Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShipShift

by deadbodyoutline - Jam Entry

The year is 2344. Humanity has reached an advanced stage in interstellar travel, conquering new worlds and evolving as a whole.

Several alien races were not very happy with this achievement, so they focused all their efforts on a devastating attack. You were caught in the middle of this conflict, and you are the only human being that has a chance to stop them.

Time to control the most modern spaceship of the universe and kill ‘em all!


> Game description

ShipShift is a bleeding-edge bullet-hell game, built with A.I. in its core, high advanced graphics and amazing innovative controls that will blow your mind! Also, you don't need earphones, as our experimental Real Life Audio System(™), you will have the unique experience of the sound coming from everywhere you are! (we don't accept returns and do not offer refunds).

P.S. … Yes, we don’t have sound effects :/


> How to play

Movement: Move the mouse and the spaceship will follow it

Left Mouse: Fire

Right Mouse: Alternative ability

1-3 keys: Transform ship

1: Triangle ship - This is the fastest ship, it fires a small laser forward with left click and radial medium laser shots as the alternative ability using right click.

2: Rectangle ship - This is the “melee” ship. It doesn’t fire and it’s very slow, but activating its alternate ability will make it charge forward and take less damage from collisions with enemies.

3: Circle ship, the defender ship. This ship can’t fire, but its alternate ability creates a shield that prevent damage dealt by projectiles (but don’t prevent damage from collisions with other ships). Also, when activated, instead of taking damage your ship recovers half of the damage you would suffer from enemy shots (i.e., if a shot could take 10 points of heath from you, the shield recovers 5).

We tried to design the enemies in a way that forces the player to switch ships to survive.
Every 20 seconds a new wave is spawned and the game only ends when you lose.


> Releases (all x64):
- Windows: OK
- Linux: OK(?)
- OS/X: OK

Please, report any error/problem here :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#629Fun(Jam)3.00
#666Theme(Jam)3.18
#717Humor(Jam)2.05
#751Overall(Jam)3.00
#839Graphics(Jam)2.82
#864Innovation(Jam)2.64
#950Mood(Jam)2.43

Comments

Insality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:49am

Sweety geometric graphics and interesting enemy patterns!
Good entry!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Enjoyable, but didn't really see any reason to ever shift shapes, the triangle ship seemed sufficient for everything. Maybe force the player's hand every now and then? But nice :)

kostik1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Nice, good old asteroids game in new form

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Nice shmup, orienting the ship with the mouse can feel a little uneasy at times. The design of the enemies was clever although the triangle ship seemed like an optimal strategy.

runvs says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Nice game! I like the core mechanics and the graphic style is quite unique. You could try some "neon" effect on that.

justacookie says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Cool Game!
Core mechanics work fine. When i died i tried again to reach a new wave. The cricle ship is really innovative but the Rectangle Ship seemed kinda useless and the Triangle ship could be a little slower in my opinion. Anyway it was fun to play.

marod says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Nice game!

yokcos700 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:35am

It'd be nice to have some warning before enemies spawn in or have them always spawn offscreen. I notice that the combat is kind of bland. Go ahead and add some juice! Some explosions, particle effects, screenshake! Even very rudimentary sound effects will really add to this game!

csanyk says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:50am

I really liked the graphics.

The controls, not so much. I had to keep the mouse moving constantly, and it didn't feel natural, or like I had good control. Also switching between forms, I couldn't really tell what advantage it gave me, so it wasn't very useful. Something about the game should communicate instinctively to the player which shape they should be in to have the advantage at a given moment. I can see a lot of potential for a rock-paper-scissors mechanic here, which could be very cool.

A game like this really needs sound effects, but you know that. You should add some!

JonathanG says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:01pm

The controls were smooth enough. But the game lack atmosphere. Would have been interesting if you needed to actually change into that shape in order to a certain shape to destroy enemies of that shape. Circle and square seem a bit useless.

MintArcade says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:02am

Really nice game. Thank you for including Linux version.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]