Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Crystal Mesh

by eric777 - Jam Entry

As a god of the mortal world, use your powers from the heavens to assemble divine gifts to aid your followers.

This is a short and casual arcade/puzzle game with a light story. It can take a couple of tries to get used to the control scheme.

*** IMPORTANT - don't forget about your mouse wheel. It's in the in-game instructions but it's easy to miss. It's pretty much essential to play this.

We took the words of the theme "shape shift" literally. Our interpretation is about literally "shifting shapes" around in space to assemble a puzzle.

This one was a family effort. We really hope you enjoy!!!

UDPATE: We've revamped the control physics in a post-jam version based on feedback. The Divine Temple puzzle has been removed. There are now 5 puzzles instead of 6, ending with the Helm. Thanks very much to all who played and provided valuable feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Innovation(Jam)4.11
#121Overall(Jam)3.78
#130Mood(Jam)3.75
#134Fun(Jam)3.67
#184Graphics(Jam)4.00
#235Audio(Jam)3.44
#285Theme(Jam)3.67
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

keksx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:32pm

This is a unique game :)

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:04pm

Honestly, I love the game idea and it has a lot of potential. It's a little too hard to control though! I sometimes feel like I'm controlling a race car, not a gem :D!.. Anyway, great game and good job!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:40am

Really nice game! very interesting idea.

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Amazing job with this one; I think you’ve outdone yourselves! The main concept is great, and the gameplay – whilst very hard – is fun and addictive. Getting a shape in just the right spot is super satisfying, and I found myself getting oddly invested in the story.

I don’t know if it’s just me who finds it difficult, even though I was clicking and using the mouse wheel… I got stuck for a bit on level two, but I did get better later on. I was determined to finish it, but I don’t know how anyone’s ever meant to complete the Divine Temple! If it’s not just me, and a lot of people find it too hard, I’d suggest toning down the natural spinning of your shape/the floating shapes… Or, maybe assign the right mouse button as a ‘freeze’, locking your pieces at an angle and preventing them from spinning. I only wanted to mention it because I could easily see this game being developed further.

The sound effects are perfect, and I wouldn’t even know how to begin programming the shape recognition, so I have to congratulate you on that. The art is fantastic, too – I’ve been trying to make gems like that for a game of my own, but they’re not nearly as good as yours. You’ll have to tell me your secret!

Sorry for the essay; I’m just a big fan. Thank you very much for your kind comments on my own entry, too.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Very cool, unique game!

eric777 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:04pm

@Rulrite - my wife did the gems, and your comments made her day! She did them in 3dsmax, lit fancy and rendered to 2d images that the game consumes (1 image per 2d orientation).

I 100% agree about the difficulty. The controls need rethinking and I like your ideas. The Divine Temple puzzle does appear to be virtually impossible - an ill advised last-minute addition to the progression which didn't need it.

I really appreciate your thoughtful feedback!

Aumni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:20am

Really cool game. I got destroyed the first few attempts but as I got used to the controls, it kept getting more and more addicting.
The game is really fun and I think what I liked the most is that amazing feeling after I beat each level after spending many tough minutes concentrating and trying to precisely place blocks in the right location :)

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:38am

This game was actually a lot of fun. I didn't feel like it really fit the theme, but I like the level of challenge it presents.
I'm not sure how the controls would need to be altered, but this would be a fun mobile game if polished :)

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Fun mechanic. A little too hard but actually fun to try and play. Great job.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:11am

Not bad for a Macross/Robotech inspired game. I only would like more purpose to the robot form, as I ended up the game using exclusively the flying form.

Note: you should opt out audio as the game didnt' have any sounds.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Hi! Not sure how else to reach you. We wanted to do a stream, but we wanted to make sure we were able to play your game with you there. Let us know what are good times for you. You can reach me at @jetpackfandango on twitter or onlyslightlygames@gmail.com

Alphish says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Oooooh dear, the game was really sweet in terms of gameplay and audiovisuals, until Divine Temple appeared; it's pretty much an overkill, as it adds the challenge of actively avoiding shapes atop the aligning the shape just right and controlling its mad, mad spinning. I never got any reasonable shape on that one, and I did try. >.<

If not for that level, the lasting impression would be quite favourable, but it kinda spoiled it. Be careful with the last minute additions the next time... ^^'

I've got to admit, though, that shape-matching mechanic was quite smooth and smart. It's not really something so simple I'd come up with immediately, and it actually tells something. Really good job on the programming side, aside from the art.

The story is there, though I didn't find it to be the highlight; maybe it has something to do how the god kinda encourages wiping out people and stuff, which makes me hard to sympathise with that god. I dunno, maybe I expect from the higher being more maturity than just smiting enemies and basking in glory...?

Overall, quite a cool entry, heavily spoiled by the last level.

Mordokay says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:22pm

This is the best LD35 game I played so far. if this game was on Steam I would probably buy it. After the Divine Shield (that i got over on my 30th try) I started getting pretty good. And then the Temple happened. Build a temple they said ... it will be fun they said.
I would love to know if anyone managed to make the temple. My hat goes of to you very skilled people.
This is the best contender I have seen to win LD35. Very good Job!

May 3, 2016 @ 3:38am

Solid sound design throughout. Everything feels like a real physical object, and the sound and colors and feel all contribute to that. Really innovative gameplay, which I definitely haven't seen the rest of jam (which is always a hard thing to say).

Definitely love playing your games every jam, and I look forward to seeing what you make in the future.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:53am

There was so much I loved about this game. The mechanic was solid. Great concept. I loved how the configuration of the crystals actually matched with the narrative. The subtle momentum of the crystal movement made everything feel really smooth and pleasant. I had fun just swinging the crystals around. The puzzles were challenging but not frustrating. As always your games are amazing! Thank you so much for making this. Please turn this into a commercial game! This is a super solid concept and it already feels so right. I'd love to throw money at something like this!

May 8, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Very nice game! I really enjoyed it. I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/sLxVMaXEMmg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]