Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ANTI-VIRUS

by Kitty553 - Jam Entry

Protect Your Computer From Viruses...
That's pretty much it.

IMPORTANT:
TO START THE GAME, NARROW IN THE GAME WINDOW ON THE START BUTTON.

ANOTHER NOTICE:
THIS GAME WAS PROGRAMMED TO PLAY ON A SCREEN WITH A RESOLUTION OF 1920x1080.
IF THE GAME SEEMS TO NOT BE FUNCTIONING CORRECTLY, CHANGE YOUR RESOLUTION TO 1920x1090.
If your screen's resolution is less than this resolution, then the game probably won't work correctly, regardless of what you do.

INSTRUCTIONS:
- Use WASD to change the position of the Game Window
- Use the bottom left button to change the size of the Game Window
- Zoom in on enemies and power-ups to collect them.
- That's pretty much it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#11Innovation(Jam)4.36
#189Overall(Jam)3.65
#252Theme(Jam)3.71
#286Fun(Jam)3.41
#598Graphics(Jam)3.22

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:49am

Couldnt get past the main menu. i like how you went with a weird concpet, but i just couldnt get into the game, it wouldnt let me start. :(

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:51am

Sweet game! Love it! I was about to give you hell for that ending though >:)

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:52am

This was really cool! I don't think I've ever played a game that actually involves moving the game window around as a game mechanic. Incredibly innovative.

Kitty553 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55am

Yo jcmonkey. To start the game, you have to narrow in the game window around the Start Button. Sorry if that was confusing. I added it in the description

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56am

Ha-ha ). Hard to start)

toastedgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:55am

Fantastic game

Brice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:01am

Man, this is a pretty interesting idea. That said, I had a rough time. It was hard to figure out that zooming in + centering on enemies was what killed the enemies. It also took me forever to get out of the store menu, maybe that's why some people say they can't get past the main menu.

Very clever, it's so close!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:16am

It looks interesting, but even after the start screen there's just a thing that says "Click me" and when you click it, it takes you to a store. And you can't buy anything, and there's no way to exit. What are you supposed to do? -- WASD, clicking, etc. don't work there. :-/

When I start the game, there's a thing that says Click me, and it opens up a shop screen from there -- I'm not sure what to do next or how to get out of it.

Kitty553 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:18am

@BrainSlugs83 Did you click the text in the shop that says 'Back'?

Zgragselus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:18am

Great idea and I totally love when you lose this game.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:22am

Whoa, neat idea. Super hard, but pretty cool.

MandolinQuinn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:23am

Would have really liked to play this... I changed my resolution and everything to try and play the game, but it didn't work...

Itay2805 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:50am

Couldnt get past the main menu

Griz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:52am

Love the concept.

*SPOILERS*

That blue screen sure was scary! :)

*SPOILERS*

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:18am

I'm scared to run it, it's asking for admin privileges. O_o

Kitty553 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:31am

@Dmitrix A good rule of thumb is that if other people were able to run it, it probably isn't a virus.

allstar602 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:40am

Awesome! I didn't expect moving the window to be a mechanic, very innovative. The blue screen of death was a nice touch.

Trickman says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:09am

Very innovative and original! I'm impressed!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:49am

Most interesting idea in this jam!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:51am

an awesome game and i really loved the idea, use of theme and the concept here !!! =)

play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:01am

Oh man that was insane! :D 1st off SO original. Never seen a game like this ever. Also so fun! I'm going to try and beat it, I got pretty close but wow good job

Skipi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:11am

I loved the game over screen!

This was a very clever interpretation of the theme.

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:12am

Couldn't really get it to work so I can't rate it :(

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:12am

Wow, no idea how you did this but I loved it. Great job.

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:26am

@kitty553 Wow, I just got home and played it and I'm really sorry now. At first I didn't realize why your screenshots included the entire desktop. Also didn't realize it was a Game Maker installer that need run as admin. Love the concept!

Kitty553 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:27am

@Dmitrix. No worries m8. Glad you liked it.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:20am

An interesting concept with good artwork!

LavaGhost says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Alt + Print Screen takes a screenshot of the window you are focused on :) Hope I could help.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Great concept! Cool graphics and really innovative! A little hard to pass the menu and understand how to play, so maybe some more instructions? Also a bit too hard for me, couldn't beat it xp

Anyways, great entry!

MementoGames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:44am

The concept is interesting, but the controls felt weird.

qikcik says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:15am

Good Game :D

thegunmaster says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:04am

hmm, really cool game, it is a shame that it has to install though. wasn't very clear what to do at first either. Still great concept and execution

Jacob Peltola says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:57pm

OK, but needs better direction.. I wasn't sure what to do immediately without guidance

CMLSC says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Extremely innovative. XD
Although I did have problems with controlling the window because it would go off my screen. Also, the game was a bit hard.

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Very cool idea! A bit hard to play on linux, as the contents of the game window are not visible, when it is resized. It's playable, though. Maybe an option to use the arrow keys to resize the window would be good.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Wow, very innovative use of screen space, I really like the idea. Kudos for being brave enough to upload a file to Dropbox called ANTI_VIRUS.exe. Dat end game screen tho. ;)

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]