough.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Wow, absolutely the most innovative game I've seen in this Dare!!! GREAT GREAT GREAT JOB!!!!!!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:51am

Great concept here, would love to see a game like this on the app store.

General says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Video: https://youtu.be/cfSQhiXUWqg
It's great that you made an outdoor game!

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:01pm

This is awesome :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]