Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Torus

by Chris Delta - Compo Entry

You have fallen unexpectedly into a twisted, Shapeshifting labyrinth, and you must now find all three keys and escape through its reality-bending halls, while avoiding their half-beast ruler.

CONTROLS:
- Arrow Keys, WASD, or IJKL to move
- SPACE or any Mouse button to dash (note, dashing takes almost half your max health, and will kill you if you try to spam it)
- Mouse to control looking direction
- M to mute/unmute ambient sounds
- F to toggle fullscreen
- R to force respawn
- ESCAPE to quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#80Mood3.71
#345Graphics3.31
#381Audio2.89
#417Fun3.21
#440Innovation3.14
#454Overall3.23
#701Theme2.97

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:02pm

This game is pretty interesting. i would have liked a closer viewpoint, but i see what you were trying to do with the perspective mode.

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Pretty frustrating. i wasn't sure where to go, or what i was doing, and the place seemed different every time i died.

jelch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:06am

Couldn't move, then it crashed :(

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08am

Haha, reminds me of Teleglitch: Die More Edition! Cool game!

Tsevion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:18am

Clever. The perspective and light made it difficult to remember what was what, so the fact the labyrinth was constantly shifting was not obvious.

I gotta ask, is the name Torus related to the movie Cube?

Skipi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:23am

Neat little game. It's buggy on my computer, though. The mouse controls do not work, and dashing crashes the game.

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:26am

jelch: Did you have a controller plugged in? I noticed a bug similar to that when I was trying to add controller support, so I decided to just not mention the existence of buggy controller support :p

Tsevion: No, I haven't even heard of that movie. "Torus" refers to the weird topology of the labyrinth, and to the monster.

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Great maze. Thank you got lost. :)

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Interesting idea, it's something I have wanted to try before and this is executed well

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:33am

Ran into a bug when dashing :(
map.lua:59: attempt to index a nil value

Traceback

map.lua:59: in function 'get'
main.lua.292: in function 'swapZones'
main.lua.260: in function 'updateMap'
main.lue:48: in function 'update'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'


I'll check back again later :)

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:53am

Weeping Rupee, thanks a bunch for copying that stack trace! Unfortunately it didn't help much, it looks like you ran into some kind of weird corner case. I added a check that should prevent whatever caused that from being a crash bug in the future. As well, I nuked all trace of the buggy controller bullshit that's been giving people trouble. Thanks again, hope you don't get too unlucky this time!

SeaDads says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:59pm

The mood in this game is incredible. fits really well with the crazy labyrinth. Really loved the representation of health with the red tint!

samlo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Holy crap this is cool! Love the teleglitch-style perspective. Very eerie, got lost a lot (not a bad thing ;) )

Lullaby says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:32pm

It was clever to limit the field of view in order to get the player lost. I did not manage to reach the end of the game, as I had sometime the impression to take damage without doing anything :(

guoboism says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:29am

Nice graphics,

TheCain says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:17pm

I didn't beat it, but it had a good mood and even spooked me once. The twisting hallways were very disorienting.

paradxil says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:37am

The mood was amazing... Nice job :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]