Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Shifters

by Terrabalt - Compo Entry

Shape Shifters is a simple endless-runner-type game. Change the color of your ship to bypass the lasers!

Normal lasers are passed by being the same color as the laser
Stripped lasers are passed by *not* being the same color as the laser

Controls:
Z, X, and C: Change the ship colour

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#514Audio2.53
#570Fun2.97
#578Overall3.08
#593Graphics2.77
#593Mood2.73
#666Theme3.05
#773Innovation2.58

Comments

CrazY says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:30am

I like it but it feels repetative after some time, but for not even 48 hours its great.

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Not enough time to switch to right color! difficult game for me! :)

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Simple yet fun! Changing color to NOT match striped lasers is more challenging than it seems.

rockybdubs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Fun! The success beep is quite satisfying.

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:03am

This is a lot of fun and really addictive! I really liked the sound effects and the use of striped lazers is ingenious, good job!

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:09am

It's difficult, and the idea is one chosen by many in this LD, but the graphics and audio are quite nice! Well done!

pkenney says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:12am

Cool game, plays smooth. It took me a little while to figure out what buttons to press and what to do, and then there was a bit of time until I had memorized what color was which button until I could do it fast enough.

Then of course I hit level 10 and had some more learning to do!

I think my top score was 16.

If I could make a few small changes I would put the controls on the start screen, have someplace that the red/blue/green order someplace to help new players. Something simple, like where your background has the one red light, have three lights in the right order to remind me.

Also since the game controls with keyboard and has a lot of death/restart, it's a constant small friction that I have to take my hand and put it on the mouse to click restart, I would prefer a keyboard command since my hand is already there.

Looks good and plays smooth though, nice one! It was satisfying to get a run in a row, and the little sound effect was a good touch.

Baknik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:40am

There's the extra layer of remembering which button to press to get the color you want that can make this game frustrating. Nice job though!

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42am

I likeit! It was a lot harder then I thought it would. When the switch to any color but the same lines started my brain couldn't handle it haha. Really like the concept. Maybe by giving players a little more time to react it would be a more enjoyable learning curve.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Nice game, the striped lasers really throw me off usually. :)

Vantaug says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:15pm

The menu is really cool, has a cool crash audio and some screen shake when it opens up. Graphics were simple and good. Gameplay was simple and good, got very intense at times. Audio in game could use some more variety, other than just the same pling noise. Lacks music. But overall it's a very good game, it was fun with nice graphics a touch of polish.

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:57am

The striped lasers were harder for my brain to handle than I'd like to admit.

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:56am

Simple and fun! Can't believe how long I just played this game :D

May 5, 2016 @ 4:35am

Nice stuff! Took a little getting used to, but really well made. Not hugely original, but the striped lasers were a nice touch!

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Nice little game :)

Crefossus says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:53am

I wish there was a little bit time to plan your moves although I like the level design (can plan for level 10 difficulty bump). I had a fun time especially after breaking the level 10 barrier.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]