Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Disciple

by Japes - Jam Entry

After many years of hard training you have mastered both the SOFT and HARD styles of Kung-fu!
Now complete your final training to become a true shapeshifting master!

Survive the barrage of projectiles thrown at you to beat each level.
Timing is important!

keys:
While "i" is held down: you are in "soft" mode
When you're in soft mode, use "w"/"s" to deflect up/down.
While "o" is held down: you are in "hard" mode
When you're in hard mode, use "d" to punch.

You can only deflect in soft mode, and you can only attack in hard mode.

Punching doesn't work against bombs, and deflecting doesn't work against crates.
(Tip: Try to punch/deflect as the objects fly past your outstretched arm.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#766Humor(Jam)1.89
#856Innovation(Jam)2.65
#930Theme(Jam)2.70
#1008Mood(Jam)2.05
#1054Graphics(Jam)2.10
#1115Overall(Jam)2.50
#1124Fun(Jam)2.10
#1666Coolness36%

Comments

EstrelSteel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:08am

Wasn't sure how to play. It worked fine but could have used more explanation.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:55am

This is a good concept, just needs a bit more production to it :)

GrimGary says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:19am

Eh...I don't know what was happening, though I wanted to know. It seems I could maybe try to deflect things that were thrown at me...sometimes. Maybe.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:45am

Really took a while for me to figure it out what was going on here. The you add some details to the instructions?

TiByte says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:16pm

The game is working. The music is very annoying after a few seconds, maybe it could be a little more quiet.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:52pm

More explanation would be good. But when u get it it's fun to play. Good entry. Please have a look on my game, too.

tompudding says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:39pm

That was brilliant. A very simple idea, but really crisp execution that meant it was addictive and fun. Great job! I felt very chuffed with myself after completing level 9 :)

Venneque says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:00pm

http://i1.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/facebook/000/234/765/b7e.jpg <-- me on this game
Honestly, I have no idea how I sometimes survive pressing I, O, S and D simultaneously.
A good thing I don't have to rate the audio xD
Anyway, I've found the game fun and graphics beautiful somehow. It could be really good if it wasn't for the painful game mechanics, I mean the kind of storyline is cool, theme's respected and the global concept is nice.

Charzendat says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:06pm

The idea is interesting and I can see the challenge of having to switch shapes and press the correct command key, kinda like patting your head and rubbing your belly. But I found the timing really frustrating. You have to be super precise on deflecting those balls, it could do with a bigger hit box. Also that music is seriously unpleasant, would of been better without it.

neondx says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:09am

even with the tutorial, i did not really understood how to play

abuzreq says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Good take on the theme.
The mechanic is good .I think I nailed the soft mode .But the controls for the hard mode were weird and I didn't understand when really should I press.
I liked the comments on the background wall.
Could have taken a more cooler setting (assuming you are not an art-less programmer like me) with a teaching master and cool animation for deflection :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]