Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Shifter

by justinooncx - Compo Entry

==============================

NOTE: This game can be played on any touchscreen device with an internet browser!

==============================

Controls

==============================

For PCs:

Z = Slime Armor
X = Construct Armor
C = Mushroom Armor
Space = Default Outfit
Arrow Keys = Movement

==============================

How to Play

==============================

- Survive for as long as possible
- Energy refills slowly when not in any special form
- Switching lanes takes up energy
- Energy depletes while being in a special form
- Matching the enemy to the armor (Slime Armor against a slime) will net you bonus energy
- Using the armor of an enemy's weakness (Slimes are weak against Constructs, Constructs are weak against Mushrooms, Mushrooms are weak against Slimes) will regenerate some health.
- Skeletons have no weaknesses nor strengths. Avoid at all costs.

=============================

Update 1.1

Changelog:
- After transforming, simply tap the same button to transform back into human form.
- The 'Change Back To Human' button (Space) has been changed into a bone-throwing attack. It costs 2 energy, and will kill the first enemy it hits. Skeletons have a weakness now!
- 3 second preparation time.
- Beautified ending screen.
- Visual and audio feedback for obtaining health and energy from enemies.
- Dying animation for player.

=============================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#192Graphics3.65
#212Theme3.75
#235Innovation3.50
#363Mood3.06
#527Audio2.47
#563Overall3.10
#655Fun2.85
#1666Coolness36%

Comments

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:01am

The game is fun, I grasped it quickly. One thing bothered me: I have a German keyboard layout, in comparison to a US one Z and Y changed their places, this messed up the controls for me pretty bad. There is even an article here on Ludum Dare (buried deep in thousands of others) about that exact topic.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:07pm

The art style was nice (:

negativice says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Wow, i am amazed how much game you placed in such small window, you are a wizard.

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Gotta love those graphics~

albinobat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:46am

nice and challenging game, my only problem is sometimes the skeletons are impossible to avoid which ended up killing me a lot

orukinawa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:18pm

It feels like playing rock paper scissors while standing on a chair put on top of a moving truck while the driver is constantly shouting at you to pay him.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:34am

this was pretty fun - i liked the twist on the lane runner - very well done

DrillerDev says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Double Jam entry. Congrats!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Get all 80 points
Innovation: 10/10 Fun: 5/10
Theme: 6/10
Graphics: 3/10
Audio: 8/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 4/10
Overall: 36/80
Good Game

May 2, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Great, it works on my Android! Performance is rather sluggish though. Nice entry, I like the graphics and the innovative strategy element.

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Good pixel art. Nice music.
try our game plz :) we do pixel art also XD
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]